Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars118
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 April 2014
The quality varies massively, and I feel sorry for the good books lumbered with the dross. If you want a good thriller try Rainbow Rising (The Heavy Metal series) - set during WW2 is is Great Escapism.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
`Guaranteed Justice' by M A Comley, which is Book 4 in this `Deadly Dozen' collection is just one novel (the 5th instalment) from the brilliant Justice Series by the same author. I have read all of this series (currently 8 novels) and it's fantastic to say the least.

In `Guaranteed Justice', we meet Lorne Warner (neé Simpkins) and her husband Tony. Lorne is an ex D.I. and her husband an ex MI6 agent. In this novel they have established and are running an animal shelter situated next to their farmhouse in the countryside. Living with them and giving a helping hand is Lorne's father Sam. Among their top priorities is the rehoming of dogs.

In the meantime Lorne has also completed a diploma by which she becomes a Private Investigator.

Lorne's first case as a P.I. takes form in the shape of a brutally raped girl named Linda who lives with her sister Fiona and Chinese friend Ami. Linda knows who the rapist is...a very wealthy, handsome and arrogant young man who is frequently featured in the local business papers. As more girls come forward, Lorne realises that Linda was not the first or only victim of this serial rapist and she begins to keep track of his movements.

Will this rapist be brought to Justice by the end of the novel? To know, read Guaranteed Justice, you might be in for an unexpected surprise.

I'm sure that like me, whoever reads `Guaranteed Justice', included in this box set, will immediately go and search for the other novels written by M A Comley. You can't do otherwise, her novels simply stand out and I highly recommend them to anyone.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2014
Great value for money. Very readable little novellas. For Reacher fans the Diane Capri novel takes us back to the "Killing Floor" 15 years on, and the search for Reacher... Am glad I bought this bundle, great for the holidays.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2015
The books have been reviewed on their individual page this is the collective review.

What did not help was that some of these novels were part of an individual series which was not the first adventure of the central character.

A collection like this for the price you will pay you cannot go wrong.

I have ranked them as follows:-

Moonlight Sonata
Final Vector
A Day In Budapest
Breaking Steele
Guaranteed Justice
Night Widow
Stranger In Town
Dead Celeb
The Gifts
C Wolf
Don't Know Jack
Terminus

There is not any real majority for any of these books that I gave a score of three stars.

Here are my individual reviews:-

Title: Don't Know Jack - (Part One Of The Deadly Dozen 12 Mystery/Thrillers)

Author: Diane Capri

Heading: Search For Reacher Goes Nowhere Like This Book

Rating: 2 Stars

This introduces FBI agents Kim Otto and Carlos Gaspar. The pair are strangers with different backgrounds when they are paired to work together.

Their task is to find Major Jack Reacher ex Military Police who left the United States Army under a cloud in 1997. There is no record of Reacher on any database since then.

They are in Mangrove, Georgia. Reacher's last known location when another incident occurs that points back to when Reacher was there some fifteen years before.

Fans of Reacher will remember that he made his debut in "Killing Floor" which is set in Mangrove, Georgia. Since then his creator Lee Child has written several bestsellers to feature him. The latest is "Personal" which was published in 2014. Reacher has also had a film based on the novel "One Shot" in the cinema's.

So to perhaps to get the best out of this it would be a help to be familiar with Reacher.

This did little for me and I will probably not proceed with the rest of Otto and Gaspar's search for Jack Reacher.

------------------------------------

Title: C Wolf - (Part Two Of The Deadly Dozen 12 Mystery/Thrillers)

Author: J. Carson Black

Heading: Reasonable Middle Not So Good About The Rest

Rating: 2 Stars

In Madera Canyon, near Tucson, Arizona. Detective Laura Cardinal is investigating the homicide in a rental vehicle. The victim is Sean Perrin from Las Vegas.

Witness statements paint Perrin as being a man that lived in a fantasy world of working for the good guys as the bad guys. Along with this he is believed to be a family man with two children with a wife that has the looks of glamorous model. The investigation takes Laura plus her partner Anthony into the life of Sean Perrin.

I was unaware that there had been other books before this one to feature Laura Cardinal before I read this. It may have helped? But then again it is easy to follow.

For me this had potential to go places from mid-story onwards. However, it evened out and I will leave this series alone.
----------------------------------------

Title: Night Widow - (Part Three Of The Deadly Dozen 12 Mystery/Thrillers)

Author: Carol Davis-Luce

Heading: Screen Legend's Secret Is Finally Top Of The Bill

Rating: 3 Stars

Piper has just separated from her second husband. She is temporarily living next to the house of a Hollywood starlet from yester year who is now in her mature years. The former leading lady was a friend of Piper's grandmother.

Follow Piper as she unwrap's the mystery of the family secrets of the one time golden girl of film noir that have been hidden for years that the tabloids would have liked to expose.

It took me a while to get into this but it was reasonable. This would appeal more to female readers.

-----------------------------------------

Title: Guaranteed Justice - (Part Four Of The Deadly Dozen 12 Mystery/Thrillers)

Author: M.A. Comley

Heading: Revenge Is Bitter

Rating: 3 Stars

A woman is raped by a rich bastard. Along with coming from a privileged background the scumbag is a whizz kid in a financial company.

A violent start to this story based around London and the Gravesend area in Kent leads to a coincidental meeting with a former police officer who is the process of setting up a Private Investigator business.

From my angle it would have been a help if I had read the earlier books in the "Justice" series. Taking that aside this book can be read with no prior knowledge as previous situations that happened are explained.

There certainly is scope for a continuation to this story?

-----------------------------------------

Title: Stranger In Town - (Part Five Of The Deadly Dozen 12 Mystery/Thrillers)

Author: Cheryl Bradshaw

Heading: Stranger In The Town Sort It Out Before It's To Late

Rating: 3 Stars

A six year old girl is abducted whilst shopping with her mother never to be seen again.

Two years later a Private Investigator is hired by a man whose own daughter went missing six months before. Why this Private Investigator? Why now? Is it just that the Wyoming police are not interested or do not care?

This moves along with a good pace. There is also the fair share of twists.

From my angle it would have been a help if I had read the earlier books in the "Sloane Monroe" series. The reason being is that this is part of the "Deadly Dozen 12 Mystery/Thrillers" that I am currently reading.

By the time you reach the end of this you hope that what you want to happen will in the follow up to this.

-----------------------------------------

Title: Breaking Steele Town - (Part Six Of The Deadly Dozen 12 Mystery/Thrillers)

Author: Aron Patterson

Heading: Steele Stays Strong

Rating: 3 Stars

This introduces Sarah Steele. A rising star attorney from Boise, Idaho. Sarah has reached this position without the benefit of a privileged background.

This moves along with a good pace. Follow Sarah as she deals with kidnappers, the legal system and skills she does not use in the day job.

Maybe the further adventures would explain a little more on her past? Plus more on the people that will be associated with her?

-----------------------------------------

Title: Moonlight Sonata - (Part Seven Of The Deadly Dozen 12 Mystery/Thrillers)

Author: Vincent Zandri

Heading: Moonlight Magic

Rating 4 Stars

Private Investigator Dick Moonlight is hired by a literary agent to find one of her authors that has gone missing. Why a Private Detective ? The writer in question has a history of being a heavy drinker and regular user of recreational drugs. Something the literary agent would prefer there was no media coverage on. As that would not help sales that would be a benefit to all concerned.

This moves along with a good pace. There is also the fair share of twists. Along with some good wit from Richard "Dick' Moonlight that keeps it entertaining.

From my angle it would have been a help if I had read the earlier books in the "Dick Moonlight" series. The reason being is that this is part of the "Deadly Dozen 12 Mystery/Thrillers" that I am currently reading.

Taking that aside. I liked it. I guess the other books in this series are similar?

-----------------------------------------

Title: Terminus - (Part Eight Of The Deadly Dozen 12 Mystery/Thrillers)

Author: Joshua Graham

Heading: This Did Nothing For Me It Might For You?

Rating 1 Star

First of all not the sort book I would have chosen The reason being is that this is part of the "Deadly Dozen 12 Mystery/Thrillers" that I am currently reading.

A grim reaper/angel by the name of Nick (Nicolai) begins to have doubts about his purpose and meaning and takes the option for a change to the usual way of working.

In general to far fetched for me.

-----------------------------------------

Title: A Day In Budapest - (Part Nine Of The Deadly Dozen 12 Mystery/Thrillers)

Author: J.F Penn

Heading: Action Packed Adventure

Rating: 3 Stars

A catholic priest is murdered in a basilica in Budapest. The killers then take the "Holy Right" a relic from a shrine and the birth of Hungary. Messages are left that this is the work of the Jews. A strong anti Semitic mood then grips the city.

At the same time as this happens Doctor Morgan Sierra a representative of ARKANE (the Arcane Religious Knowledge And Numinous Experience Institute) has just arrived from London to return some artefacts to a synagogue that were taken by the Nazi's during World War Two.

Morgan teams up with Zoltan a local Jew and what follows is a fast paced story that is good, informative and well written.

From my angle it would have been a help if I had read the earlier books in the "ARKANE" series. The reason being is that this is part of the "Deadly Dozen 12 Mystery/Thrillers" that I am currently reading. Taking that aside this book can be read with no prior knowledge.

-----------------------------------------

Title: Dead Celeb - (Part Ten Of The Deadly Dozen 12 Mystery/Thrillers)

Author: Michele Scott

Heading: The Truth Will Always Tell Its Secrets

Rating: 2 Stars

Not the sort of book I would have chosen The reason being is that this is part of the "Deadly Dozen 12 Mystery/Thrillers" that I am currently reading.

Twenty-Eight year old Evie Preston decides to leave her small Texas town and heads to Los Angeles where she gets a job singing in a bar and working on a cosmetics counter. A chance meeting leads to her becoming a personal makeup artist to a diva.

Evie has the gift of being a clairvoyant that she can read and have visual experience of incidents of someone's past when they touch hands or any other physical contact.

Soon she is experiencing a life that only exists in a fantasy that plays a part in the reality of her current life.

Most of the chapters end on a twist. There is a follow up to this. Unsure I will be following up with it?

-----------------------------------------

Title: Final Vector - (Part Eleven Of The Deadly Dozen 12 Mystery/Thrillers)

Author: Allan Levenson

Heading: Moves Along Very Well And Keeps Going To The End

Rating: 3 Stars

Good fast paced thriller set in current times.

Nick Jenson has just safely navigated a troubled aircraft to landing at Logan Airport in Boston, Massachusetts from his position as the the final vector in air traffic control. While this is going on his wife Lisa is driving to their home in Merrimack, New Hampshire.

Lisa's job is in the Pentagon at Washington D.C where she has come across classified information. This has forced someone to make sure Lisa does not get home tonight.

Day's later after the funeral. Nick is clearing out a wardrobe and comes across some papers written in code that must have had something to do with Lisa's work?

On his own return to work Nick is confronted with a situation that is linked to the papers Lisa had.

-----------------------------------------

Title: The Gifts - (Part Twelve Of The Deadly Dozen 12 Mystery/Thrillers)

Author: Linda S. Prather

Heading: Is It Fact? Is It Fiction? Or Is It A Dream?

Rating: 2 Stars

A man has nightmares about the actions of a serial killer are these just plots he has used as being a writer of crime novels or is this reality? As the killer leaves another calling card.

The writer is Gavin McAllister who like the hero in his books he follows his instincts and help his brother a serving agent in the FBI with investigations.

Not the sort of book I would have chosen The reason being is that this is the last part of the "Deadly Dozen 12 Mystery/Thrillers" that I have just completed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 14 February 2014
I have only read the one book so far, so i will update for each one i read.

this part of my review is for

M A Comley GUARANTEED JUSTICE (The Justice Series)

OH boy I don't know how Mel does it.....
I've read a few series of books and the more books they do the worse they get..NOT in this case, the books just get better and better.
i really enjoyed it, i enjoyed hearing more of the personal lives of Lorne and her hubby.
The story line was gripping, i just wanted to read and read and read so i did...lol....
UNPUTDOWNABLE

i cant wait for the next one...

Don't think about it just one click this box set NOW...
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
Difficult for UK folk to interpret the Americanisms and appreciate the American culture.I found it indeciferable at points .Not for me I'm afraid
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
After completing the book I am changing my review. Fot 99p this is a good buy. At first I thought the stories were all a bit samey .. but once I got to "Nemisis" (Story 5 I think) it all changed. I particularly liked this one and a few others that followed . The last one is rubbish though. Stories 1-4 are female detective stories with no real difference in them ( stereotyped I think is the word)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2014
I have read the first three and thats me finished. I realy believed they must get better. sorry folks awful.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2014
Of these 12 stories only two were not to my taste. Moonlight Sonata's lead character was a womanizing sleaze with no redeeming features about him so I really didn't like this one. Dead Celeb was a paranormal which leaves you with a very cheated ending because it isn't a complete story and you would have to buy the next in the saga to find out what happens to Lucas. I hate authors who leave you hanging like this so I won't be reading more of this author's books. The remaining 10 stories are really great. The final one is a real nail biter even though there is a fair bit of supernatural content. I was surprised at how few grammatical errors there were in this boxed set and they were all excellently penned. A few missing words here and there but easy to slot in the correct one but it seems this is a hiccup with Kindle. Recommend this bundle if you are a fan of thrillers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2014
A very varied bundle of books that had me sorry when I had read the last one. I will be looking into other books from some of the authors in this collection
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse