Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars38
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 May 2013
A British Intelligence agent has gone rogue, murdered two CIA agents, and John Purkiss, a contract agent, is assigned to track down the rogue, Pope. When a story starts with this premise, you can be confident it will include chases, close calls, action, and violence from minor to fatal. This one will not disappoint expectations. As the chase proceeds, the author introduces a cast of characters who divide roughly into good guys, bad guys, good guys gone bad, and Pope, a good guy gone bad for reasons at first mysterious but later understandable. They do not mitigate his guilt, but make him sympathetic. The story unfolds from multiple points of view, which alternate at a quickening pace as it proceeds, increasing the sense of urgency. The writing is intelligent, tight, and well-edited. Recommended to fans of suspense fiction with plenty of action.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
Delivering Caliban has so many stories running side by side, yet so beautifully knitted together that you feel part of the world in which you are immersed.

Tim Stevens has a knack of criss crossing storylines which leaves you the reader on the edge of your seat whilst trying to work out the connections, which inevitable are not what you think!

This story, like Ratcatcher, is gripping from page 1 and urges you to read on. I can honestly say I enjoyed every page of this book, no filler material here just a deep, well thought out story.

Tim Stevens is my author of the moment and I cannot wait for the next full John Purkiss Novel...but in the meantime I have purchased the short story "Haven" so will review once read.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2013
After buying the first book and thoroughly enjoying, I thought the next book would definitely be worth buying.
I have not yet been disappointed with this story an excellent modern day spy thriller with just the right amount of realism thrown in.
No James Bond's here just a very enjoyable easy to read well paced book. I'm hoping for more from this character.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
Delivering Caliban (John Purkiss 2) Tim Stevens has written a brilliant book. FBI CIA and the British Secret Service are all involved. Not easy to sort out who are the goodies and who are the baddies, murders abound as does conspiracy.
This book cost me a lot of sleep, but only because I was enjoying it so much.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2012
Delivering Caliban is the second novel to feature John Purkiss, the "ratcatcher" who has to clean up where the espionage business has become even dirtier than it should be. It is rather more of a straightforward find-and-chase story than its predecessor, setting Purkiss on the track of one Darius Pope - a young ex-agent behind whose career of bland competence lurks something altogether darker and deadlier. CIA personnel are being shot and thrown out of windows, a schizophrenic musician discovers the truth of the adage that even paranoiacs can be spied on, and Purkiss and his colleagues are led to some unpleasant facts about certain dubious experiments with an interrogation enhancer of the pharmaceutical variety. As always with Stevens' work, the story is tightly plotted and told with an economy that would put most bestsellers to shame, if they had any. Unlike Ratcatcher, none of the main characters is entirely unsympathetic; and although the story has little time for psychologising, the musician in particular is drawn with commendable delicacy. Whatever the supervillain potential of his name and eidetic power, Darius Pope has his reasons; and even Pope's enemy, the cause of all the trouble, is far from irredeemable despite his many crimes. One might wish that these characters' complexities were explored a bit further - although Purkiss, at the end, gives a more or less acceptable excuse for not doing so - but on its own terms Delivering Caliban most definitely delivers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2015
Loved the first Purkiss book & this second does NOT disappoint. Like the first it's a breathtakingly fast-paced journey that takes you the length of the USA as Purkiss chases a rogue British agent. Another book from an author who really knows how to write! Try putting this down - I dare you!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2015
Quite a complicated plot with lots of twists and turns and a few surprises. I've enjoyed reading this second full length novel with John Purkiss as the main character. This is definitely one that you will find difficult to put down if you are a fan of this genre. Enjoy!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Reviews about books are not necessarily universally helpful. Mainly it depends on personal taste.
Personally I like the John Purkiss Thriller series quite a lot.
I think that I have read them all now, and hope that Tim Stevens writes more.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
Great book and great author. Could not put it down. Would definitely recommend it. A really really really good read
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2014
2nd in the Purkiss series and every bit as good as the first. Looking forward to reading the next one.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse