Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
137
4.6 out of 5 stars
Size: Set of 24|Change
Price:£23.51+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 April 2011
These are a great addition to your art supplies. Soft pastels are wonderful for soft, smudgy drawings and large areas of colour but sometimes you want or need to give a bit more definition - a tiny line or dot of colour which is where these come in. OK, not a vast colour selection but enough. I can echo and agree with the previous reviewers comments regarding colour and breaking. If you don't like the dusty mess soft pastels make and/or you want more control over where you place your colour these are for you.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2011
This is my second tin of these pastel pencils. They are excellent quality and spread very well on a variety of surfaces. They do not crumble or break easily which is great when doing fine work. High quality pigment and colour transfer.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2012
These pencils are extremely good for fine work and awkward corners. They don't leave too much dust behind either. I would have liked just a couple more colours in the tin.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
I am a total beginner with pastels and as I am not so keen on getting 'dirty fingers', these truly are a great invention, combining the versatility of a pastel with the control of a pencil, and the finer point helps boost the confidence to more experimenting.
Derwent Pastel Pencils don't crumble too much (in my experience so far) and it is easy to mix and blend. if required.

The pastel pencils arrive in a quality tin, ready to use, each one measuring around 17.5 cm in length.

Embossed in a silver-colour on each barrel is ENGLAND/DERWENT/PASTEL, the COLOUR NAME & 'P with the 3 digit CODE NUMBER'.

You don't lose half the pastel when using the recommended Derwent Pastel Pencil Sharpener which is a fairly inexpensive addition (at the time of writing) and has lasted well (so far) and I am not the least bit confident with a craft knife!

The tin I have access to contains the following colours:

* P030 Process Yellow
* P070 Naples Yellow
* P100 Spectrum Orange
* P130 Cadmium Red
* P160 Crimson
* P200 Magenta
* P260 Violet
* P280 Dioxazine Purple
* P290 Ultramarine
* P340 Cyan
* P350 Prussian Blue
* P410 Forest Green
* P430 Pea Green
* P450 Green Oxide
* P510 Olive Green
* P530 Sepia
* P560 Raw Umber
* P580 Yellow Ochre
* P590 Chocolate
* P640 Terracotta
* P650 French Grey Dark
* P680 Aluminium Grey
* P710 Carbon Black
* P720 Titanium White

Some colours are available separately, with a few on the Amazon 'Add-On' Programme, e.g. COBALT BLUE or COBALT TURQUOISE (at the time of writing), which is very useful if you want to try before investing in a whole set, and more economical if adding to a collection.

ooOoo

Amalgamated on the same Amazon product code, the other sets available have the following colours (at the time of writing):

12:

* P030 Process Yellow
* P100 Spectrum Orange
* P130 Cadmium Red
* P260 Violet
* P340 Cyan
* P350 Prussian Blue
* P410 Forest Green
* P430 Pea Green
* P530 Sepia
* P580 Yellow Ochre
* P710 Carbon Black
* P720 Titanium White

36:

* P030 Process Yellow
* P070 Naples Yellow
* P100 Spectrum Orange
* P130 Cadmium Red
* P160 Crimson
* P200 Magenta
* P260 Violet
* P280 Dioxazine Purple
* P290 Ultramarine
* P340 Cyan
* P350 Prussian Blue
* P410 Forest Green
* P430 Pea Green
* P450 Green Oxide
* P510 Olive Green
* P530 Sepia
* P560 Raw Umber
* P580 Yellow Ochre
* P590 Chocolate
* P640 Terracotta
* P650 French Grey Dark
* P680 Aluminium Grey
* P710 Carbon Black
* P720 Titanium White

72:

* P010 Vanilla
* P020 Zinc Yellow
* P030 Process Yellow
* P040 Deep Cadmium
* P050 Saffron
* P060 Dandelion
* P070 Naples Yellow
* P080 Marigold
* P090 Burnt Orange
* P100 Spectrum Orange
* P110 Tangerine
* P120 Tomato
* P130 Cadmium Red
* P140 Raspberry
* P150 Flesh
* P160 Crimson
* P170 Maroon
* P180 Pale Pink
* P190 Coral
* P200 Magenta
* P210 Dark Fuchsia
* P220 Burgundy
* P230 Soft Violet
* P240 Violet Oxide
* P250 Lavender
* P260 Violet
* P270 Red Violet
* P280 Dioxazine Purple
* P290 Ultramarine
* P300 Pale Ultramarine
* P310 Powder Blue
* P320 Cornflower Blue
* P330 Cerulean Blue
* P340 Cyan
* P350 Prussian Blue
* P360 Indigo
* P370 Pale Spectrum Blue
* P380 Kingfisher Blue
* P390 Cobalt Blue
* P400 Cobalt Turquoise
* P410 Forest Green
* P420 Shamrock
* P430 Pea Green
* P440 Mid Green
* P450 Green Oxide
* P460 Emerald Green
* P470 Fresh Green
* P480 May Green
* P490 Pale Olive
* P500 Ionian Green
* P510 Olive Green
* P520 Dark Olive
* P530 Sepia
* P540 Burnt Umber
* P550 Brown Earth
* P560 Raw Umber
* P570 Tan
* P580 Yellow Ochre
* P590 Chocolate
* P600 Burnt Ochre
* P610 Burnt Carmine
* P620 Dark Sanguine
* P630 Venetian Red
* P640 Terracotta
* P650 French Grey Dark
* P660 Seal
* P670 French Grey Light
* P680 Aluminium Grey
* P690 Blue Grey
* P700 Graphite Grey
* P710 Carbon Black
* P720 Titanium White

'Occasionally it may be necessary to substitute with a product equal or superior to that specified...'
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2015
Lovely pencils! Fantastic quality! I read other Amazon reviews and took peoples advice on buying the larger range of colours. I am so glad I did. Thank you, to the people who take the time to write proper reviews.

They came sharpened. One less job to do. Although I thought the idea of a tin would be easy to use, tins are probably best for sending them in the post. The tin pops open when carrying them. The plastic tray is too flimsy for lifting out a layer. I didn’t like the feeling, that they may get knocked off the table or that the tray would collapse. I bought a Derwent Carry All Bag. The bag holds two pencils in each elasticated band. Problem sorted!

I've not used pastel pencils before. This is new ground for me. I have not used the pencils much more than starting a colour sheet. I am waiting on delivery of a set of grey colour shapers too. The pencils are as expected a bit crumbly when in use. Some colours are a bit scratchy on the paper but only very slightly. Light pressure is the key. Building up many layers, as I would with my beloved watercolours. The colours are superb. I can tell this will compete with my watercolour time. Heck I may get outrageous and combine the two!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2012
I bought these awhile ago from my local Art shop. I wish I had looked at Amazon first as there is a HUGH difference in price.
Good selection of colours and blend really easily. I sharpen my pastels with sandpaper and it produces a lovely sharp point for detail work, also use a blender (Tortillion) for areas that you cannot do using your hands. Blenders are great too.
I love using pastel pencils over pastel blocks. Much more easier to manage. Recommended.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2009
I like these Derwent Pastel pencils a lot. I have Stabilo Carbothello pastel pencils also but the lead in those seems to breaks too easily.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2011
These are excellent pastel pencils. The colours are good and they are so easy to use. Much better than a stubby stick.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2013
I have been using soft pastels for 7 years or so, I love working them and have always been very sceptical about pastel pencils. Bought these in an Amazon Lightning Deal and am absolutely delighted with them. Great for detail, of fur, and can be used in conjunction with regular soft pastels or by themselves.

They rub out really easily on pastel paper, which isn't always the case with soft pastels, and they make very little dust so they are great for taking outside.

Would thoroughly recommend trying them.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2011
Yes my Grandaughter has said how great they are. I saw her drawings, using lead pencils and she was not too happy using paints, though she wanted to add some colour to her sketches. I ordered her these and had Amazon send them to her. Her very talented drawing of singer Riahanna (not sure of spelling) now has the colour that was wanted. So I am very happy with these and so is my 14year old Grandaughter.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)