Days of Hope and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10.
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Days of Hope has been added to your Basket
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by the book house
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Days of Hope Paperback – 16 Oct 2008


See all 13 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£8.99
£4.40 £0.01

Frequently Bought Together

Days of Hope + To Love and to Cherish
Price For Both: £14.98

Buy the selected items together



Product details

  • Paperback: 480 pages
  • Publisher: Headline (16 Oct 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0755331974
  • ISBN-13: 978-0755331970
  • Product Dimensions: 11.7 x 3.1 x 17.9 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (16 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 196,913 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Lyn Andrews is one of the UK's top one hundred bestselling authors, reaching No. 1 on the Sunday Times paperback bestseller list. Born and brought up in Liverpool, she is the daughter of a policeman and also married a policeman. After becoming the mother of triplets, she took some time off from her writing whilst she raised her children. Shortlisted for the RNA Romantic Novel of the Year Award in 1993, she has now written thirty one hugely successful novels and in Sept 2012 had her first Historical novel THE QUEEN'S PROMISE published, the paperback of which is due out in February 2013. Lyn Andrews lives in the Isle of Man

Product Description

Book Description

A heartwarming story set in 1940s Liverpool and Ireland about the hurdles two sisters, Chrissie and Grace, must cross on their journey to finding the happiness they seek.

About the Author

Lyn Andrews was born and raised in Liverpool. She is the author of many novels, one of which was shortlisted for the RNA Romantic Novel of the Year Award; her last few novels have all been Sunday Times Top Ten bestsellers.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Mrs. A. L. Maddocks on 20 Feb 2010
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I started this book Thursday night and finished it Saturday afternoon. This is a very good book, fast pace and easy to read.

The characters come through very credible, particularly Grace, who you can't help but sympathise with, whereas Chrissie you could shake with frustration.

Would recommend this book. Gives a good idea of what Liverpool and Ireland were like just after the second world war.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Mrs Mad Mac on 17 Mar 2010
Format: Paperback
I have just finished this book and didn't want it to end. I really enjoyed it. It's my first Lyn Andrews book but will definatley not be my last.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By DubaiReader TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 26 May 2011
Format: Paperback
My gut feeling about this audio-book was that it was too heavily abridged. I felt I was losing a lot of the interesting, character building detail, and just following the bones of the story. This just simply wasn't enough to hold my attention.
It is a shame that reviews for audio-books are not submitted separately because a poor abridgement affects the rating for all editions.

The central characters were two sisters, Chrissie and Grace, who had survived the war and were both ready for exciting new lives. Grace was ready to work hard, settle down and start a family with a loving man; Chrissie however, was more wild, inclined to rash decisions and rather selfish.
When one of their friends gets married, Chrissie spots a handsome young Irish farmer, Pat Kilroy, and immediately falls in love. True to character she is ready to rush accross the seas to him, with widespread repercussions on her whole family.

A rather typical story, with not a lot to offer. I have other books by Ms Andrews on my shelves so I will read my next book in hard copy to give the author a fair try.
Recommended for fans of Audrey Howard or Lillian Harry.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Liz on 18 May 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Enjoyed reading this novel. Liked it so much I have ordered another book by the author and every confidence will enjoy the same
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Dee on 18 Feb 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This is an ideal holiday read downloaded fine to my kindle if you like this author you will like this book
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
All of Lynns books are easy to read and are entertaining but this story is by far the best. Days of Hope is an excellent story, the characters are very well written - i found them more believable than in many of her other books. Its the book i recommend most of all to any reader of Lynn's. A tale of a family just after war time, a respectable family, hardworking and decent. Youngest daughter craves excitement, cannot find it. Then at a friends wedding meets a really nice boy from a farm in Ireland .......... her future looks set...but will it be enough for Chrissy?
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By christine davidson on 6 Dec 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I really enjoy this type of book. You really feel you are part of the story. I will read other stories by this author.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Excellent but also sad at the way the story was told about the heartache people went through in war time but it ended on a lovely positive ending well done
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Look for similar items by category


Feedback