Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.2 out of 5 stars11
3.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
5
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£10.26+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 July 2015
Dinosaurs meet Ken's literal reading of the Bible, the results are not good.... the very title of this even has a spelling mistake.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2012
This book is quite literally incredible.

It is jam-packed full of of amazing dino facts.
Below are just some of the things I have learnt from this book...

There are actually seven ages of dinosaurs... and despite what the non-Christian Mr. Spielberg thinks, none of them are Jurassic.

Ken Ham's favourite dinosaur is Tyrannosaurus Rex. This is because he likes T Rex's 9 inch long, razor sharp herbivorous teeth. (The front cover of the book has an awesome picture of Rex as he stalks through a thunderstorm with a clump of veg in his mouth.)

Ken Ham does not know exactly when dinosaurs started eating each other but when they did, some of them would have been quite frightening to the people around at the time.

Birds and pterosaurs were created on day 5; (This is because on this day God made all birds, (whether flightless or not, and all flying things that aren't birds. So beetles, moths, bats and some ants. (Not sure about flying squirrels though.)) Whilst dinosaurs were created on day 6 along with all the other land animals. (These would be all mammals, (except bats obviously) and everything else that is land based. ie. lizards, fleas, spiders, tapeworm and some ants.

There was plenty of room on the Ark for the dinosaurs to fit as not all dinosaurs were great big monsters. (This may sound counter-intuitive at first however if you remember that the Bible is the Word of God it all makes sense. (I assume the two tapeworm came in with the two dogs.))

Finally a quote from the amazing Mr. Ham...
"When you understand the Bible, you will understand more about dinosaurs. The Bible helps us to answer questions about dinosaurs and about the world around us today." - So there you are kids. If you want to learn about dinosaurs, read the bible!
88 comments|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2012
Just in case any one has stumbled upon this book thinking that it might be a suitable book for a child fascinated by dinosaurs - it is not.

Ken Ham is an Australian creationist who works in America aggressively promoting a fundamentalist Christian, anti-science agenda. This book aims to reconcile what we know about dinosaurs and the natural world with the literal view that the world was created in seven days, six thousand years ago. It would be a terrible shame if your curious and inquisitive child had their knowledge and love for dinosaurs dealt the brutal hammer blow that this book is sure to deliver.

I urge you to read the other reviews on here (especially the five star one) and make use of Amazon's "Look Inside" before you decide to buy this book. I can only hope that children who are exposed to such drivel will be able to see it for what it is and get a little enjoyment from mocking it, sadly it will probably be given the sort of respect I would normally encourage for books.
44 comments|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
Now there was a day when the sons of God came to present themselves before the Lord and Satan came also among them. And the Lord said unto Satan, Whence comest thou? Then Satan answered the Lord and said, From going to and fro in the earth, and from walking up and down in it.

And the Lord said unto Satan, Hast thou considered my servant Ken Ham, that there is none like him in the earth, a perfect and an upright numbskull, one that feareth science and escheweth reason?

Then Satan answered the Lord and said: Doth Aussie Ken fear science for nought? Hast not thou made a hedge about his brain, and about his House of Horrors that he calls a Museum of Creation, and about all that he hath on every side? Thou hast blessed the sewage of his mouth, and his kookery is increased in the land. But put forth thine hand now, and touch all that he hath, and he will write another pot-boiler like Dinosaurs of Eden and it will curse thee to thy face.

And the Lord said unto Satan: yeah, bugger it: I'm sick of his offal too. Behold, all that he hath is in thy power; only upon himself put not forth thine hand - that means no red spots on the undercarriage.

So Satan went forth from the presence of the Lord and smote Aussie Ken and for a few moments he realised that truth can be conveyed by metaphor, myth, poetry, parable and epic but then he slipped back into errancy and pooped out Dinosaurs for Kids where he revelled in a 6000 year old Earth and how the mark on Cain's forehead was inflicted by a velociraptor.

So it goes.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
For a book like this to be listed as educational is just insulting to anyone that has a clue about science.

If you're looking to indoctrinate your kids into a falsified belief set with invented facts and made up stories, try this book. If you have an ounce of common sense, avoid this and anything written by this man at all costs (unless you want a good laugh, then by all means go ahead and buy it)
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2015
WOW! What an amazing piece of educational literature. Previously I had believed all I was told about science because I thought they probably had no alterior motive and were presenting evidence to support their claims to the best of their knowledge and findings. However, now that I've seen Mr Ham's wonderful technique of using the evidence that fits your preconceptions and refuting the rest off hand, I have found the bible much easier to use. You simply select the bits you like and repeat them as fact whilst ignoring the contradictory passages. It really is genius and I now plan to teach my children whatever I want them to believe and use the writings of anyone who agrees with me as my evidence, brilliant!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2014
Brilliant book bought for my son and 2 nephews. Love the fact it shares the truth rather than evolutionary theories! Best of all they love it. Delivery was fast and everything was well packed. Highly recommend.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2010
Written for kids, Ken Ham will help them discover the truth about dinosaurs from the ultimate history book, the Bible. Facts only. He takes kids through the seven stages of dinosaurs, offering interesting facts and great color illustrations along the way. Kids will learn about when dinosaurs were created, what happened to them, how we came to learn about dinosaurs, and how most of what people today believe about dinosaurs is fiction. The book is filled with little sections called Four Fast Facts that give some quick bullet information on the page's topic. I highly recommend this book for kids who love dinosaurs. It's awesome!
22 comments|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2011
This is a unrealistic view of dinosaurs and evolution. How can a book about millions of years of evolution be written by a culture that thinks the earth is only 6,000 years old? it is complete nonsense and a poor attempt of religion trying to explain the existence of dinosaurs and evolution.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
A fun book featuring most children's favourite creatures, and invaluable tool for Christian parents wishing to teach their children about creation.
22 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.