£7.12
  • RRP: £9.99
  • You Save: £2.87 (29%)
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10.
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

DFC Library: Vern & Lettuce Hardcover – 30 Sep 2010


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£7.12
£3.72 £0.01

Children's Gift Guide


Special Offers and Product Promotions


Frequently Bought Together

DFC Library: Vern & Lettuce + DFC Library: Fish-Head Steve
Price For Both: £13.11

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Hardcover: 48 pages
  • Publisher: David Fickling Books (30 Sep 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0385619073
  • ISBN-13: 978-0385619073
  • Product Dimensions: 21.8 x 1 x 30.5 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 884,603 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Besides her flamboyant hats and pointy spectacles, readers know Sarah McIntyre for her lively adventure stories and action-packed illustrations. She writes and illustrates picture books and comics and most recently has teamed up with Carnegie-winning writer Philip Reeve to produce illustrated longer stories, including 'Oliver and the Seawigs' and 'Cakes in Space'.

Her books have won awards including the Leeds Graphic Novel Award, the Sheffield Children's Book Award (in the 'Overall' category) and the Bishop's Stortford Picture Book Award. Find out more about her and about the business of children's books and peek at her sketchbooks over on her website and blog, which she frequently updates: www.jabberworks.co.uk

Product Description

Review

"It's all very charming without ever going anywhere near twee" (Philip Reeve The Solitary Bee)

"A great introduction to comics for young readers. The style is clear and easy to follow for those not used to comic format, and the humorous stories will entertain the young readers and have them hooked" (Library Mice)

"Unlike some books in this genre, the appeal of this book is not purely aesthetic as Sarah McIntyre also possesses a great deal of skill with words; her chuckle-inducing writing fits the images perfectly and makes this a book that will put a smile on the face of all its readers, from young children to grumpy old men and women" (Book Zone for Boys)

"Enough twists and turns to keep adults interested. Writer/artist Sarah McIntyre has created a witty and delightful series-the stories engaging and cute without being saccharine and the artwork clear and appealing-that's guaranteed to bring a smile to your face" (Bear Alley)

"This simple and delightful story of best friends Vern the sheep and Lettuce the rabbit is perhaps the DFC title that will most inspire readers to get drawing. Sarah McIntyre's style is easy for readers to copy and the story is simply told, with a balance of heart-warming moments and well-timed gags" (Armadillo Magazine)

Book Description

Bright! Colourful! Slapstick! Pun-tastic!

The DFC Library is perfect for reluctant readers. If you know a child that struggles to engage with ordinary fiction, place a DFC Library title in their hands, and watch as they learn to love books. This growing collection, full of hilarious plots, will appeal to anyone aged 9-90 - so feast your eyes on The DFC Library!


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
2
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 3 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By P. Bastow on 27 Dec 2010
Format: Hardcover
OK, so I have start this review by stating my two boys and I are big Sarah Sarah McIntyre and Vern & Lettuce fans. It was instant success in The DFC (a brillant comic for children but now sadly defunct) and my boys (7 and 9 at the time) instantly liked the cheeky humour and the great artwork. Sarah is an amazing artist and you can view her talents in other childrens books but this was her first stab at writing a comic. Keep an eye on Sarah as we're sure she's going to be a famous children's book illustrator for many years to come.

Of all The DFC books this one is aimed more towards younger children however older children will also like it. Its actually really nice to have all the Vern & Lettuce stories in one place. This would make a great Christmas or Birthday present.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Hardcover
When I saw the cover, I thought this would be a cute read. I love bunnies and collect items with bunnies on. Lettuce the bunny has such an entertaining time Vern. They get into so much trouble, sometimes on their own and sometimes because of Lettuce's brothers and sisters. Vern is a generous sheep, sometimes too generous - he gives up his warm, natural coat to create presents for Lettuce's family. He then cold, leaving Lettuce and her family to come up with a solution.

One of the great things about this book is how there is a story to each page (sometimes it continues onto the next page). This makes it a perfect read if readers have a short attention span or are pressed for time. Just one page will have the reader laughing away. (From what I can gather, each strip featured in The DFC weekly). Reoccurring characters include moles, polar bears, a squirrel, pigeons. Some of those are gangsters. Some are rebels. All are funny.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Michael 'De Smurführer' Thomsen on 18 Aug 2011
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I'm a grown up male graphic novel fan with no kids whatsoever.... and this short funny book certainly managed to keep my interest. The cute art is to die for, and the humor has enough quirkiness to sustain an older readers interest... I'll certainly consider future Sarah McIntyre books, even if I'm not quite her target age group. Her career is just starting, and she'll be HUGE one day.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 1 review
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Funny book for older readers too. 18 Aug 2011
By Michael 'De Smurführer' Thomsen - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover
OK, so the target age group for this book is 4-10 year olds, but I'm a grown up male graphic novel fan with no kids whatsoever.... and this short funny book certainly managed to keep my interest. The cute art is to die for, and the humor has enough quirkiness to sustain an older readers interest. It's got nice use of some authentic London locations and characters with a British flavour. Fans of "Wallace & Gromit" should be pleased. I'll certainly consider future Sarah McIntyre books, even if I'm not quite her target age group . Her career is just starting, and she'll be HUGE one day.
Was this review helpful? Let us know


Feedback