Start reading Dead Links: (An Amanda Katt Thriller) on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
Dead Links: (An Amanda Katt Thriller)
 
 

Dead Links: (An Amanda Katt Thriller) [Kindle Edition]

Nigel G. Mitchell
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)

Kindle Price: £1.80 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.
Borrow this book for free on a Kindle device with Amazon Prime. Learn more about Kindle Owners' Lending Library.
Join Prime to borrow this book at no cost.
The Kindle Owners' Lending Library gives you access to thousands of books, including New York Times bestsellers, to borrow and read for free.
  • Borrow a book as frequently as once per month
  • No due dates — keep books as long as you like and return them when it's time for something new
  • Read on any Amazon Kindle device

Amazon Prime members also enjoy:
  • Unlimited streaming of thousands of popular movies and TV shows with Prime Instant Video
  • FREE Two-Day Shipping on millions of items, with no minimum order size

For more information about the Kindle Owners' Lending Library visit our help page.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £1.80  
Paperback --  
Kindle Summer Sale: Over 500 Books from £0.99
Have you seen the Kindle Summer Sale yet? Browse selected books from popular authors and debut novelists, including new releases and bestsellers. Learn more

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Purchase any Kindle Book sold by Amazon.co.uk and receive £1 credit to try out our Digital Music Store. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Description

Product Description

What if the Internet could control you?

Investigative journalist Amanda Katt's engagement takes a strange turn when her fiancee becomes obsessed with Araknee, one of the most popular websites ever made. As she investigates, Katt discovers others have fallen under the spell of the website, and the owners of rival websites are dying under mysterious circumstances. When Amanda tries to uncover the secret of Araknee, she finds herself drawn into a conspiracy that could threaten the world.

Fans of William Gibson and Michael Crichton will appreciate this exciting thriller.

"Bold heroine choice and palpable sense of place" - James Blakley

"I really enjoyed it, could hardly put it down" - cog11

"The action fairly good, realistic and coherent" - SGL

"An exciting and engaging thriller that hooked me from beginning to end." - BJ Fraser

Length: 134,000 words

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1524 KB
  • Print Length: 384 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B009VPRCI8
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #581,713 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead Links: an Amanda Katt novel 6 July 2014
Format:Kindle Edition
Just finished this book and given it five star rating. If you like superbly written edge-of-the-seat suspense thrillers then read this book. Can't wait to read more of this author. Great stuff, Nigel.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.0 out of 5 stars  11 reviews
3.0 out of 5 stars Bad Grammar but a interesting story 27 Aug 2014
By Delaware Diva - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I would have given this book more stars except the heroine, who is supposed to be a journalist, and her parents are educated people, has the grammar of I don't know maybe a grade school student. The book is filled with "ain't, gotta, whatcha, double negatives etc. I enjoyed the story line but, the heroine's speech didn't fit her and I found it annoying. I guess, I come from an era where proper grammar and diction were stressed......and I am glad for it.
4.0 out of 5 stars A fun read 22 Aug 2014
By Damian P. Gadal - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This was a fun read, following the nearly impossible exploits of Amanda Katt kept me entertained from start to finish. The computer addiction and mind control reminded me of some of my friends and their facebook obsessions, which certainly does add some credibility to the premise behind this. At times it seemed like a zombie story, but maybe that's what the world is becoming. Hats off to Mr. Mitchell for writing this.
1.0 out of 5 stars Ain't Necessary 15 Aug 2014
By Claudia V. McConnehead - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition
I can't understand why the author found it necessary to have an educated, black women have such poor command of the english language. I'm barely through the book, but I'm turned off by the many times Amanda use ain't in her conversations. It's not necessary and it's a turn off for me as a reader. I don't know anyone who talks like that, educated or not!! I doubt if I would read another Amanda Katt book.
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Predictable plot, but bold heroine choice and palpable sense of place 15 Mar 2014
By James Blakley - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
With a bloody computer cable cover and "dead" in the title, it should be clear that Dead Links centers on the perils of online addiction and manipulation. If that doesn't seal the deal, then the name of the novel's immensely popular website Araknee should. "Araknee is evil..,It's dangerous...,It traps us like flies in a web, and the more we struggle, the tighter it gets," warns one character. And early on, the intentions of the white-clad, seemingly psychic villain (appropriately named Jonathan Seer) are made as crystal clear as his cold, corporate climate: He wants world domination via The World Wide Web and the psychological controls of Araknee. And no one it seems (from an enthralled infant to a powerful politician) is immune. Except, of course, the proceedings' crusading protagonist.

With so many potboiler plot roadsigns posted, Dead Links might initially seem like it leads to a dead read, right? While the body count is high, the story has several strong, redeeming qualities that make it a good read. The biggest asset is that author Nigel Mitchell boldly breaks the often male-dominated techno thriller mold and allow a different type of hero to helm the adventure: That being an African American female.

Amanda Katt is a smart, rough-and-tumble journalist who freelances for several Phoenix-based publications. But, she senses a big story with New York-based Araknee, and tussles with Seer and his henchpeople--led by unseen, online femme fatale "Jane Doe"--early and often. But, in a nice twist on the guy-gets-the-girl-and saves-the-day theme, Mitchell instead allows Katt the honor: As she constantly risks her life to save her hapless fiancee (who's addicted to Araknee). Thus, she gets scraped, scarred, and shot at wherever she goes, making for a modern woman who isn't always eye candy, but is satisfyingly effective. Speaking of effective, the author also conveys a great sense of location: From NYC to Phoenix to SoCal and NoCal, the settings are wonderfully described and lend a good supporting cast of heroes and villains.

To his credit, real-life techno-journalist Nigel Mitchell keeps the plot relatively free of confusing computer jargon. But, anyone who has read or seen a lot of computer-driven thrillers will probably figure out quickly how Dead Links will end and who's really weaving Araknee's control of The Web. However, it is nice to see such predictability unfold through the eyes of a different race and gender and done so in so many well-conceived settings.
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good read although the author seems to want you to ... 9 July 2014
By Amazon Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
A very good read although the author seems to want you to remember Katt is a black lady by the siilly language that she uses. She is an intelligent woman with a great career and is a College eduacated woman who was raised by intelligent parents. Why would he have her talk like she just came from the ghetto?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category