Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 January 2011
the bilingual concept is great but you can't always fit both languages on screen at once if the paragraphs are long. plus the English is not always very English! but this book is useful and I will buy more in the series.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2013
I thought this would help me to revise. It's downloaded onto a kindle so it's easy to access.
However, the stories are of medievil times and so the language is the same, therefore I found that I was looking in the dictionary more than I was reading. I also felt that for learning, I need to keep with more modern stuff. I mean, I am never going to talk about moats and castles on holiday am I? Well, maybe the castles but certainly not the moats and all the medievil stuff that goes with them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
The language contained in this story was fairly irrelevant to everyday Spanish eg flanqueado (flanked)
un foso (moat) el fraile (the friar) colonos (tennant farmers). etc as befits an old-fashioned story. I would not recommend it to a friend. I prefer something more up to date.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
Totally useless for anyone learning in either direction. I gave it one star because it saved me copying and pasting into a translation program, though I would only ever do that as a last resort anyway so consider me kind!
A bilingual edition should be the work of a professional translator and carry footnotes explaining the less common locutions.
Disclaimer: I speak as a professional translator myself (just not in Spanish).
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2012
This is a translation of an old fable. As such the Spanish language used and the sentence structure are far from contempory.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2013
You need more than holiday spanish to read this book, but because it is dual language, you can easily learn the words you are unsure of. It teaches you how the spanish really speak, grammatically. I would recommend this book as a language learning aid
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
Would recommend it for kindle for times when you have that short 5 mins waiting on travel or someone arriving. Still to complete but looking forward to continuing
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2016
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2014
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)