Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars76
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£13.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 1 November 2008
The female equivalent of this book is not nearly so good as this well written and researched little gem -having bought it for a gift I spent 4 hours cover to cover before wrapping it! and there is so much in there for girls and guys alike - well done on such a hidden and quiet and hugely informative guide....
44 comments|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
If you want to feel at ease in all social situations, no matter how posh/successful/professionally senior those around you are, this is the book to get. The advice is timeless, but leaves room for you to be yourself, too. I bought it for my God Brother and my other half wanted a copy too.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2012
Bought this as a birthday present for a friend - he loved it! Full of hilarious tips which kept us very entertained and filled up time! Quirky gift perfect for any would-be gentleman (and anyone who wants to know things such as how to pack a suitcase properly!!)
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2012
An excellent reference book to dip into on a lazy Sunday afternoon or just before bed. It is packed with interesting articles for the modern gentleman who still acknowledges the importance of standards and quality. Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2009
I thought it will be, first and foremost a etiquette book. It is not. Somehow very GQish. It covers a lot of area, from bespoke suit to how to sand a wooden floor to five famous hotel room deaths. Because a huge range of topics covered, it is a shallow book. I thought Debrett's should delete gossips like "Six psuedo-shakespearean insults","four celebrity-owned hotels" and give a better detail about the essential operas, unquestioned rules and etiquette, how to write a polite letter, et cetera.
0Comment|41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Very informative and still much to go through. I am really happy with this for occasional use as a reference guide. It doesn't mean I will actually follow it all, but perhaps give me an insight into the correct etiquette. I will then decide if I actually want to use the correct etiquette :-)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
The book generally told the person who might buy this book the sort of stuff they should already know. It covered many topics but none of the really useful chapters been researched to any great depth. Though it is an excellent manual for a social climber.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 6 March 2016
I bought this after watching the Kingsmen, entertaining film. This book covers basically anything you've ever had a question about. Back hair, sex, suit size, how to break off a date, cologne, climbing Mt Everest, and the very odd guide to public transportation etiquette. Since when do gentlemen do take public transportation? I forgive them for being thorough. But at the same time I docked one star because the book is quite thin, you can finish it over tea. It's fun and easy to read, with loads of illustrations and diagrams. The authors are blunt and matter of fact, but with just the right amount of witty humour to remind me that this is a quality British publication.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
This book delivers exactly what it promises; many many advices and done in a nice way!
The book content is not only handy, it is also arranged in a playful and nice way :)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2015
A bit too modern for me. A great guide to becoming a cut above the rest but i would like some slightly more old-fashioned tips. Fashion is temporary, style is timeless.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)