The Dedalus Meyrink Reader (Dedalus European Classics) and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Trade in Yours
For a £0.25 Gift Card
Trade in
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading The Dedalus Meyrink Reader (Dedalus European Classics) on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

The Dedalus Meyrink Reader (Dedalus European Classics) [Paperback]

Mike Mitchell
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
RRP: £9.99
Price: £8.75 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10. Details
You Save: £1.24 (12%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow, 26 Oct.? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £8.31  
Paperback £8.75  
Trade In this Item for up to £0.25
Trade in The Dedalus Meyrink Reader (Dedalus European Classics) for an Amazon Gift Card of up to £0.25, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Between 20-26 October 2014, spend £10 in a single order on item(s) dispatched from and sold by Amazon.co.uk and receive a £2 promotional code to spend in the Amazon Appstore. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)

Frequently Bought Together

The Dedalus Meyrink Reader (Dedalus European Classics) + Vivo: The Life of Gustav Meyrink (Dark Master Series)
Price For Both: £17.98

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Dedalus Ltd; Ist edition (30 Oct 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1903517850
  • ISBN-13: 978-1903517857
  • Product Dimensions: 20 x 13 x 2.4 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,432,825 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

5 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.0 out of 5 stars
4.0 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction to Meyrink. 25 Feb 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Meyrink is a writer who is overlooked by English-speaking readers, who tend to read his fellow Prague resident: Kafka instead.
That is a shame because Meyrink is an extraordinary writer and I suspect readers of horror, psychological suspense and historical fiction will all find something of interest in his works. This reader which includes an extract of his best known novel, the psychological suspense The Golem, extracts from his other novels, short stories and essays
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 3.0 out of 5 stars  3 reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Meyrink for the Millions 9 April 2012
By Arno Parke - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
Leave it to Dedalus to compile such a nice tribute to a totally (and totally undeservedly) neglected author. As the previous reviewer noted, Meyrink, while the center of a small cult in Europe and Latin America, seems almost unknown elsewhere. He's mostly remembered, if at all, for his novel "The Golem," an undisputable classic of weird fiction admired by the likes of Borges and Lovecraft. Sometimes compared to Franz Kafka (that other guy who wrote strange tales set in Old Prague), Meyrink really has a voice all his own - at once more decadent, mystical and absurd. This neat little compilation will appeal to hardcore fan or Meyrink newcomer alike - containing as it does choice excerpts from his previously published works as well as rare material never before available in english. Recommended to all fans of occult fiction as well as fans of the aforementioned authors, Machen, Poe and Hesse. Also, if you like this book, be sure to check out some of the other titles offered by Dedalus - a very unusual publishing imprint and I mean that the best way possible.
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Meyrink Sampler 1 July 2011
By Mark Newbold - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This may well serve as the best introduction to Gustav Meyrink for an English speaking audience. Long esteemed in German & Spanish speaking countries, Meyrink is known for his macabre fiction in the tradition of Poe and Ambrose Bierce as well as for his biting social satire. This volume provides excerpts of his major novels including his best known, 'The Golem' and my personal favorite 'The Green Face.' What makes this compilation even more noteworthy is the inclusion of some of his esoteric writings. Many devotees look to Meyrink as an authority on esoteric knowledge and insight, he was a practitioner of yoga, a student of Taoism, and the Theosophical traditions. Included in this collection is an excerpt of his most esoteric novel, the Taoist inspired 'The White Dominican' a deceptively simple work whose hidden riches only become apparent with careful reading and re-reading. Highly recommended to those new to Meyrink and those long familiar with his work.
1.0 out of 5 stars I was led by the description to thinking that this ... 4 July 2014
By David Minor - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I was led by the description to thinking that this contained several complete novels. That would have been normal for a "reader" edition. Instead it contains only short stories and single chapters from several novels.
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback