The Decline Of The Countr... has been added to your Basket
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Good | Details
Sold by massivebooks
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Cracks on the case. Good items may show signs of prior usage e.g. case cracked, case and/or artwork may also include stickers/stains. For detailed description please contact seller. UK standard delivery is 3-12 working days. Please note that we do not process orders on the weekend or on national holidays. UK standard delivery for all items (excluding Fulfilled by Amazon) is 3-12 working days. We now ship international. (Please be aware that all deliveries are made by third party carriers and dates shown are estimations based on their delivery schedules. By placing a bid or offer you automatically accept the terms of this delivery).
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • The Decline Of The Country & Western Civilization (1993-99)
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available

The Decline Of The Country & Western Civilization (1993-99) CD

1 customer review

Price: £9.96 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
22 new from £5.87 4 used from £0.26
£9.96 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 2 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Amazon's Lambchop Store


Image of album by Lambchop


Image of Lambchop


"At its heart, Nixon is an album fascinated by the world at its most fallible and ordinary." --Pitchfork, Best New Reissue

"one of the truly classic albums of the past several decades" —Popmatters

"This reissue is a revelation." ... Read more in Amazon's Lambchop Store

Visit Amazon's Lambchop Store
for 25 albums, 6 photos, discussions, and more.

Frequently Bought Together

The Decline Of The Country & Western Civilization (1993-99) + What Another Man Spills + DAMAGED
Price For All Three: £24.09

Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Audio CD (1 July 2006)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: CD
  • Label: Republic of Music
  • ASIN: B000ET5YRG
  • Other Editions: MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 47,123 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Soaky In The Pooper
2. Two Kittens Don't Make A Puppy
3. Nine
4. Moody Fucker
5. Loretta Lung
6. Scared Out Of My Shoes
7. Your Life As A Sequel (Fast)
8. Smuckers
9. The Scary Caroler (Fast)
10. I Can Hardly Spell My Name (1995)
11. Alumni Lawn (Slow)
12. Playboy, The Shit
13. Whitey
14. Cigarettiquette
15. Mr. Crabby
16. The Gettysburg Address
17. Beyond Belief

Product Description

Product Description

Lambchop ~ Decline of the Country and Western Civilisation


Lambchop have never been the most conventional of bands. Over the course of their career they’ve consistently confounded expectations with contra-conformist combinations of alt. country, classical music, soul, rock and, of course, the leftfield lyricism and idiosyncratic falsetto of inimitable vocalist Kurt Wagner. This compilation brings together a variety of A-sides, B-sides, comp tracks and unreleased songs that were recorded in the band’s formative years, between 1994 and 1999. The tracks are arranged in chronological order perhaps to illustrate the band’s progression, but since Lamchop’s music follows no patterns they might as well have been put together randomly. There are as many highlights as there are styles; the soft strums and melancholy strings of opening song "Soaky in the Pooper"; the wildly experimental "Two Kittens Don’t Make A Puppy"; the driving rock and doo-wop chorus of "Nine". All of them smack of a band who were – and still are – admirably in constant communication with their creative muse. --Paul Sullivan

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By J. H. Dingle on 29 Dec. 2012
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Some excellent Lambchop rarities on here, e.g. The Gettysburg Address (though for me the version recorded in someone's house in Belgium on YouTube is the definitive one, much faster and simpler in arrangement as they're playing quietly in someone's house!). Cover of Costello's Beyond Belief a nice inclusion. Buy if you love your Lamchop!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?