Start reading DISHONOUR on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available
 

DISHONOUR [Kindle Edition]

Jacqui Rose
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (599 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £6.99
Kindle Price: £1.99 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £5.00 (72%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £1.99  
Paperback £5.99  
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: Up to 70% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.

Book Description

When Laila takes the chance of holding hands with her teenage crush Ray Ray on the walk home from school, she has no idea of the trouble she’s about to cause.
Perfect for fans of Martina Cole, Dishonour is a hard-hitting, gritty page-turner.

‘No matter what she did, he would always be there, right behind her. She could never escape’

Laila is sixteen years old and beautiful, kind and clever; traits liable to get her into trouble and make people dislike her …
She doesn’t make her life any easier when she falls in love with an English boy, bringing shame on her family and attracting the attention of some very dangerous men. These men are always watching her and will stop at nothing to get things done their way.

Soon there’s a terrible ‘accident’ and Laila is forced to make a deal with the devil. And pay a very heavy price for breaking the rules. Laila has been forced to marry a cruel, controlling man by the people who are supposed to love her the most. Without anyone to help her, she has to find her own way out…

Full of strong women and compelling twists, Dishonour is an addictive read perfect for fans of Jessie Keane and Martina Cole.



Product Description

Review

Praise for Jacqui Rose:

‘Gritty and gripping – by a star in the making.’ Kimberley Chambers

‘A thrilling and gripping novel.’ Roberta Kray

‘A cracking good read.’ Jessie Keane

‘A captivating read from one of my favourite emerging authors’ Mel Sherratt

About the Author

Jacqui Rose is a novelist who now lives in London, although she hails from South Yorkshire. She has always written for pleasure but the ideas in her book have come from her own experiences.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 776 KB
  • Print Length: 369 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0007503598
  • Publisher: Avon (29 Aug. 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00BOCXFM8
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (599 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #2,426 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

For Jacqui's website go to http://www.jacquirose.com/
For Jacqui's publishers www.harpercollins.co.uk
For twitter follow Jacqui- @JacPereiraUK


Jacqui Rose is a novelist who now lives in London, although she hails from Manchester and South Yorkshire. Jacqui first came to appreciate the power of the written word when as a child she charged her classmates a packet of sherbet dips to write their essays for them. Adopted at a young age and always a daydreamer, she felt isolated growing up in a small mining village in South Yorkshire and it was her writing which kept her company. Sent to boarding school as a teenager, it was there she discovered her love for acting and in particular her love of making people laugh. Before taking her exams she was expelled and after a stint in drama school she headed off to London where she was homeless for a short period of times.

Jacqui started teaching voluntarily;drama and writing workshops for prisoners, ex-offenders, the homeless and people suffering from mental health issues. She helped them to develop and create their own plays and ideas, giving them a voice which seemed so lacking within their lives but it was several years before Jacqui herself wrote again.

Jacqui's introduction back to writing was when she began to write and perform stand-up comedy and although this was very short lived it brought back the joy and freedom which writing gave to her, showing her what she'd missed out on for all the years she'd stopped writing.

The idea of her first novel, Taken was born after being in an abusive relationship - once again her writing became her salvation and her freedom.


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
57 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gripping Thriller 30 Aug. 2013
By ACB(swansea) TOP 50 REVIEWER
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
16 year old Laila Khan has befriended her 17 year old classmate, Ray-Ray Thompson. Since the death of her father, her uncle, Mahmood Khan has become head of the family. He is a strict authoritarian in upholding the honour of the family name. Ray-Ray's father is a powerful London gangster currently imprisoned. This innocent teenage relationship triggers a sequence of events that rapidly escalates into a vengeful, relentless family feud between the Khan and Thompson families with Laila and Ray-Ray caught in it.

Jacqui Rose skilfully develops several plotlines, including a psychotic kidnapper, that progress into a fast-paced novel packed with action, breathtaking chases and violent life-threatening confrontations. The plot strands are ingeniously interlinked with neat twists, surprises and coincidences that lead to a nerve-racking and unpredictable ending. The final paragraph has an unexpected ironic touch.

Jacqui Rose has written another superb exciting and exhilarating book that really is difficult to put down as the narrative changes in direction, locations and relationships rip along at such a rate that as a reader I constantly wanted to know what was on the next page. Enthralling, entertaining and enjoyable. Highly recommended.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read 31 Aug. 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I really enjoyed this book, could not put it down.
It was gritty, unpredictable and a really good story.
The best book I have read in a while, it is as good if not better than a martina Cole or similar authoress.
I won't spoil the contents of the book but if one reads the first chapter you will be hooked.
Looking forward to her next novel.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic read 1 Sept. 2013
By sarah
Format:Paperback
Fantastic book. I could not put it down . The story has you hooked as soon as you start reading . Think this is her best book yet!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dishonour 29 Aug. 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Gripping from start to finish. A brilliant book which I would highly recommend . I will look forward to the next book.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book 15 Sept. 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
It seemed to take forever for this book to be released and it was not a disappointment. I am a great fan of Jacqui Rose and can not wait for the next book.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gripping read 26 April 2014
By Sharon TOP 1000 REVIEWER
Format:Paperback
Since the death of her father Laila's life has been controlled by her uncle, the only time she gets a chance to be herself is at school where she befriends new student Raymond 'Ray Ray' Thompson, son of notorious London gangster Ray, who has moved up to Yorkshire with his mother for a fresh start after his father was jailed.

But this innocent friendship soon sets off a trigger of events that will tear them apart and life will never be the same again for either of them.

Having previously read Taken and Trapped I had high expectations for Dishonour and I wasn't disappointed as it was another drama filled story that had me hooked right from the off. I loved the diversity of the characters and how the various storylines all interlinked with one another till they reached their conclusions.

This story takes us from Bradford to Pakistan and London as we follow the lives of Laila, Ray Ray and their families. I was routing for Laila to shake off the ties of her family and make a new independent life for herself, and was definitely silent cheering as certain characters got their comeuppance although the ending was certainly left open with one character so it will be interesting to see if he makes a re-appearance in future books.

As it's taken me so long to read this book, her new book Betrayed has already been published so I've now added it to my wishlist to read, preferably before her next book Avenged is published in August.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant 11 May 2014
By SaR2011
Format:Kindle Edition
This is the first book of Jacqui Rose that I've read. I'm now a big fan of hers, she's a brilliant author, I loved the story line and the twists and turns kept me gripped throughout the whole book :)
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dishonour 13 Sept. 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Very good read, another one that's hard to put down, got to keep turning the pages. Can't wait for the next one.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category