Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars13
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 DownloadChange
Price:£7.99

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 January 2008
It's always a fun time when the Gorillaz release a new CD, mostly because you can be sure of at least 1 or 2 fantastic songs. D-Sides isn't a core release for the band, it consists only of B-sides, rare tracks (both on cd1) and remixes (cd2), BUT that doesn't mean you should ignore this album.

I'll start with CD2. It isn't great to be honest, none of the remixes are as good as the original tracks and the CD as a whole is likely to be left in the case once you've played it a couple of times.

However, CD1 is brilliant. The highlight is the very last track, Stop the Dams, which reminds me a lot of Blur in their latter days. Some tracks are painful to listen to (Murdoch is God) but on the whole, this is a great purchase if you have other Gorillaz CD's.

If you're not a fan of the band then you won't find anything here that will convert you to the cause but I think Stop the Dams has a more universal appeal which might well be worth a digital one-song purchase.
11 comment21 of 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2008
I had a gamble with this CD and it turned out to be amazing! The remix CD is really good and if you can get this for a few quid on amazon I would highly recommend it. There are some brilliant hidden tracks and remixes! Buy it!!
0Comment14 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2008
If you are a Gorillaz fan, this is a must buy. I reccomend the Deluxe Edition as it is far better than the average cd case and comes with badges, patch and exclusive artwork! Also it is a lot cheaper than on the high-street - HMV are selling this for 50 pounds!
0Comment10 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2008
I love this album, and it has some fantastic songs that you'll listen to over and over again. As it is with all Gorillaz albums. However i might say that the Amazon reviewers kind of messed up with the name of the songs, i think that they really should have put in the Full Remix names on the 2nd disc. So Here they are.

Dare (DFA Remix)
Feel Good Inc (Stanton Warriors Remix)
Kids With Guns (Jamie T's Turns To Monsters Mix)
Dare (Soulwax Remix)
Kids With Guns (Hot Chip Remix)
El Manana (Metronomy Remix)
Dare (Junior Sanchez Remix)
Dirty Harry (Schtung Chinese New Year Remix)
Kids With Guns (Quiet Village Remix)

... THIS IS A BRILLIANT ALBUM!!!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2009
Absolutely fantastic songs and the album still has the modern feel from Demon Days. It's a 2-CD compilation and I can count the tracks I deem to be bad on one hand, they're all classic Gorillaz songs in the making. The remixes by bands such as Hot Chip are up to par as well, in fact their remix of Kids With Guns is one of the best songs on the CD.

If you like Gorillaz, you will love this.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
if you haven't bought or heard this album, being a fan of gorillaz, or a different kinds of music, you have missed out on an extravagant piece of art.as a gorillaz fan myself, i bought the album to find out if it was any good, and it became one of my favourite albums of all time (which i decide amongst many others). i was amazed and found myself listening to the album for hours again and again. i can only recommend purchasing this if you like to explore music... no, i will recommend this to whoever appreciates music
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2009
This is a really great album for Gorillaz fans and it comes with: Art Prints x2, art book, badges x4, and a sew-on badge and there is a remix disc free. and it obviously comes with the cd. its a great and different album. Recommended!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Gorillaz fans its a must, if you want a slice of the Manga spiret in music then this is Ace of spades all the way, it has the feeling of a stuido setions and it just realy great fan in their music and songs that damon Albarn and friends pull of amazingly well, revieving the past 70's music to a new fresh funk bet of a modern kind, and followed by the artist Jamie Hewlet in his depiction of his characters is a splended thing to see. For B sides these chaps are living on sea sides, after the Demon days that made them. (Well Done). xbdx
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2013
NOT ALL OF THE TRACKS WERE AS ENJOYABLE AS ANTICIPATED BUT VERY INTERESTING
CAME IN TIME AND CD WAS NOT DAMAGED
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2015
quick delivery, item as described, thanks, recommend seller 100%
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.