FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books.
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Death's Rival: A Jane Yel... has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Expedited shipping available on this book. The book has been read but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact and the cover is intact. Some minor wear to the spine.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Death's Rival: A Jane Yellowrock Novel (Jane Yellowrock Novels) Mass Market Paperback – 2 Oct 2012

4.8 out of 5 stars 13 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Mass Market Paperback
"Please retry"
£5.52
£2.07 £0.60
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£5.52 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books. Only 3 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

  • Death's Rival: A Jane Yellowrock Novel (Jane Yellowrock Novels)
  • +
  • Blood Trade: A Jane Yellowrock Novel (Jane Yellowrock Novels)
  • +
  • Raven Cursed: A Jane Yellowrock Novel (Jane Yellowrock Novels)
Total price: £16.55
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.




Product details

  • Mass Market Paperback: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Roc (2 Oct. 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0451464850
  • ISBN-13: 978-0451464859
  • Product Dimensions: 10.9 x 2.3 x 17 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (13 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 235,887 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Roc Books USA Edition.


Inside This Book

(Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Mass Market Paperback
This was another absolutely fabulous addition to Jane Yellowrock urban fantasy series. Even better than the previous couple of books. You know why?

There was an edge of desperation to Jane, and like with all the predators it only made her so much more lethal. I loved this book in all its savage wonders!

Great thing about Death's Rival, - it digs into Jane's childhood, forces her to uncover more of her memories and face her oldest trauma and fears.

She also has to face her current greatest fear and master it, feel the betrayal of the people who she thought always had her back.

Positive thing? She acquires two assistants, and it looks like the beginning of a really great team. Negative thing? The sexual tension is still unresolved, and all that pent-up feelings of attraction are getting stale. It's really a thread of the plot that I'd like to kill off because it's going nowhere.

The ending is absolutely awesome and was really keeping me on the edge of my seat, but this is what Faith Hunter does best and what really makes me pick up her books time and again. Jane Yellowrock series is solid, hard-boiled and very much action driven urban fantasy, which I thoroughly recommend.
Comment 3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
I would agree with the other reviewers that this is a more thoughtful, maybe darker book than the previous ones. There's little lightness, no smiles or happiness, it starts grim and keeps on going, with an impressive body count. Add to that Jane feeling, and being, very much alone at the beginning, and you have a dark book. However, once I'd accepted that this was the case, I quickly got hauled in. DO NOT, as I did, look at the ending before you get there (I know, I know, a reeeeally bad habit I need to kick) - it could seriously mislead, and flavour how you read the rest of the book - so DON"T DO IT, 'kay?
There's a terrible, awful betrayal that made for uncomfortable reading and left me feeling quite disturbed and angry. It has ramifications that run through to the end, and into the next book. I now know very clearly who I rate and who I don't.
I liked the addition of the Younger brothers; they provide Jane with two people who are hers alone, and who she can trust, and the interactions between the three of them bring a little light relief to things. Rick reappears, and his scenes with Jane (and with Beast) are lovely, but sad. Jane spends a lot of the action as part of a team run by others which is unusual for her, and the outcomes suggest she's right to not trust to others to organise things, but she reverts to form for the end, and what a humdinger that is.
The next book is under way, and I see from the author's website that she's been contracted for a 9-book series, so Jane is around for a bit yet, yay! I just hope she manages a little fun and warmth and peace along the way.
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
This has got to be the best book of the series they just keep getting better and better. Many more please Jane, beast and co are just unputdownable if there is such a word. My only dissenting comment on the whole series would be why isn't it available on kindle yet?
Comment 2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I've been a fan of the these books but can't help but feel as they continue I'm losing something that was there before and kept me gritted through the overly-religious/belief part of her. Maybe this is an English thing of never wanting to be too involved in someones beliefs but whatever it was I could intergrate it all into Jane's character, but find myself not so keen to read the next book as this series progresses. I probably still will in the hope they return to their former glory.
I just wish she had more of a life outside of Leo at this point I think, or more of a relationship with him...? Anything but just a following of a morbid un-relationship with everyone she can't or wont have.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
Jane Yellowrock still rocks in this episode but somehow her character has evolved.

Just like Anita Blake (Laurel K Hamilton), Jane is losing her innocence as she gets more and more involved with the vampires. Which is sad. She also doesn't seem to be leading much in this one but instead becomes part of a team with 2 humans and I must admit that I missed Beast as I felt she took a back seat.
That said, the story of the mysterious Mithran who seems to be infecting MoCs with a plaguelike disease is gripping and lets the reader wonder whodunnit until the big reveal.
I now would like very much to see what happens next!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback
I love this series. In each book there is more character depth and background and you can see the characters develop and change. Jane is a great character with depth and when she is in emotional pain, you really feel for her. This series is a must for fans of Kate Daniels and Mercy Thompson.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Hooked straight away.... love the thrills, the secrets, the twists and turns. The tension, love and anguish that builds from the characters you learn to love and sometimes hate, is fantastic.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Look for similar items by category


Feedback