A Deadly Penance (A Templar Knight Mystery) and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading A Deadly Penance (A Templar Knight Mystery) on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Deadly Penance, A (Templar Night Mystery) [Paperback]

Maureen Ash
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
RRP: 10.99
Price: 8.39 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over 10. Details
You Save: 2.60 (24%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 7 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow, 3 Sept.? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition 7.13  
Paperback 8.39  

Book Description

8 Dec 2011 Templar Night Mystery (Book 6)
Featuring complex, compelling characters and observant historic detail, Maureen Ash takes readers on an engaging journey through medieval England in the sixth instalment of this popular series. The consistently clever plots and intricate twists of the Templar Knight Mysteries continue to enthral; fans of her previous novels certainly won't be disappointed with the latest challenge faced by Templar Bascot De Mains. Fans of Michael Jecks, Margaret Frazer and Ellis Peters will find A Deadly Penance to be a compelling historical mystery.

Frequently Bought Together

Deadly Penance, A (Templar Night Mystery) + Shroud of Dishonour (Templar Night Mystery) + Murder for Christ's Mass (Templar Knight Mysteries)
Price For All Three: 24.13

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 288 pages
  • Publisher: PRIME CRIME; 1 edition (8 Dec 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0425243362
  • ISBN-13: 978-0425243367
  • Product Dimensions: 20 x 13 x 2 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 378,380 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars Rate book 8 Dec 2013
By J Logan
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
It was a good read a clever plot I hope more of Maureen Ashes books are available. I will look forward to them
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Templar Mystery. 2 May 2013
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I have now read all available works by Maureen Ash.
I do so love murder mysteries from the medieval period.

good work by the seller.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Another hit 20 Dec 2012
By Jeedle
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Maureen Ash really does do her research well. I have learned more history from her novels and enjoyed the process! This is the first one since the templar went back to the order but lost nothing about the relationship between the knight and the urchin he saved. A thoroughly good read.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.5 out of 5 stars  13 reviews
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars super Templar Knight mystery 1 Nov 2011
By Harriet Klausner - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
In a freezing February in 1203, Serjeant of the Castle Garrison Ernulf walks the ramparts when he discovers the corpse of visitor Aubrey Tercel, part of the retinue of Peternille de la Haye, sister of the hereditary castellan Nicolaa de la Haye. The victim was obviously shot by a specially made longbow that Nicolaa's late father gave her. Since the sheriff Gerald Camville is away, Ernulf informs Richard Camville, the son of Gerald and Ernulf. Richard and Ernulf conduct a preliminary investigation before telling Richard's mom, aunt and cousin Alinor de Humez. They send for the coroner Pinchbeck who arrives to collect a fee for the death, but also claims that he is busy so Richard should investigate.

Nicolaa asks the Templar Preceptor d'Arderon if Knight Bascot de Marins can help with a homicide inquiry as he has solved murder mysteries before (see Shroud of Dishonor and Murder for Christ's Mass Thus he comes to Lincoln Castle to team up with Richard and Alinor, and assisted by Gianni who he brought with him from the Italian streets. The obvious culprit is Simon Adgate the furrier who's much younger wife Clarice acts like her lover died. However, the case proves much more complicated with the roots born in 1177.

For the first quarter of the latest Templar Knight mystery, Bascot does not appear as Richard and Ernulf start the investigation. The four detectives make a wonderful team as their discussions are intelligent and relevant. Fans of medieval cozies, set in a vividly described background in which readers will feel the cold, will enjoy A Deadly Penance.

Harriet Klausner
15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting mystery 14 Nov 2011
By Debbie - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
"A Deadly Penance" is a historical mystery set in 1203 in England. This novel is the sixth in the series, but you don't need to read the previous novels to understand or enjoy this one. This book did not spoil any of the previous mysteries in the series.

The story was written using more formal language and many "big" words. The author also assumed that the reader knew the meaning of several terms related to the castle and medieval weaponry. While each shop in town was described in detail (more than was really needed), the castle wasn't. Though I have a good knowledge of castles and the time period, I was never really able to work out how this castle was laid out. The story was rich with historical detail, sometimes to the point of briefly slowing the pacing.

However, I liked the characters (though we don't get to "know" any of them very well), and they reacted realistically to the situations. I also enjoyed the mystery. Bascot was determined in his search, and the solution was discovered by carefully following up every clue.

For most of the story, I didn't even bother to guess whodunit because the clues slowly build up and the answer wasn't obvious. But we're given enough clues that I was able to correctly guess whodunit and why the murder was committed shortly before Bascot put it all together correctly. Others reading the story with me came up with the solution (with a slight, incorrect, variation on it) at about the same time I did. Personally, I think that's the mark of a good mystery.

There were no sex scenes. (The story started with two lovers, but there was no body-part touching described below the face.) There was a very minor amount of "he cussed" style of bad language. Overall, I'd recommend this interesting and clever mystery to those who have a large vocabulary.

I received this book as a review copy from the publisher.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great De Marins Novel 18 Dec 2011
By David Anton - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This was another great De Marins Novel. An Agatha Christie like plot, De Marins investigates another murder unravelling the twists and turns in a decades old coverup. Only at the end does he reveal the truth based on cultural and pyschological complexities at the time. The misunderstanding of which led the victim to his death at the beginning of the book.

I can't wait for Maureen Ash's next novel.
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for medieval history buffs 7 Jun 2014
By S. Ritsema - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I have enjoyed the whole Templar series by Maureen Ash. The lead character is both heroic and endearing, especially when dealing with the brutality of the times. My only regret is that the latest book was only available in e-book format.
5.0 out of 5 stars The second in the sries but another excellent read. 12 July 2013
By margaret - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Maureen Ash is an excellent writer in fact there is no wasting of words. The characters are well drawn and you feel you really get to know them.
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback