Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars55
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 May 2013
I read this book in a few days. It was a fascinating account of Jason and Steve's fruition of an original adventure that was going to challenge them both on a physical, emotional and mental level. Jason's account of these challenges during the crossing of the Atlantic and beyond mixed in with the stories of the people they meet along the way is entertaining. I couldn't stop turning the pages. Inspiring to any would be adventurer looking for a challenge and leaves with a message of a greater responsibility for the environment. Looking forward to reading the second book!
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
I had followed some of Jason's story on the news but nothing could bring the true adventure into my home as well as this book. Jasons first hand account of how his adventure started from a drunken conversation that started a thirteen year man powered expidition. The book is full of nievity, danger, friendship, humour and soul searching.
If you ever wanted a book to inspire you to take a leap of faith, this is it!
I loved ever page and can not wait for the second book.
Read this book, get out there and find out who you really are and what really matters.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
In the summer of 1994 Jason Lewis and Steve Smith, two unemployed twentysomethings set out to complete the first circumnavigation of the globe using only human power. It would involve crossing the Atlantic and Pacific and oceans as well as five continents, a trip they believed would take three years.

Thirteen years and 46,505 miles later, one of them, Jason Lewis, returned. This is his story.

From the outset these were not two clean livin' professional adventurers plastered with corporate sponsor logos, far from it, they were two young guys setting out on the adventure of a lifetime with almost no relevant experience. In fact during the early stages of volume one its touch and go whether they are actually going to be sober enough for long enough to get the journey underway at all.

But as the departure date draws near and the full enormity of the task becomes apparent we realise that the hard drinking and partying are an essential part of their build up because this is an adventure they will be lucky to survive.

With books about a journey, the purpose of which is the journey, there exists the possibility of becoming bogged down in numerous brief descriptions of a great many places. But not with this book. While Lewis keeps us up to speed with where we are the main thrust is the human elements, namely the people he meets along the way and his companion Steve Smith with whom he enjoys an increasingly difficult, but mutually dependant relationship.

The centre piece of volume one is their perilous Atlantic crossing during which we are treated both to the almost unbearable claustrophopia of their tiny craft and vast emptiness of the ocean.
Lewis has a powerful descriptive ability, particularly where nature is concerned, and reveals the sea in all its moods. We also get to share, in vivid detail, his peaceful contemplation of the stars and the full blown fury of an Atlantic storm.

This is a genuine tale of an adventure. It doesn't start with the cliche of a drunken bet and and it wasn't undertaken for the purpose of nailing a book deal. And whilst the whole undertaking appears very ramshackle at times there is no novelty factor, no hitchhiking with a fridge, no search for people called Dave Gorman and no tedious false modesty.
11 comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2013
A thoroughly enjoyable "Boys Own" adventure. Throughout the book I felt inadequate as many of the experiences of the two protagonist would have had me quitting the project (even mid-Atlantic). I was constantly amazes at their fortitude and application to the cause. I was also horrified at the "welcome" experienced in the southern US confirming my worst fears at the barbaric philosophy of many residents of the area.
Looking forward to part 2.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2015
I read on average 5-6 books a month, and there have only been a few where I picked up the book, started reading, was immediately engrossed and really struggled to put it down. “Dark Water” was one of those books and the second book in the trilogy, “The Seed Buried Deep” was just as amazing.

Jason is a brilliant author, his writing is hilarious, descriptive, honest, exciting, and incisive. I can really understand the amount of praise the book received, it is well deserved.

The journey started off from a drunken discussion between Jason and his friend Steve, progressed to getting a boat “Moksha” designed build and road tested. The expedition planning was helped along by an assortment of people who lived in a squat with Jason, filmmakers and supporters joined the adventurers and a year later, all the pieces started coming together. This in itself amazed me, I thought that maybe Jason and Steve had been ex-army/navy and already had the skills to make the expedition a success. (Nope, one was a scientist and the other was a musician/window cleaner.)

The narrative continues with describing the first part of the adventure, it has all the elements needed for a great story: amazing adventures; wonderful descriptions of countries and oceans; amazing wildlife; danger; conflict; hunger: humour; illness; life threatening situations; jobsworth officials; the kindness and eccentricity of strangers.

I loved the way Jason and Steve worked with schools and encouraged the children to think about environmental issues and what they could do, as young as they were, to make a difference. I bet the children were impressed with the different modes of transport, bicycle, boat and rollerblading, I know I was.

Jason also does not flinch from describing the challenges of the expedition: of living in close proximity with someone else; the idiotic arguments; the sulks; the horrible boils; the scalding; having to deal with the monotony of pedalling, needing the mental strength to carry on when things didn’t go to plan and the near death experiences they both faced. It’s also fascinating to see how much Jason learned about himself during his adventure.

This is a tale of courage, fortitude, friendship and above all adventure and it’s a damn good read. This book would appeal to active adventurers and people like myself who like to sit with a cuppa and live vicariously.

Really looking forward to reading the last book in the trilogy when it is available.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2012
I read this book in 2 days after a recommendation from a friend who assured me it was a great read.

if you are somebody who has a conscience about what mankind is doing to the planet, If you are somebody that thinks
there may be more to life than 9-5, if you are somebody with a sense of humour, buy this book and read it .

If you like 4 by 4's and shopping malls don't bother.
0Comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2013
If you love one time only adventure. Buy this book. It easy ready, fun and thought provoking. Can wait for the next two.

Good luck Jason
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2013
Yeah really enjoyed this, lots of laugh out loud bits while sitting on beach, people must have thought I was mad! Thrilling, exciting, thought provoking but sometimes a little too in depth about his views on the meaning of the world etc... But can't wait for 2nd book. Tammie is working hard at billy the fish to get it out on time!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2015
An utterly captivating book about a tremendously brave explorer. I first heard about the exploits of Jason Lewis when watching 'Long Way Down' with Ewan McGregor and Charlie Boorman.. I found it incredible that those two bumped into Jason somewhere in Africa where he cycled past them on his push bike. For me, Jasons brief appearance on that program really struck a chord. Here was two 'celebrities' "braving" a wild journey from Scotland to South Africa on motorbikes with a huge support crew... then Jason cycled past in his umpteenth year of circumnavigating the planet with man-power alone! Yet I hadn't heard about this incredible fete! Madness. Jason is inspirational and this first book was a real page turner. I completed it within 2 days whilst on holiday and immediately downloaded the second book in the series.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
I wasn't sure what to expect from this book. I was surprised by the writing style, which was engaging and kept the reader involved. Jason Lewis is clearly an intelligent man with a knack of writing well. The story is extraordinary too. It's a bit like some kind of ridiculous drunken challenge come true. We've all had those moments of fantasy, but it's seldom these moments turn to reality. Jason's story flows well and he has cleverly chosen not to give a blow by blow account or recite a daily log. However, the reader still gets a full flavour of the experience the two of them had. I also really liked the author's honesty. I think he adds to the story with his self deprecation and self analysis - this helps the reader to feel the human side of the story.

I'm looking forward to the next installment.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse