The True Darcy Spirit and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading The True Darcy Spirit on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

The True Darcy Spirit (Thorndike Clean Reads) [Large Print] [Hardcover]

Elizabeth Aston
3.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition 1.99  
Hardcover, Large Print --  
Paperback 9.01  

Book Description

19 Mar 2008 Thorndike Clean Reads

A richly entertaining novel about the next generation of Darcy girls, perfect for fans of Jane Austen and Georgette Heyer.

Cassandra, a young cousin to the children of Mr and Mrs Darcy of Pride and Prejudice is a worthy heir to them in every way: she speaks her mind, is witty, shrewd and talented. But her impulsive behaviour leads her to make one very major mistake. Cast out of her respectable place in the world, she is determined to make her own way. But in a London that regards an attractive and independent young lady with deep suspicion, how can she avoid coming upon the town?

The True Darcy Spirit will appeal to all readers who’ve seen the films, reread the originals, but still want more!

--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.


Product details

  • Hardcover: 585 pages
  • Publisher: Thorndike Press; Lrg edition (19 Mar 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1410404633
  • ISBN-13: 978-1410404633
  • Product Dimensions: 13.8 x 22.5 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 6,713,543 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Elizabeth Aston was born in Chile to an impeccably English father and a distinctly un-English Argentine mother. Educated by Benedictine nuns in Calcutta, Fabians in London, and Inklings at Oxford, she's lived in India, England, Malta and Italy.

Her Mountjoy books (originally published by Hodder, and now reissued as ebooks) were inspired by years of living in York, where her son was a chorister at the Minster. They depict the unholy, unquiet, and frequently unseemly goings-on of an imaginary northern cathedral city and its peculiar inhabitants, enhanced with a touch of magic and enchantment - Elizabeth Aston has always been fascinated by what lies just beyond our sight.

Her other books include the bestselling Darcy series - six historical romantic comedies set in the world of Jane Austen, and a contemporary novel, Writing Jane Austen. These were inspired by her love of Jane Austen - her heroes, her heroines and her wicked sense of humour.

Product Description

Review

‘Those who enjoy Austen will certainly enjoy Aston’s work, as will historical readers who want an engaging plot and characters.’ Library Journal

‘The invented daughters are fun…and their ups and downs in London society make a lively story.’ Joan Aiken

‘Delightful.’ Publishers Weekly

‘In the mode of Heyer and Austen, Elizabeth Aston…comments on the period with affection, respect and a ready wit.’ Good Book Guide

‘This novel is written with grace, charm and wit…It is an entertaining, engaging and engrossing romp through Regency London that sparkles like the champagne which is opened at the end of the novel’ Historical Novels Review

--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Library Journal

`Those who enjoy Austen will certainly enjoy Aston's work, as will
historical readers who want an engaging plot and characters.' --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
By tregatt
Format:Paperback
Truth to tell I never finished reading Elizabeth Aston's "Mr. Darcy's Daughters." And this was not because it was a terribly written book (to the contrary in fact!), but because I couldn't get past my irritation that the author had portrayed Darcy's and Elizabeth's daughters as being five rather foolish and headstrong young ladies. Perhaps, however, I should have let go of my expectations and surrendered instead to the pull of a story well written and well told. For, because I had no unrealistic expectations of "The True Darcy Spirit" (it was after all about the daughter of Anne de Bourgh), I found myself happily absorbed and very impressed with this latest Jane Austen pastiche, and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a good literary read.

Cassandra Darcy's life at home (Rosings) is not a happy one: her mother (formerly the sickly Anne de Bourgh of Jane Austen's "Pride and Prejudice") is more preoccupied with keeping her second husband, Mr. Partington and her children from that marriage happy than to see to the wants and needs of her eldest daughter; and Mr. Partington cannot abide Cassandra, finding her too proud and clever for his liking. So that when it is perceived that Cassandra has committed an indiscretion, Mr. Partington summarily packs Cassandra off to his sister's in Bath, with instructions that the lady get Cassandra married off quickly and credibly. Once in Bath, however, the deeply unhappy and lonely Cassandra quickly succumbs to the blandishments of rogue and soon finds herself in London, alone and penniless and cut off from her family. Fortunately, Cassandra has the Darcy spirit, courage and is a very talented artist, and she is resolved to try and make her living as an artist.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed 30 Jun 2011
By Mrs. K. A. P. Wright TOP 500 REVIEWER VINE VOICE
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This is the second book in this series that I have read. I did not like the first but having given it a poor review I wanted to check whether it was an aberration.This book is as poor as the other.

I know the author under two different names, Elizabeth Pewsey and Elizabeth Edmondson and greatly enjoy her work which is character driven and quirky. I suspected, because it is a Jane Austen derivative, that this would be a lighter read than her usual work, but I expected it to be well constructed and it wasn't. The plot was full of coincidences and holes and the characters were two dimensional efforts lent from the romcom cupboard.

Joan Aiken and Jane Aiken Hodge, not to forget Georgette Heyer, have shown that it is possible to write light, frothy yet well constructed historical romances. This is not in their league.

But do not be deterred from trying her books written as Pewsey and Edmondson. They are good.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The True Darcy Spirit 10 Sep 2009
Format:Paperback
An excellent read in the style of Georgette Heyer without the 18th century language and with a more modern take on relationships. Using Austen's Mr Darcy and Elizabeth as the uninvolved parental connection adds structure to the story which revolves around the next generation of the Darcy family.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Darcy spirit 28 Jun 2012
By Aj Hole
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Very enjoyable series of books, flow well through the story of the Darcy clan. As I finish one I'm reaching for the next ideal for a wet summer afternoon. Not sure what I'll do once I complete the set.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Read 25 May 2008
By Mrs. A. M. Chadwick VINE VOICE
Format:Paperback
This is the first novel I've read by this author.

It's well written and all the characters have great depth, which in turn made the story very believable.
It's a very good historical novel for how society was at that particular time.

Although the author states she loves the way Jane Austen wrote and wants to continue along the same lines, she doesn't manage to do it.

I did find it a little boring at times, it wasn't a compulsive read, and I won't be reading anymore of these in her series that deals with the Darcy family.

It's not a book I would read again.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback