Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £4.49

Save £2.50 (36%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

Deception: Number 2 in series (Courier's Daughter Trilogy) Kindle Edition

4.7 out of 5 stars 6 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"

Length: 481 pages
  • Similar books to Deception: Number 2 in series (Courier's Daughter Trilogy)

Get a Free Kindle Book
Between now and 26 February 2016 you can earn a free Kindle Book by simply downloading and registering the free Kindle reading app, buying a Kindle Book, or buying a book. Learn more
Get a £1 credit for movies or TV
Enjoy £1.00 credit to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase any Amazon Kindle ebook from the Kindle Store (excluding Kindle Unlimited, Periodicals and free Kindle ebooks) offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 credit per customer applies. UK customers only. Offer ends at on Friday, 26 February, 2016. Terms and conditions apply

Product Description

Book Description

A fantastic and face-paced new coming-of-age fantasy series

From the Back Cover

The world they once loved is forever destroyed. Now Rachel and Logan must decide between a life on the run and standing their ground to fight.

With their ragged group of survivors struggling to forge a future, it's up to Logan and Rachel to become the leaders they need. Under constant threat from rival armies and no place to call their own, the group decides to take their chances in the Wasteland, despite the deadly risk of The Cursed One.

But soon their problems begin: someone - possibly inside their ranks - is sabotaging the survivors, picking them off one by one. They begin to question whether the price of freedom may be too great. And whether their band of survivors, hunted by their enemies and the murderous traitor in their midst, can make it out of the Wasteland alive. . .and whether Rachel and Logan can survive these trials together.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 837 KB
  • Print Length: 481 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1907411348
  • Publisher: Atom (5 Sept. 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars 6 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #241,936 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See all 6 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
Deception is the sequel to the epic YA fantasy novel Defiance. It did not fail to deliver and meet our high expectations as Logan and Rachel continue to fight and protect their people, the remaining citizens of Baalboden. But problems begin to occur as they discover they are being hunted and it just may be one of their people.

Redwine certainly knows what she's doing when it comes down to writing and making sure our attention is held at all times. The action, romance, mystery and humor are all broken down to make sure that we get a taste of everything. There were also numerous times in the book where emotional bombshells are just dropped unexpectedly and I was paralysed with shock.

This book packs a big punch as the characters and plot are simply magnificent. Not only are Logan and Rachel two wonderful characters who I endlessly adored, we also get to meet a few more new characters and get to know more about the previous ones.

All I can really say is that Deception is an absolutely mindblowing and heart-stopping YA fantasy out there. EMOTIONS, SECRETS, VENGEANCE, ROMANCE; all mixed up to create one delicious story. Everyone MUST pick up a copy of Defiance and get reading ASAP because you are seriously missing out.
Comment 4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Deception by CJ Redwine is the second book in the Courier Daughter's trilogy. The first book, Defiance, was a book that I absolutely LOVED when I read it maybe two years ago? And I was always going to be excited to carry on the trilogy. ...It's just taken me a little longer than I expected to do so.

Despite the length of time between reading the first book in the trilogy and the sequel, I didn't find that I'd forgotten that much when I started reading Deception. I felt like CJ Redwine did a great job of creating a memorable world, memorable characters and definitely a memorable scenario that we find ourselves reading about. And right from the first page of Deception, I found it very easy to fall back into this world. And it felt exciting and emotional right from the start.

This book will contain spoilers for the first book in the trilogy, Defiance, but will not contain any spoilers for Deception. If you haven't yet read Defiance but are interested in reading this trilogy at some point, I suggest that you stop reading now.

Deception takes place right after the ending of Defiance. Rachel and Logan are in the battered remains of Baalboden and it's up to Logan to organise everyone and shift all of the survivors of Baalboden out into the Wasteland and kept safely away from the Commander's army that is chasing them down. He has a plan to ally himself with one of the other city-states but must face new challenges, the pressures of leadership as well as a mole within his straggling band of survivors.

At the same time, Rachel is really dealing with the grief over her father and Oliver and also her conflicted feelings over killing a man.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
My only disappointment was that the book had to end. I don't know how I'm going to wait for the next one.

The other day, scenes from the first book kept randomly popping into my head, and when I looked it up to see when the next book was out, to my delight, I saw that it was due out at midnight that very same day. That's got to be fate.

This book is amazing. The plot is brilliant and the twists kept me reading until well past my bedtime. And the cliffhanger is unbearable. Hopefully the third book will be with us soon.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions