Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars12
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£16.58+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 December 2012
I have been taking photographs for many years, but this is only my second 'serious' camera so I decided to invest in David Busch's book to get the most out of it. The Getting Started and Setting Up chapters are first class, no important detail omitted.
However, the real benefits for me came with the chapters on controlling the exposure, mastering the autofocus and working with lenses. I have since obtained my first prime portrait lens and also a telephoto zoom which, combined with the DB Guide have made owning the camera a real treat.
One thing that influenced my purchase of the Alpha 37 was the ability to shoot HD movies using the viewfinder. I would need to wear my reading spectacles to view the screen which makes this type of camera (with a semi-transparent mirror that allows movie shooting through the viewfinder) ideal for me. However, the David Busch Guide has meant that I am getting far more out of other features of the camera and learning all the time.
A great purchase.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
This book is rather hefty, but it is very detailed. It isn't the kind of book that you would carry around with you.
This author has produced a much more compact version that can be brought every where with you.
In both books every aspect about the camera is covered and it is full of very useful tips. There isn't much more to say, only like in the advertisement, "that it does every thing that it says on the tin".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
This is a comprehensive users manual for those who have bought a new camera and may not be aware of some of the new features of their new purchase. Although I have been using Canon cameras for many years-the new models have new features I may not be aware of and this is the manual to point them out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2013
Really glad I purchased this book. I did dabble with slr's in the past, but am only getting into digital. This works for me as an idiots learning guide to getting the most from my camera. I would definitely recommend this book if you are looking to improve and learn new techniques.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
Normally a title I reserve for The Bible, but this book is well written and has a very approachable style for the novice to intermediate SLR/SLT user...
Every aspect of the camera has been covered accurately in non-scary terms.

Good Book...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2014
I already have this book but can't find it!! So, I bought another as it is a bible for me. Very clearly written and laid out, though some terms puzzled me, but as I get more proficient with my camera I am sure all will become clear.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
Easy to follow, from basics to more complicated. I'm not a total beginner and found that even things I thought I knew I learned more about from the book. Not patronizing, well explained and useful photos and descriptions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2013
David Busch covers all the bases that the camera's own manual doesn't. He doesn't assume that you are already a competent photographer but neither does he treat you like an idiot. I can't fault it, worth every penny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2014
An excellent book to help you find your way around the SLT-A37. Much more detail than those supplied with the camera. Would highly recommend this brilliant book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2013
This guide is for the camera I own. It is very easy to read, and a great help, going beond the basic guide and adding broad insite to photography in general.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)