or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Tell the Publisher!
I’d like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

DFC Library: Vern & Lettuce [Hardcover]

Sarah McIntyre
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
Price: £9.99 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Tuesday, 22 April? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover £9.99  
Paperback £5.59  
Amazon.co.uk Trade-In Store
Did you know you can use your mobile to trade in your unwanted books for an Amazon.co.uk Gift Card to spend on the things you want? Visit the Books Trade-In Store for more details or check out the Trade-In Amazon Mobile App Guidelines on how to trade in using a smartphone. Learn more.

Book Description

30 Sep 2010 DFC Library

Welcome to Pickle Rye, home of best friends Lettuce the rabbit and Vern the sheep. Join them for baking, birthdays, bunny-sitting and a quest for fame in the big city!

Vern and Lettuce reach for the stars, but danger is lurking just beneath their feet...

Furry escapades from the DFC Library.


Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Amazon Family members enjoy 20% off every delivery of nappies. Join today to get your discount, as well as a free trial of Amazon Prime and access to exclusive offers and discounts.


Frequently Bought Together

DFC Library: Vern & Lettuce + DFC Library: Super Animal Adventure Squad + DFC Library: Good Dog, Bad Dog
Price For All Three: £29.97

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Hardcover: 48 pages
  • Publisher: David Fickling Books (30 Sep 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0385619073
  • ISBN-13: 978-0385619073
  • Product Dimensions: 21.8 x 30.4 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 582,302 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Writer and illustrator Sarah McIntyre burst out of Camberwell College of the Arts in the summer of 2007. She tried to run away to sea, but instead found herself toiling for long hours over a work desk to create marvellous little books and pictures. Her dream job would put her on a masted ship, climbing the rigging and keeping a fastidious illustrated log of the weird and wonderful plants and animals she encounters on her voyages. In the meantime, she happily roves along London's river bank on her bicycle and pokes around in the mud for shiny objects at low tide.

Her picture book work includes illustrating 'Morris the Mankiest Monster' by Giles Andreae, 'You Can't Eat a Princess!' by Gillian Rogerson and 'When Titus Took the Train' by Anne Cottringer. She now has a few book deals up her sleeve to illustrate books she's written herself. She tries to post a drawing or review an event on her blog every day: www.jabberworks.co.uk

Product Description

Review

"It's all very charming without ever going anywhere near twee" (Philip Reeve The Solitary Bee)

"A great introduction to comics for young readers. The style is clear and easy to follow for those not used to comic format, and the humorous stories will entertain the young readers and have them hooked" (Library Mice)

"Unlike some books in this genre, the appeal of this book is not purely aesthetic as Sarah McIntyre also possesses a great deal of skill with words; her chuckle-inducing writing fits the images perfectly and makes this a book that will put a smile on the face of all its readers, from young children to grumpy old men and women" (Book Zone for Boys)

"Enough twists and turns to keep adults interested. Writer/artist Sarah McIntyre has created a witty and delightful series-the stories engaging and cute without being saccharine and the artwork clear and appealing-that's guaranteed to bring a smile to your face" (Bear Alley)

"This simple and delightful story of best friends Vern the sheep and Lettuce the rabbit is perhaps the DFC title that will most inspire readers to get drawing. Sarah McIntyre's style is easy for readers to copy and the story is simply told, with a balance of heart-warming moments and well-timed gags" (Armadillo Magazine)

Book Description

Bright! Colourful! Slapstick! Pun-tastic!

The DFC Library is perfect for reluctant readers. If you know a child that struggles to engage with ordinary fiction, place a DFC Library title in their hands, and watch as they learn to love books. This growing collection, full of hilarious plots, will appeal to anyone aged 9-90 - so feast your eyes on The DFC Library!


Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction comic book for 6+ children 27 Dec 2010
Format:Hardcover
OK, so I have start this review by stating my two boys and I are big Sarah Sarah McIntyre and Vern & Lettuce fans. It was instant success in The DFC (a brillant comic for children but now sadly defunct) and my boys (7 and 9 at the time) instantly liked the cheeky humour and the great artwork. Sarah is an amazing artist and you can view her talents in other childrens books but this was her first stab at writing a comic. Keep an eye on Sarah as we're sure she's going to be a famous children's book illustrator for many years to come.

Of all The DFC books this one is aimed more towards younger children however older children will also like it. Its actually really nice to have all the Vern & Lettuce stories in one place. This would make a great Christmas or Birthday present.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
By Jessica
Format:Hardcover
When I saw the cover, I thought this would be a cute read. I love bunnies and collect items with bunnies on. Lettuce the bunny has such an entertaining time Vern. They get into so much trouble, sometimes on their own and sometimes because of Lettuce's brothers and sisters. Vern is a generous sheep, sometimes too generous - he gives up his warm, natural coat to create presents for Lettuce's family. He then cold, leaving Lettuce and her family to come up with a solution.

One of the great things about this book is how there is a story to each page (sometimes it continues onto the next page). This makes it a perfect read if readers have a short attention span or are pressed for time. Just one page will have the reader laughing away. (From what I can gather, each strip featured in The DFC weekly). Reoccurring characters include moles, polar bears, a squirrel, pigeons. Some of those are gangsters. Some are rebels. All are funny.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny for older readers too 18 Aug 2011
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
I'm a grown up male graphic novel fan with no kids whatsoever.... and this short funny book certainly managed to keep my interest. The cute art is to die for, and the humor has enough quirkiness to sustain an older readers interest... I'll certainly consider future Sarah McIntyre books, even if I'm not quite her target age group. Her career is just starting, and she'll be HUGE one day.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.0 out of 5 stars  1 review
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny book for older readers too. 18 Aug 2011
By Michael 'De Smurführer' Thomsen - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
OK, so the target age group for this book is 4-10 year olds, but I'm a grown up male graphic novel fan with no kids whatsoever.... and this short funny book certainly managed to keep my interest. The cute art is to die for, and the humor has enough quirkiness to sustain an older readers interest. It's got nice use of some authentic London locations and characters with a British flavour. Fans of "Wallace & Gromit" should be pleased. I'll certainly consider future Sarah McIntyre books, even if I'm not quite her target age group . Her career is just starting, and she'll be HUGE one day.
Was this review helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews
ARRAY(0xb2804078)

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
Very excited about this book! 0 24 Feb 2010
See all discussions...  
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback