FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books.
Only 8 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Damsel in Distress (Daisy... has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by bookdonors
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Shipped from the UK. Paperback which reflects used condition. Friendly customer service. We are a not-for-profit Social Enterprise trading in used books to help people, charities and the environment.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Damsel in Distress (Daisy Dalrymple) Paperback – 25 Mar 2010

4.4 out of 5 stars 46 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£6.99
£1.70 £0.01
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£6.99 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books. Only 8 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

  • Damsel in Distress (Daisy Dalrymple)
  • +
  • Dead in the Water (Daisy Dalrymple)
  • +
  • Murder on the Flying Scotsman (Daisy Dalrymple)
Total price: £23.97
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.




Product details

  • Paperback: 288 pages
  • Publisher: C & R Crime (25 Mar. 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1849013314
  • ISBN-13: 978-1849013314
  • Product Dimensions: 12.6 x 1.8 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (46 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 16,171 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

A dauntless Daisy and good-natured fun. (Kirkus Reviews)

Appropriate historical detail and witty dialogue are the finishing touches on this engaging 1920s period piece. (Publishers Weekly)

As always, Dunn evokes the life and times of 1920s England while providing a plot that is a cut above the average British cosy. This will delight readers who love country-house mysteries. (Booklist)

For fans of Dorothy L. Sayers' novels. (Library Journal)

Book Description

The fifth whodunnit in the Daisy Dalrymple murder mystery series

See all Product Description

Inside This Book

(Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

By Damaskcat HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 29 Oct. 2011
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Daisy Dalrymple's childhood friend Philip Petrie sends her an urgent telegram asking for her help. His girlfriend, Gloria Arbuckle has been kidnapped and is being held to ransom until her wealthy father can produce the large sum demanded for her release. Philip himself was also kidnapped but then dumped by the criminals and fortunately rescued by Daisy's cousin, Edgar Dalrymple.

Gloria's father does not want the police contacted so Daisy must try and solve the crime and rescue Gloria before the ransom is paid. This is a fast paced story as Philip and Daisy along with several friends try and track down where the kidnappers are holding Gloria without arousing anyone's suspicions which stretches Daisy's powers of invention to the limit.

I enjoyed this story and loved the way Daisy's cousin is portrayed as a bit of a bumbler even though it soon becomes clear her understands more than he will admit to and would quite like to be involved in whatever the young people have going on. If you have not read any of this series before then this might not be a good one to start with though the series can be read in any order. This is an enjoyable mystery set in the 1920s and will appeal to readers who enjoyed David Roberts' Lord Edward Corinth and Verity Browne series.
Comment 4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Daisy Dalrymple is a jolly heroine and the novels are a good read - I have read most of them now and enjoyed them - they entertain without straining the emotions
Comment 6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
The Honorable Philip Petrie is out driving his beloved car when it suddenly gets problems. Skilled mechanic as he is, he gets the bonnet up to see what's wrong and the next moment he is struck by love. American heiress Gloria Arbuckle stops to ask him if he needs help and from then on he spends all his free time with her and her millionaire father who is in Britain to invest in the auto industry. One day, Philip and Gloria, get kidnapped. Since the kidnappers realize they have no use for Philip they dump him on the estate of Fairacres. Fhilip is well acquainted with the estate since he best friend Gervaise was the heir to it, before he died in the WWI trenches. The present Lord Dalrymple, owner of Fairacres, finds Philip in the bushes and brings him home. Philip insists on staying which is strange to the butterfly- and moth obsessed Lord but he lets him stay and he and his wife also let 5 more young people join Philip for what Lord and Lady Dalrymple think is going to be a treasure hunt. The five that descend on Fairacres are there to help Philip find Gloria. But there search has to be done secretly. They are trusted friends of Philip's and one of course is the Honorable Daisy Dalrymple, cousin of the present Lord and sister of the dead Gervaise.
The book is exciting and funny. Like a P.G. Wodehouse with a mystery attached to it. I loved it!
Comment 2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
I have read most of the Daisy Dalrymple Fletcher books. I mainly bought them because it is so hard nowadays to find "pleasant" books that don't swear or throw filth at you.

Unfortunately, they do posses the modern day dumb down disease, thus making the plots rather superficial. Not a great deal of sleuthing going on.

I love the twenties era, but the books fail to create a twenties atmosphere. I could be reading/seeing Frost or Morse, especially with all the "police rank talk" (AC superior etc.)..

Some objects, such as the cars are descriptive of the twenties and although I am sure that human nature in the twenties was as it is now, society was different. The author fails to bring this fact across. The books are too obviously written with the pen of a modern author. Still, it is relaxed reading.

I do wonder if Mrs Daisy Fletcher was loosely based on the "Murder she wrote' Mrs. Fletcher?? She would have been young around the twenties era. I only wish Daisy's husband would be a bit more sympathetic towards her even if it kills him to be undermined by a female.
Comment 2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Graham R. Hill VINE VOICE on 18 Nov. 2010
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Ms Dunn demonstrates in this, the fifth Daisy Dalrymple novel, that she can not just knock out a well crafted, cosy mystery set in the classic inter-war period, but that she can also create a sustainably and plausibly structured framework for a continuing series. The twin requirements of short-term plot and location, and the probably more difficult blend of longer term character development within a recognisably continuous background are handled so efficiently that one almost cannot see the join. Old faces change believably to suit the author's purpose and some entertaining new ones are introduced. Admittedly these later additions are increasingly straight from the pages of PG Woodhouse (eccentric aristocrat with obsessive hobby, comedic American millionaire with attractive daughter etc), but, as always, if one is going to steal then do it from the best.

There is nothing earth shatteringly different or challenging about these books, but what they do they do very well.
Comment 2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By A Customer on 13 Oct. 1997
Format: Hardcover
In 1923 just outside London, Phillip Petrie, the son of an English Lord, stops his car on the side of the road to see what is causing a terrible knocking sound. Gloria Arbuckle, the daughter of an American industrial giant, stops to offer her assistance. The pair begins to see each other and Phillip quickly falls in love with Gloria. Phillip courts Gloria and her poppa as he plans to win them both over and marry her.
One day, while Phillip and Gloria were driving together, the car breaks down. Phillip tries to fix it, but they are set upon by some thugs. He is tied up and she is abducted. The kidnappers instruct poppa to raise a ransom without involving the police if he wants his beloved daughter back alive. Phillip turns to his childhood chum, Daisy Dalyrmple, to save the life of his beloved.
DAMSEL IN DISTRESS is a fun to read, who-done-it that ironically laughs at itself as well as high society. Daisy and the support cast (both the recurring and new characters) are all wonderful in a zany way, making this a series worth reading.
Harriet Klausner
Comment 15 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


Feedback