Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars12
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 25 March 2008
This is a painstaking documentary about the frighteningly central role of oil in our lives. Made by two Swiss directors, one (Gelpke) with a background in anthropology, economics, war reporting, and science films, and the other (McCormack) who holds an honors degree in Environmental Policy and Management.
These two men make a documentary that manages to look at both sides of our oil needs and industry while not knocking our addictive behavior towards gasoline.

The film relies on interviews with notable academics, experts and advisors from across the political, corporate and economic spectrum. It has seems like there's no discernible political axe to grind - which makes it all the harder to ignore it's hard to ignore.

The focus of this all is our crude oil dependency, the manner in which access to oil is driving U.S foreign policy, the ubiquitous nature of oil in modern society, the lack of efficient alternatives to petroleum, and the concept of Peak Oil: that once world oil output reaches its maximum peak, recovery will plateau and then begin a permanent decline. Once this decline commences, all hell will break loose with the world economy. Depending on the experts, this decline could already be under way or it could be 20 years away, but it is generally accepted that it is on the horizon.

If you liked "An Inconvenient Truth", you'll be enthralled by this film.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2012
Another eye opening documentary examining the theory that we have reached or even gone past the peak of oil production. Considering the reliance that our society has on oil, the lack of any real replacement for oil, our ever expanding population and ever expanding desire for oil dependent products, it makes you wonder what state the world will be in in 50 years or so. When oil does start to run dry, and that is a certainty (though of course we don't know when it will happen), it is likely that society will have to make fundamental changes. Travel will have to be significantly reduced, the population is unlikely to be sustainable and it is highly likely that there will be some sort of unrest.

The real problem is that the greedy (George Bush et al) have not planned or invested in the future and have grown rich on plundering oil stocks knowing there is nothing to replace it. There is no suitable replacement for oil and, although it's possible that a fully working hydrogen cell will be developed in the near future, it appears unlikely to happen before oil runs dry.

As I said, thought provoking. But will George and his good buddies watch it?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
Everyone should watch this DVD to understand how our daily life is entirely dependent on oil.
We have now let the opportunity to take adaptive measures against the effects of peak oil pass us by. Now the results are all around us. Some are spending a large part of their income on transport. Food prices are rising as more of the corn crop is used for biofuel. And the West is in the midst of a recession, with all the governments efforts at promoting more growth just not working.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2008
thus it starts and you know immediately you're not in for a documentary but an opinion piece that damages its underlying message that oil is running out and things are going to get really bad. I happen to believe exactly what they are saying but I want the presentation of all relevant facts and not this patchwork stitched up to produce a particular picture.
This film consists of the speech taken from a number of interviews with oil experts, spliced together and shown with a large amount of entirely needless stock footage of cars buzzing around, robots doing things, etc. There are intercuts with those actually being interviewed. Ironically, all the interviews used are provided as extras in the DVD so you can skip the main film and get it from the horse's mouth. I recommend you do exactly this because you get more information more usefully presented and -- why I consider this not to be documentary -- you get it unfiltered. In the main film you are shown selected extracts from an interview with former OPEC Secretary-General Fadhil Chalabi, and those extracts suggest he has a rather different view of the matter then he actually does, as you realise when you watch the full and unedited interview. He really doesn't believe we are short of oil, and it was dishonest of the filmmakers not to make this clear.
Curiously there is almost no mention of environmental impact, and it really doesn't tell you very much that couldn't be presented better, and quicker.
It's not very good, and it's certainly no Inconvenient Truth. Considering the mess we're in, that's a huge failing.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2009
This thought provoking review of the history and current status of the oil industry and the dependency of 'developed' nations upon it is a must for anyone who is concerned about the future of human and other life on earth. It explains what is meant by the 'Oil Peak' and its implications.
It is a perfect complement to films such as 'The Age of Stupid', 'An Inconvenient Truth' and others pointing out the way that the squandering of cheap fossil fuel has contributed to unsustainable population rise, loss of biodiversity and progress towards irreversible climate change.
Presentation is hard hitting but not sensational and given by people with a lifetime's experience of the industry.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2016
A worrying look into a world without oil in the future
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2009
A film everybody should watch we are running out of OIL and it is non renewable I repeat when it is GONE it is GONE their is nothing to replace it with. So lets stop wasting it so don't press so hard on the gas pedal, recycle all plastic turn your heating down just a few things to start with but if we ALL do it maybe later generations can still benefit from this black gold we call OIL.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2014
First I have NOT seen the movie. I drive a Leaf all electric vehicle, and the faster oil runs out the fast the world will stop burning fossil fuels polluting our world.

As of today Oil is Crashing, current overproduction has brought prices back down, and hopefully everyone will buy Nissan Leafs and gas prices will be so cheap it does not even pay to pump it out of the ground, but as price drops fools buy more gas vehicles.

Same game, will one day end, will we be smart and stop burning it or keep getting ripped of by the oil companies.

By the way my $300 a month gas bill has become a $30 a month electric bill. Really like my Nissan Leaf.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2009
This film has a real "Death-By-Viewfoil" feel about it. There doesn't appear to be a narrative that tells a coherent story, so it feels quite superficial and disjointed. For me, there are a few interesting tit-bits such as the Russian contributions, but I don't feel that this film manages to hold the viewer's attention anything like as well as "End of Suburbia" does. I suspect they got lots of commentators on board to emphasise there being widespread concern, but I feel as though it's a distraction that hampers what little flow there is in the film from Matt Savinar. In fact it really drags on.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)