Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars30
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 28 January 2013
One thing you can always say of David Bowie is pure class. A rock legend,a man who's changed by each album the face and direction of popular music. So how about a book on them, great idea, but open this large tome and you'll be drawn into the amazing world of the man and his albums. This simply is one book no fan will want to miss,full to the brim on the facts behing every album, studio photos, who produced,engineered and who played on them from his first self titled album through to Reality, and a bit of where he is now,When written only a few months ago clearly no one had a clue a new album was in the pipeline. Every album here is covered in depth, solo and Tin Machine ones,track listings etc. Photos in the studio and from the many tours,a guide to all things Bowie appearances,recording dates but most of all this is a book about him,and his music. Superbly written, easy to read and very engrosing and gives so much insight into the reasons behind every aone along with Bowie's own ongoing comments. The photos throughout are simply brilliant,the costumes,the fashions, the ideas behing how the music was changing, so much in a book of clearly lasting pleasure to any fan. A book you can either just sit and flip through,or read from any place your interest is,as you play the album of choice, or to be read through beginning to end. There are not many artist boooks of this quality, but the man is that and this book on his career studiowise and on the tour circuit is an absolute must, for certainly any Bowie fan, as well as many others.
As I wrote this it reminds me how we all thought or hoped he come on at the London Olympics closing ceremony as they played 'Fashion' sadly he didn't although asked. But it shows just how loved he is, one of the absolute pop greats, and this a book to enjoy again and again.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This was clearly a labour of love. Paolo Hewitt's text is the fruit of a lifetime of careful, attentive listening to Bowie, but the real pleasure of this book is the graphic content. Extraordinarily, it unearths a trove of unusual, but brilliant, images from across Bowie's career, that avoid most of the obvious visual cliches while still being stunningly impactful in their own right. It's also impressive that the coverage goes right up to the present, with a good and thoughtful section on 'The Next Day'. All in all, I'd say this is probably an even better and more satisfying compendium than the V&A's (very good) 'David Bowie Is' catalogue.

I can't imagine a David Bowie enthusiast not wanting to own this. I bought a copy as a birthday present for my wife, who likes Bowie as much as I like Dylan (i.e. a LOT), and she's been absolutely thrilled with it.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2014
The best book on Bowie that I've read so far.

Chapters on every album and the photos are rare and well presented and paper and print quality is very high.

A Must Buy for Rock/Pop fans and historians of modern culture not just David Bowie aficionados.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2012
Superb book with many never before published pictures! Good research. It is one of the best Bowie books in years. A++++++
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
this is a fantastic read, a must for any bowie fan,it gives you a insight to every bowie album ever made it is definately the bowie bible.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2012
This is such a fantastic book, I read it in a matter of days. Not only does it contain great pics...the text is written in such a way that although very informative, it never gets bogged down in over detail, and provides just enough info on each phase of Bowies career. This is a must for Bowie devotees and occassional fans alike. So highly recommended.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2013
well i don't often review as i have time constraints in my life where i have little time spare but this i had to review as it is such a spectacular book. i got this for christmas and have not put it down since. i grew up with Bowie having been born in 1964 and so went through all the years with him, as i reached the 80's i got into the Soul/jazz funk scene and became a soulboy and didn't forget Bowie but as he went quite so did my interest really, but i always loved to hear his music. just recently i have become a radio presenter and being asked to play his music more and more decided to play his whole collection once more and upon seeing this book thought it would be great to get back to the grass roots as it were. well what a book, it gives the full background to every album, where his inspiration came from the influences and comments of the time. how and when each album was put together and where he released them and even the month and year each track was released, even things like clothe styles make up and hair cuts, and by whom. And then there are the many pictures, many of which are previously not seen. Any Bowie fan should get this and like me listen to every album as you read about it..what a fantastic book!!!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2012
Great images and a really good reference and read. A look at how this man grew and changed over the years.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
This summary is a must read for every Bowie fan. On 287 pages it doesn't only include all his works but also an abundance of photopraphs from the early days up to now. The format of 25x29 cm is needed to enhance the pictures. A great read for everyone who wants to indulge in David's musical and artistical life.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2015
I'll be brief: this is not a book for anyone who values good music writing or thoughtful cultural analysis.

It's got great pictures, a very useful discography (not hard to find elsewhere) and IS good to get an overall feel for the chronology of DB's career.

But the writing is rather naff (full of dodgy puns and so-called wordplay) and there's only a handful of pages devoted to each album.

So, fine for a beginners' guide or for a teenager, but otherwise head for the photo-free, yet sublime Chris O'Leary's Rebel Rebel (out end March)
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£22.75

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)