Start reading Dark Child (The Awakening): Omnibus Edition on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
Dark Child (The Awakening): Omnibus Edition
 
 

Dark Child (The Awakening): Omnibus Edition [Kindle Edition]

Adina West
3.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £11.99
Kindle Price: £4.89 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £7.10 (59%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £4.89  
Paperback £10.61  
Kindle Summer Sale: Over 500 Books from £0.99
Have you seen the Kindle Summer Sale yet? Browse selected books from popular authors and debut novelists, including new releases and bestsellers. Learn more


Product Description

Product Description

Perfect for fans of The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare, this intriguing urban fantasy follows the story of Kat Chanter, who discovers that the world she knows is controlled by ancient creatures who feed on blood. And she might just be one of them ...

Lately things have been getting weird for pathology technician Kat Chanter. She's been craving raw meat, and having dreams so realistic they're scary. When she accepts a job offer from the prestigious Hema Castus Research Institute, she hopes she'll have the chance to discover what's wrong with her, but instead, her move to New York thrusts her headlong into a treacherous hidden world, where the wrong move could be fatal . . .

Tarot, witchcraft and astrology all take on a frightening resonance in Dark Child's richly imagined alternative reality where vampiric beings live among us, hidden by magic. Dark romance tangles with paranormal fantasy and page-turning suspense in this enthralling tale of 'dark child' Kat Chanter, half human and half vampire, who has woken an ancient prophecy and must face a formidable destiny.

Dark Child (The Awakening): Omnibus Edition is the first book in the Dark Child series. This is a full length novel. Dark Child (The Awakening)*: Omnibus Edition bundles together Dark Child (The Awakening) Episodes 1-5. Look out for the next in this series, Dark Child (Covens Rising) : Omnibus Edition available late August/early September 2014.

*Dark Child (The Awakening) was originally published in 2013 as Dark Child Episodes 1-5 and Dark Child: Omnibus Edition.


Recommended Dark Child reading order is:


Dark Child (The Awakening) Omnibus Edition

followed by

Dark Child (Covens Rising) Omnibus Edition (out late August/early September 2014)

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 654 KB
  • Print Length: 432 pages
  • Publisher: Momentum (1 Jun 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00BMFEVP2
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 3.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #308,549 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Adina West grew up on a remote property on Australia's east coast, in country New South Wales. She spent most of her childhood curled up with a book, and her first teenage job was shelving books at the local library, where she was cautioned more than once for reading them instead of putting them away.

Her first stories were laboriously typed up with two fingers on her parents' old typewriter. Her dream of one day being a published writer progressed much faster after she learned to touch type and switched to a computer.

Adina lives in Sydney's leafy north-west with her IT guru husband, two children, and a couple of unwelcome possums who really don't know how to take a hint.

Visit Adina at her author site, www.adinawest.com
She loves to hear from readers!

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Mysterious Progeny Of Unknown Origin 21 July 2014
Format:Kindle Edition
This series must be read in order. This is the omnibus edition of the first serial book containing all five episodes in their entirety.

Kat has always known she was different. Different from her half brothers... Different from her mother... And different from anyone she has ever met. Maybe she is like her mysterious father. She still feels the guilt of his leaving even though he had no cause to even know she existed. The only bright spot in her life is the wolf that befriended her ages ago (she tells herself he is a pet... Some domestic wolfish breed... No REAL wolf would come that close to civilization right?) He makes the differences she has to hide almost bearable. Being able to run like crazy and not even breathe hard caused her no end of trouble in school... Not to mention her literal nose for blood. But things are getting stranger yet... Always healthy she has no clue why she's been feeling so off lately ... And just today she fainted... Wonder why?

This is a fast paced paranormal serial where one episode blends seamlessly into the next so well you will be disappointed greatly if you have to wait for the next episode! Book one is definitely an amazing fish out of water coming of age story fraught with confusion and missteps that keep you guessing what will happen next! I really loved it and can't wait to read the first episode of the new serial novel Dark Child (Covens Rising): Episode 1 to find out what happens next!!!

***This serial book series is suitable for mature young adult through adult readers
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
By Linsey
Format:Kindle Edition
Dark Child was originally released in serial form which is what stopped me reading it from the start as I was worried that if I actually found myself enjoying it that I wouldn't want to wait to read the next installment.

I was right to be hesitant...

When I was asked by Momentum if I would be interested in reviewing Dark Child, and it being a book that had already caught my eye, I jumped at the chance and was lucky enough to be sent the full omnibus editon. Thank goodness... If I'd only been able to read it in pieces then I would have been very frustrated and wouldn't have enjoyed the reading experience anywhere near as much as I actually did.

We start off with Kat (Katerina) who, on the surface, is your average, everyday twenty something with a carreer in pathology. But after some fainting and sudden nausia prompts Kat to test her own blood without anyone knowing, and the tests produce some very strange results, she soon realises that there is something strangely wrong with her especially after she starts to crave raw meat.

After a very odd reading from a psychic, and an interesting job offer which sees her moving to New York, Kat is soon thrust into a world that has been hidden from humans for centuries, a world full of powerful beings -- some who will stop at nothing to protect her believing she is to fill some ancient prophecy, others who want to destroy her -- where she begins to learn the truth about who and what she really is.

West's wonderful descriptive ability makes you feel as much a part of her world as the characters in it so even though the story took a while to get going, it felt like I was really getting to know Kat and made you see everything that was happening as clearly as watching a movie.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2.0 out of 5 stars I just couldn't get into it. 8 Jun 2014
Format:Paperback
I received a free e-copy in exchange for an honest review.

I tried to read it, I really did but I just couldn't get into it. It seemed to take forever just to get to chapter ten. I found the characters to be boring and the story dragged, that might have been because it was written as instalments.

I found that I couldn't even believe the science that was part of the story-line. The fact that she could guess the subjects ethnicity, sex, age and blood-type by smell was far-fetched.

I have been known to try a book again if I wasn't able to finish it the first go around but I'm not sure I'm going to try this one again.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category