Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 July 2006
A fantastic series, each episode has a little something different in it. The relationship between Dempsey & Makepeace has developed from the first series, and it makes for an amusing sub plot to the action and adventure. It is a great pity that there were only 3 series made (another ITV cock up). This is the ideal antidote to all the miserable, gloomy, dull cop series on TV now. I stopped watching, they were so depressing. What we want is something to cheer us up, and Michael Brandon and Glynis Barber do just that. I should like to see them together again in a new series (Mr and Mrs Dempsey?) as they are still the same glamourous duo. In addition, the DVD has 2 archive interviews which are a delight to see, and have links to recent TV appearances on chat shows. HIghly recommended. I am looking forward to Network putting out the third series - it would be top of my list for Santa!
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2006
It was the second series that really sees the relationship between Dempsey & Makepeace tested - both Michael Brandon & Glynis Barber pull it off superbly...added light relief is in the form of their boss Spikings played by the late Ray Smith.

The episodes in series 2 are much better written than the first series with more grit, action, explosions, fun and humour too..Stand-Out episodes - Tequila Sunrise and The Bogeyman.....

There were rumours recently that both Brandon & Barber were considering a D & M return....in the current climate of below average TV, their return would be welcome back with open arms by millions of viewers!!! Roll on series 3 on DVD in a few months!!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2006
This excellent DVD box set collection of the cult-classic, British action-drama series, Dempsey And Makepeace, contains the full third season. The series spanned three seasons, filmed between 1984-86. Anyone who enjoys a bit of nostalgia and classic 80's TV then this box set is most definitely for you, and for all fans of Dempsey And Makepeace, this is simply essential!

THE COMPLETE SECOND SERIES

DISC ONE:

The second series explodes into action with Silver Dollar where a petrol station is blown up by masked raiders and a major corporate company is blackmailed. Wheel Man is a personal favourite of mine from series two where a meticulously-planned diamond robbery is being planned and the gang seek a new getaway driver. Dempsey goes undercover as the gangs new driver while Makepeace poses as a journalist to trap the leader of the gang. Love You To Death is another of my all-time favourites of the entire series where rock music singer Suzi Quatro guest-stars as a deranged stalker, obsessed with Dempsey and prepared to kill him if need be.

Special features on disc one includes a nostalgic clip of Michael Brandon and Glynis Barber being interviewed by Gloria Hunniford in October 1985 as the second series was currently being shown on ITV while there's another interview from January 1997 on This Morning with Richard and Judy during the time Dempsey and Makepace was being re-run on cable tv.

DISC TWO:

The second disc opens with No Surrender, featuring Dempsey and Makepeace involved in a violent bank siege (a young Jamie Foreman, an excellent British actor, is one of the gang members) while Tequila Sunrise is more focused on the duo's rocky relationship and after a drunken, wild night out, Makepeace takes Dempsey home! Then disc two draws to a close with Blood Money where an Arab antique dealer is viciously murdered.

DISC THREE:

Set A Thief is the third discs opener where a top model is murdered in a hit and run, while The Hit sees a colleague of the duo, shot to his death, and a professional assassin planning on killing a top official. In The Dark is where a right-wing group attempt to over-throw the government with counterfeit money and The Bogey Man features Dempsey coming up against a violent criminal that manages to outsmart him at seemingly every turn.

More than anything the overall electric chemistry between Michael Brandon and Glynis Barber completely shines through and it's their engaging performances that really carry the series. Unlike a lot of other cop shows of the time, a lot of the reason why people watched and loved Dempsey and Makepeace was the often explosive interaction between the two leads. Though some of the plots were pretty wafer-thin and the action laughably far-fetched, again this is always redeemed by the enjoyable performances from Brandon and Barber. This dvd box set is certainly excellent value for money, attractively packaged and boasting good picture and sound quality. A must-have for fans.

Ian Phillips
March 2011
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2015
Dempsey And Makepeace aired in the United States in the 1980's and was a series that captivated me. The casting and episodes were simply wonderful and a pleasant change from the typical US Network shows.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2011
Great fun . . .
Just how I feel in London, accent and all!
Mr Brandon and myself come from a similar background and therefore the show is even more unstandable and meaningful to me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2015
Excellent series and just how I remember it. The car's the clothes the hair all a joy. I'm back in the 80s and loving it. Buy this you will love it too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
Great second series. it brought back lots of memories and is just how I remembered it from my youth/ childhood
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2015
great british drama from the 80,s
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2008
The series is perfect. No complaints. But on this DVD the commercial breaks are irritating.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2015
Dempsey and Makepeace was scrapped after just 3 Seasons and you can see why, i found it dated and boring, it is no where near as good as Starsky and Hutch and The Professionals, i found Dempsey very annoying and unlikable, Makepeace is just eye candy her character is one dimensional, their boss is just a copy of Cowley from The Professionals, there is no chemistry between them like Mulder and Scully from X Files, the show looked cheap and i could not stop laughing when Suzi Quatro fell to her death, you can see the wires holding the stunt actor, like something from Laurel and Hardy, the quality of the DVD is bad very grainy, Dempsey and Makepeace is over-rated and the episodes are so boring, better to buy Starsky and Hutch or The Professionals
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)