• RRP: £15.00
  • You Save: £1.51 (10%)
FREE Delivery in the UK.
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
A Dance to the Music of T... has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This book is in very good condition and will be shipped within 24 hours of ordering. The cover may have some limited signs of wear but the pages are clean, intact and the spine remains undamaged. This book has clearly been well maintained and looked after thus far. Money back guarantee if you are not satisfied. See more of our deals.
Trade in your item
Get a £1.32
Gift Card.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

A Dance to the Music of Time: vol.3: Autumn Paperback – 2 Oct 1997


See all 21 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
£13.49
£7.31 £1.65
Audio Cassette, Audiobook
"Please retry"
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"

Frequently Bought Together

A Dance to the Music of Time: vol.3: Autumn + Dance To The Music Of Time Volume 4: Winter Vol 4 + A Dance to the Music of Time: vol.2: Summer: Summer Vol 2
Price For All Three: £45.36

Buy the selected items together


Trade In this Item for up to £1.32
Trade in A Dance to the Music of Time: vol.3: Autumn for an Amazon Gift Card of up to £1.32, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Product details

  • Paperback: 736 pages
  • Publisher: Arrow (2 Oct. 1997)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0099445476
  • ISBN-13: 978-0099445470
  • Product Dimensions: 12.9 x 4.6 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (14 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 52,223 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

"Incalculaby brilliant." Time Magazine

Book Description

'One of English fiction's few twentieth-century masterpieces' -John Lanchester, London Review of Books

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on 27 July 1998
Format: Paperback
For people who like Jane Austen, yet set in more recent times, Anthony Powell's series is worth reading. The story lines are not gripping thrillers, yet one becomes interested in the characters as they drift in and out of the main protagonist's life. I picked up the first `trilogy' in the reissue of Powell's work because I had watched and enjoyed the televisation made by one of the UK's networks. All the reviewers said that the series did not reflect the depth of the books. So I read the books to compare them. I found that the television series mirrored the books very well indeed. The producers had caught the wistfull and distant mood of Nicholas Jenkins well and the dissipation of the upper classes between the two world wars excellently. Do the stories go anywhere? Not in the accepted sense of the word. They exist in a time capsule, for us to observe - a measured dance to the music of time, as so aptly titled. If you are a fan of Evelyn Waugh and Nancy Mitford you will! enjoy Anthony Powell, and if you enjoy these novels yet have not read Waugh and Mitford, try them as well.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
25 of 27 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on 23 Mar. 1999
Format: Paperback
I place this work among literary mammoths of our time, including Proust's "Remembrance of Things Past," Durrell's "The Alexandria Quartet" and Henry Williamson's "A Chronicle of Ancient Sunlight." My judgment results not merely from this work's great length, but rather in Powell's greatly detailed characters, sprawling plot development and sheer READABILITY. Despite its great length [about 3,000 pages] it still pales in length in comparison to the aforementioned "Chronicle," which at times, plods along and tallies up to approximately 8,000 pages. Bravo to the University of Chicago Press for re-publishing this work in such a beautiful edition, as well. Buy this set and read this wonderful work. You'll enjoy it.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on 17 Sept. 1997
Format: Paperback
Anthony Powell's 12-novel series is frequently compared to Proust's "Rememberance of Things Past", but the similarity is purely superficial. The Dance is far lighter in tone, but manages to convey the sense of actually living another's life far better than any other novel (or series) I am aware of. The four main protagonists and scores of supporting characters bring to immediate life an England that now exists no more than that of Dickens, only here the change in social structure and personal lives is palpable as the old structures are brought down by the two world wars and the subsequent fall of empire. Powell's linguistic skill is unmatched - both imagery and characterization are faultless. At times ironic or satirical but far more often fondly understated, wistful but never maudlin, this is a series that will bear repeated readings over many years of one's own life. Most highly recommended for lovers of language, or for those who are attracted to the sense of passing years evoked in the best of Thomas Wolfe.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Mrs. K. A. Wheatley TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 17 Jan. 2012
Format: Paperback
Another reviewer has compared this to Proust's A La Recherche Du Temps Perdu. I can see the comparison, and judging by the allusions in this volume of the books, Powell was very conscious of it himself. Despite this I find Powell's work much less dense and more readable than Proust. It has an element of Evelyn Waugh style satire about it which lifts it from the morass of worthy literature and allows you to actually enjoy reading the work rather than reading it because it is good for you. In this third volume we get volumes 7,8 and 9 of the twelve volume sequence. I have to say that you absolutely do need to start at the beginning with Powell. You are never going to get anywhere if you think you can start out of sequence. The cast of characters is immense, positively Russian, and you really need to be there from the beginning to enjoy it. I found the first three volumes hard work, and every subsequent volume more of a pleasure to read. These three deal with the main narrator, Nick Jenkins' time during WWII and I loved it, both for the allusions to the war (I love a good war book) and the portrait of London in war time that Powell is so skilled at drawing. I am looking forward now to reading the last three novels in the sequence.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on 30 Oct. 1998
Format: Paperback
This volume contains the first three novels of Anthony Powell's masterpiece, A Dance to the Music of Time. Powell's work is social comedy in the tradition of Jane Austen and George Meredith. Contemporary writers with whom he is often compared include Marcel Proust and Evelyn Waugh. The 12 short novels of A Dance to the Music of Time give a panoramic picture of English upper-class social life from 1921 to 1971 that is both intensely realistic and amazingly funny. Readers either love Powell's work or can't understand what others see in it. My own opinion is that Dance is the best novel written in the twentieth century. Others share this view: A Dance to the Music of Time is #43 on the recently constructed Random House/Modern Library 100 Best Poll (of twentieth century fiction) and was made into a 4-part miniseries on British television just about a year ago.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on 28 Jan. 1999
Format: Paperback
First, although I adore this series, I would like to demur from the description of this series as a comedy. Certainly there are many comic situations and laughable characters, but Powell's (pronounced POE-UHL, not POW-UHL) comedy is intended less to make uslaugh than to make ussmile. I know many novels that are far funnier than this one, and if that were the book's only virtue, it would not enjoy the status that it does.
Above all, this is a work that limns in almost tedious detail the interrelations and interworkings of a segment of English society in the 20th century. These first three books take you from the early twenties into the early thirties. Despite the series great length, there is nothing epic about the scale of the novels except for the overall length of of the series as a whole. The scenes are all horribly mundane. A party here, a dinner there, a chance meeting in a bar, more parties, more dinners. But as the parties and dinners multiply, and as one social encounter builds upon another, the series does indeed take on an epic quality.
This new edition is far more attractive than the old mass market edition of the series, but I do wish that someone would have taken the effort to supply an appendix (perhaps to the final volume) that would (as in some editions of Trollope and Proust) explain who all the characters are and to whom they are related. By the sixth volume in the series, I began to find it extremely difficult to remember precisely where each character fit in the social world as a whole.
The greatest virtues of Powell's series are his richly delineated characters (of which there are at least fifty to a hundred who are to some degree significant) and his marvelously elegant prose. I believe that anyone who loves novels would love this series, in particular those who have enjoyed Proust.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Look for similar items by category


Feedback