Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars84
4.1 out of 5 stars
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 September 2011
This is the sharpener I have been searching for. Previously the only way I could get a fine point on a pastel pencil was to use a scalpel or craft knife. The sharpener not only does the job without wasting precious pastel, it makes it easy and quick to achieve.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2014
MATERIAL : Plastic-type material
COLOUR : WHITE with BLACK embossment: 'DERWENT Pastel'
'Made in Germany' on the blade

This neat little sharpener, measuring roughly 2.5 cm x 1.75 x 1 cm, came simply in a bubble-wrapped envelope.

It is effective in getting the best point possible on a DERWENT Pastel, and you don't lose half the pencil in the process which is impressive, especially if you rotate the sharpener around the pencil rather than the conventional method ~ a tip I picked up from a craftier person!
It is still going strong after around a month of use, but I only use it with their pastel pencil range, of which there are 72 colours to choose from, most available individually, from a variety of suppliers.
The blade hasn't loosened or noticeably blunted, as yet, but at the price they are offered at I will have no hesitation in buying a replacement when the time comes, as I accept that a blade will not last forever and I don't think it is possible to buy replacements (at the time of writing).

It does require a bit of cleaning especially with the darker colours, but that is to be expected, particularly with pastels.
It would also be useful to have a cover for it, to collect the shavings, and the pastel splinters which drop from the underneath but, then, it would be larger and less handy to pop in a pencil case when on the move.

Arguably, more pointed results can be achieved with a craft knife but I am not confident in this respect so cannot compare directly.

ooOoo

Manufacturer details:

* Designed for use with the more fragile media of pastel pencils
* Suitable for sharpening charcoal and other large diameter pencils
* Compact and lightweight
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
If you are not confident with using a knife to sharpen your Derwent pastel pencils this is excellent. It's not so good on other makes of pastel pencils though so you may still have to use that sharp craft knife but on Derwent it's excellent.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
It has stayed sharp for a while and is perfect for my pastel pencils! I won't need to buy another for a while and it's relatively inexpensive. Using a separate sharpener is best since pastels are so fragile.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2014
MATERIAL : Plastic-type material
COLOUR : WHITE with BLACK embossment: 'DERWENT Pastel'
'Made in Germany' on the blade

This neat little sharpener, measuring roughly 2.5 cm x 1.75 x 1 cm, came simply in a bubble-wrapped envelope.

It is effective in getting the best point possible on a DERWENT Pastel, and you don't lose half the pencil in the process which is impressive, especially if you rotate the sharpener around the pencil rather than the conventional method ~ a tip I picked up from a craftier person!
It is still going strong after around a month of use, but I only use it with their pastel pencil range, of which there are 72 colours to choose from, most available individually.
The blade hasn't loosened or noticeably blunted, as yet, but at the price they are offered at I will have no hesitation in buying a replacement when the time comes, as I accept that a blade will not last forever and I don't think it is possible to buy replacements (at the time of writing).

It does require a bit of cleaning especially with the darker colours, but that is to be expected, particularly with pastels. It would also be useful to have a cover for it, to collect the shavings...and the fine pastel splinters...which drop out from the underneath but, then, it would be larger and less handy to pop in a pencil case when on the move.

Arguably, more pointed results can be achieved with a craft knife but I am not confident in this respect so cannot compare directly.

ooOoo

Manufacturer details:

* Designed for use with the more fragile media of pastel pencils
* Suitable for sharpening charcoal and other large diameter pencils
* Compact and lightweight
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2013
I ordered this as an add on item for £1 which I would have thought should be the proper price for it! It's very gentle on pastel pencils and doesn't shred the end.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I find these sharpeners work very well on the slimmer kind of pastels such as the Pentel oil pastels, sold by Amazon in a box of 50 (also reviewed) and less well on the chunkier kind. They do prodece a good point and you need to use them over a container as there is no barrel to catch the bits that drop off.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2013
Pastels are soft & therefore difficult to sharpen - this tool is specific for the job & fits neatly into any pencil case.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
I have tried various sharpeners but they have always been disappointing on soft and brittle pencils such as pastel and charcoal. I can use a knife, but it is messy and time-consuming. This sharpener produces a great point and no breaks. Excellent.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
quick despatch well packed, really pleased. After using and being disappointed when using a normal pencil sharpener for my pastel pencils I couldn't believe how good this one was
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)