Damsel in Distress (A Daisy Dalrymple Mystery Book 5) and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
  • RRP: £6.99
  • You Save: £1.00 (14%)
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10.
Only 9 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Used: Good | Details
Sold by Tree Savers
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: A used book that is in good, clean condition. Your item will be picked, packed and posted FREE to you within the UK by Amazon, also eligible for super saver delivery
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Damsel in Distress (Daisy Dalrymple) Paperback – 25 Mar 2010


See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£5.99
£1.22 £0.01

Frequently Bought Together

Damsel in Distress (Daisy Dalrymple) + Dead in the Water (Daisy Dalrymple) + Murder on the Flying Scotsman (Daisy Dalrymple)
Price For All Three: £19.40

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 288 pages
  • Publisher: C & R Crime (25 Mar 2010)
  • Language: Unknown
  • ISBN-10: 1849013314
  • ISBN-13: 978-1849013314
  • Product Dimensions: 13.3 x 2 x 19.7 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (32 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 46,723 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

A dauntless Daisy and good-natured fun. (Kirkus Reviews)

Appropriate historical detail and witty dialogue are the finishing touches on this engaging 1920s period piece. (Publishers Weekly)

As always, Dunn evokes the life and times of 1920s England while providing a plot that is a cut above the average British cosy. This will delight readers who love country-house mysteries. (Booklist)

For fans of Dorothy L. Sayers' novels. (Library Journal)

Book Description

The fifth whodunnit in the Daisy Dalrymple murder mystery series

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Margaret Davies on 2 Dec 2010
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Daisy Dalrymple is a jolly heroine and the novels are a good read - I have read most of them now and enjoyed them - they entertain without straining the emotions
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on 13 Oct 1997
Format: Hardcover
In 1923 just outside London, Phillip Petrie, the son of an English Lord, stops his car on the side of the road to see what is causing a terrible knocking sound. Gloria Arbuckle, the daughter of an American industrial giant, stops to offer her assistance. The pair begins to see each other and Phillip quickly falls in love with Gloria. Phillip courts Gloria and her poppa as he plans to win them both over and marry her.
One day, while Phillip and Gloria were driving together, the car breaks down. Phillip tries to fix it, but they are set upon by some thugs. He is tied up and she is abducted. The kidnappers instruct poppa to raise a ransom without involving the police if he wants his beloved daughter back alive. Phillip turns to his childhood chum, Daisy Dalyrmple, to save the life of his beloved.
DAMSEL IN DISTRESS is a fun to read, who-done-it that ironically laughs at itself as well as high society. Daisy and the support cast (both the recurring and new characters) are all wonderful in a zany way, making this a series worth reading.
Harriet Klausner
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Damaskcat HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 29 Oct 2011
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Daisy Dalrymple's childhood friend Philip Petrie sends her an urgent telegram asking for her help. His girlfriend, Gloria Arbuckle has been kidnapped and is being held to ransom until her wealthy father can produce the large sum demanded for her release. Philip himself was also kidnapped but then dumped by the criminals and fortunately rescued by Daisy's cousin, Edgar Dalrymple.

Gloria's father does not want the police contacted so Daisy must try and solve the crime and rescue Gloria before the ransom is paid. This is a fast paced story as Philip and Daisy along with several friends try and track down where the kidnappers are holding Gloria without arousing anyone's suspicions which stretches Daisy's powers of invention to the limit.

I enjoyed this story and loved the way Daisy's cousin is portrayed as a bit of a bumbler even though it soon becomes clear her understands more than he will admit to and would quite like to be involved in whatever the young people have going on. If you have not read any of this series before then this might not be a good one to start with though the series can be read in any order. This is an enjoyable mystery set in the 1920s and will appeal to readers who enjoyed David Roberts' Lord Edward Corinth and Verity Browne series.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Luthien Arnatuile on 7 May 2011
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
The Honorable Philip Petrie is out driving his beloved car when it suddenly gets problems. Skilled mechanic as he is, he gets the bonnet up to see what's wrong and the next moment he is struck by love. American heiress Gloria Arbuckle stops to ask him if he needs help and from then on he spends all his free time with her and her millionaire father who is in Britain to invest in the auto industry. One day, Philip and Gloria, get kidnapped. Since the kidnappers realize they have no use for Philip they dump him on the estate of Fairacres. Fhilip is well acquainted with the estate since he best friend Gervaise was the heir to it, before he died in the WWI trenches. The present Lord Dalrymple, owner of Fairacres, finds Philip in the bushes and brings him home. Philip insists on staying which is strange to the butterfly- and moth obsessed Lord but he lets him stay and he and his wife also let 5 more young people join Philip for what Lord and Lady Dalrymple think is going to be a treasure hunt. The five that descend on Fairacres are there to help Philip find Gloria. But there search has to be done secretly. They are trusted friends of Philip's and one of course is the Honorable Daisy Dalrymple, cousin of the present Lord and sister of the dead Gervaise.
The book is exciting and funny. Like a P.G. Wodehouse with a mystery attached to it. I loved it!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Graham R. Hill VINE VOICE on 18 Nov 2010
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Ms Dunn demonstrates in this, the fifth Daisy Dalrymple novel, that she can not just knock out a well crafted, cosy mystery set in the classic inter-war period, but that she can also create a sustainably and plausibly structured framework for a continuing series. The twin requirements of short-term plot and location, and the probably more difficult blend of longer term character development within a recognisably continuous background are handled so efficiently that one almost cannot see the join. Old faces change believably to suit the author's purpose and some entertaining new ones are introduced. Admittedly these later additions are increasingly straight from the pages of PG Woodhouse (eccentric aristocrat with obsessive hobby, comedic American millionaire with attractive daughter etc), but, as always, if one is going to steal then do it from the best.

There is nothing earth shatteringly different or challenging about these books, but what they do they do very well.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful By Mrs. Margaret Bruce on 31 Aug 2010
Format: Paperback
While I didn't find this story quite as engrossing as the other books I have read in the Daisy Dalrymple series, it was still very enjoyable. The plot was a bit "obvious" but the characters were just as well-drawn as usual.
I like the fact that one "meets" several of the characters again and again in this series.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews



Feedback