Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
20
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.77+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 October 2006
Just receiving this CD today, I knew what to expect from the next serving of Bonobo's musical genius. I was not let down. The first big change from their other outings, is that "Days to Come", is fairly vocal for a Bonobo album. Sure, there are vocals in a few of Bonobo's previous tracks but most of these were found on the "One Off Remixes and B-Sides CD", here we have an album where around half of the tracks feature vocals, and quite rightly they should do. Mostly vocalised by Bajka, the album assumes a Massive Attack-esque feel, with the beats veing slightly more downtempo than those that were found on "Dial M" for example.

Ok, Let's say you don't like the idea of lyrics over the chilled Bonobo beats that we are accustomed to, the bonus second disc features the instrumental versions of all previously vocalised tracks on the album, a very pleasing touch.

Lyrics or no Lyrics, lets get down to the beats; mysterious eastern sounding masterpieces such as Ketto, the upbeat summery feeling of The Fever, the dark, brooding but jazzy nature of "Between the Lines". This album covers it all and exceedingly well.

Big Thumbs up for Bonobo, keep your expectations high for already-converted followers, and for newcomers, I would recommend this album if you enjoy artists such as Quantic, Lemon Jelly, Massive Attack or even DJ Shadow.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2015
How can you not like Bonobo. Another brilliant well thought through album with some fantastic production and lovely sounds that keep him son unique and special. Another for the collection to keep and keep playing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2013
I must admit I have caught on to Bonobo late after being mesmerised by there current release Northern Borders , I've purchased Black Sands and Black Sands Remix, and in the last few weeks have been playing Bonobo albums continuosly.
For days to come from a few years ago , I found the tempoe jazzier and the whole sound oozing a smokey 50's flavour so similar in many ways to The Cinematic orchestra's neo jazz classic Motion the ultimate late night lounge album. Days to come is ideal for the after hours after club summer windown zone. Bajka's unique vocals are superb, An exotic female voice that was featured on Beanfield album Seek. The vibes vary from bosa nova grooves ,to sleek jazzy strums and polished horns and even eighties jazz funk , with a downtempoe aura that slightly elevates to the catchy mid tempoe shuffler Night life. Days to come is without doubt one to merge with there label mates The Cinematics Motion, I could have easilly thought the track "On Your Marks " was a continuation of Motions "Ode to the big sea" Days to Come is for your special late night summer pre-dawn wind down treat it's a downtempoe jazzy collection , for lovers of Air, Zero 7 and even Thivery Corp they might find this to jazzy. The bonus instrumentals are an excellent . I'm out to get the rest of Bonobo's back catalogue.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2008
I guess i would consider myself a late comer to Bonobo's music and all i can say is thank God it didn't take me any longer..After stumbling across him through interest in the Solid Steel range I found a truly remarkable and talented musician. I have taken this album to many friends who have all instantly loved it, and even taken it to some producer friends to illustrate what I consider real good production reat beats and the vocals are so unusual but perfect. As i now troll through CDs on Amazon i have greatly appreciated the reviews of others so thought it about time i done some reviews myself, if you the idea of listening to music in the sun whilst swinging in a Hammock GET THIS ALBUM you will not regret it, this guy is in my option pure genius..
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2011
Another find via Spotify then the previews on Amazon.

Superb album if you like Thievery Corporation and similar.

Dreamy lyrics, tight production, perfect background party music for extreme chilling.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2006
Another blissful, delicate, beautiful album from Simon 'Bonobo' Green. Feeds the imagination, chills the soul and makes me smile. One of my favourite artists around today, he is yet to make a bad record. Buy now.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2012
Bonobo has released two interesting albums so far. His third offering "Days To Come" is by far his best as it fuses World Music with Dance and Hip-Hop beats, creating a very fluid and tranquil atmosphere that allows the listener to drift off into a distant magical land.

The title track "Days To Come" is an infectious Trip-Hop track featuring a vocalist called Bajka who has a sweet and intriguing quality to her voice. "Between The Lines", a similar track with a heavier beat, also features this singer and is nearly as good. Two solidly composed instrumentals follow, "The Fever" and "Ketto", which are pleasant but nothing more. The highlight of the album is the third track sung by Bajka "Nightlife" which has a catchy rhythm and wonderful string arrangements creating a captivating atmosphere. "Transition 94" is quite an interesting instrumental with some experimental Jazz elements but "On Your Mark" is again pleasant but not original enough to make a mark. "If You Stayed Over", featuring a male vocalist called Fink is quite a dark and sombre song with heavy Trip-Hop beats and interesting arrangements. "Walk In The Sky" features Bajka again and is very suave whilst the final track "Recurring" is another peaceful instrumental. The album also has a second disc that includes instrumental versions of all the tracks that feature vocals on the first disc as well as a further instrumental called "Hatoa".

Overall, "Days To Come" is a very good album from Bonobo as it is interesting enough to allow the listener to relax for a moment. Some of the instrumental tracks could be a little more original but the songs which include singers compensate for this lack of variety. The blend of genres and sounds works in Bonobo's favour, making "Days To Come" is a very strong release. However, it could have been made even stronger had all the tracks been accompanied by vocals.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2009
I really liked Animal Magic and Dial M, so had high hopes for this. It's a strange one though- for the first half of the album he seems to be trying to write the soundtrack to a samurai movie. All very Japanese sounding, which wears thin pretty quickly. The second half is more similar to the earlier albums only not as good. The only time he really gets it right is on the last track 'Recurring', which is a great tune.
There are vocals this time too, but more often than not they feel grafted on and not a part of the song. Some rather trite lyrics don't help either.
Overall the whole thing just feels forced, and not a patch on his other work.
77 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
Bought Bonobo Black Sands first after a friends recommendation, really enjoyed that so thought I would try a another album... Days to Come is high quality chilled and relaxing music, some great lyrics - bonus CD was just that, wans't expecting it...

Will now look to other Bonobo CD's!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
I love this album, it is fantastically relaxing, would really recommend for anyone looking for some well made chill-out music.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)