1 used from £65.23

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available

Dangerous Graces Cipriano de Rore CD

Available from these sellers.
1 used from £65.23

Product details

  • Conductor: None
  • Composer: Various Artists
  • Audio CD (1 Jan 2002)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: CD
  • Label: Linn Records
  • ASIN: B000068C1C
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 200,739 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Questi odorati fiori’, Giaches de Wert
2. Dolci spoglie’, Giaches de Wert
3. Vener, ch'un giorno avea’, Giaches de Wert
4. Hor che’l ciel e la terra e ’l vento tace’, Cipriano de Rore
5. Dolci sospiri ardenti’, Luzzasco Luzzaschi
6. Amor se così dolce’, Cipriano de Rore
7. Bramo veder un dì per mia vendetta’, Marcantonio Ingegneri
8. Vezzosi augelli’, Giaches de Wert
9. Forsennata gridava’, Giaches de Wert
10. Qual musico gentil’, Giaches de Wert
11. Deh non cantar, Donna gentil, ch’io sento’, Luzzasco Luzzaschi
12. Se ben il duol’, Cipriano de Rore
13. Il dolce sonno’, Giaches de Wert
14. Non è sì denso velo’, Giaches de Wert
15. O sonno, o della queta humida ombrosa’, Cipriano de Rore
16. Dolci sospiri ardenti’, Luzzasco Luzzaschi (second version)
17. ‘Gratie ch’a pochi il ciel largo destina’, Giaches de Wert
18. Tirsi morir volea’, Giaches de Wert

Product Description

Product Description

This is the first of a 2-CD set which illustrates the kind of music sung and played by the women musicians of the courts of Parma and Ferrara in the second half of the sixteenth century. These women were among the first professional women musicians, and they practised their trade at the peril of their reputations. Some of them did not survive their activities - one was murdered by her husband on suspicion of adultery, another was ostracised by the court for appearing too eager to sing. This disc concentrates on the established madrigal repertoire written by Cipriano de Rore and his pupils Giaches de Wert, Luzzasco Luzzaschi and Marc'Antonio Ingegneri.


Musica Secreta, with guest soprano Emily an Evera, continues its rediscovery of early-music repertoire for female ensemble, Dangerous Graces being the first of two albums developed from the Southampton University project "Female musicians at the courts of Ferrara and Parma, 1565-1589". The music, by Cipriano de Rore and his pupils Luzzasco Luzzaschi and Giaches de Wert, was originally performed by a once-celebrated ensemble of virtuoso women musicians at the court of Duke Alfonso II d'Este. The women freely adapted their repertoire, transposing vocal parts or transferring them to instrumental lines, and adding their own elaborate ornamentations. Musica Secreta haw sought to recreate the sound and spirit of this late-Renaissance ensemble with the musicians arranging their own parts, developing continuo lines during rehearsal and giving free reign to improvisation. The result is a refreshing sound in the sometimes sexless world of early music, from Catherine King's sombre lament O Sonno, o della queta humida ombrosa to the sensual ensemble Tirsi morir volea, in which lovers die "a death so sweet and delightful, that they returned to life to die again". Though the church acoustic does not reflect the original secular performances, which were at time closer to modern cabaret, this is a unique collection restoring with seriousness and integrity a forgotten part of female musical history.--Gary S Dalkin

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By R. Hakemulder on 13 Oct 2011
Format: Audio CD
the future of madrigal performances

There is little to add to the excellent Amazon's editorial review, except that it considers this CD as a forgotten part of female musical history only, important as that is. These performances no doubt prefigure what will happen to the interpretation of 16th century madrigals in general in 5 to 10 years time, assuming that the much declared demise of "classical" music recording does not happen before then. The much lauded and awarded recordings of Italian Madrigals of for instance Concerto Italiano and La Venexiana (wonderful as they are I must admit), largely take the written music as a "text" to be "faithfully" interpreted, much like a Mozart pianoconcerto or a Mahler symphony. This CD shows what musicians, not only female musicians, probably did to these "texts"...... they used them to make music that was as much their own as the composers', like musicians in other cultures or in other forms of Western art music are stil doing. This results in interpretations that are freely ornamented, and where 5 voices can be condensed to an instrument and one voice or two instruments and three voices. Given in addition that these are works of some of the greatest and not often performed madrigalists, this is CD not to be missed. Getting back to female musical history, the CD is the result of a project on female musicians at the courts of Ferrara and Parma which has a website that you can find when you search Dangerous Graces. It includes the affecting and sometime tragic stories of the women who performed this music as well as samples of the music.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

Look for similar items by category