Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars13
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 December 2002
This book is full of amazing photographs and is worth buying just as a visual inspiration. The basic technique used is to apply raw-edge patches of fabric to cover up a foundation square, then zig-zag with invisible thread around the edges of each patch to secure it. The resulting raw-edge seams are then covered up with everything from machine embroidery stitches, and hand embroidery, rick rack through to ribbon. I liked the wide variety of styles, from the traditional velvet/silk crazy patchwork right through to crazy patchwork of gingham, or lace scraps, or provencal fabrics. Some of the colourful compositions are decorated with ribbon and beadwork for a result reminiscent of Kaffe Fassett's work. A technique of applying cut-out motifs (like broderie perse)to some patches mimics the Victorians who embroidered elaborate motifs on their patches. A variety of items are shown as suggestions for using your crazy patchwork which go beyond the traditional cushion or comforter. A good modern look at this old technique.
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2002
This is a great book for anybody with an interest in crazy patchwork. The excellent close up colour photos are very inspiring. There is a wide variety of projects covering many different styles and colour combinations from the traditional rich velvets to red gingham and a beautiful white lace cot quilt. Suitable for beginners or experienced sewers.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2000
This book is an inspiration, one for colour--her sense of colour is simply exquisite.Next, for treasuring so many types of previously worthless scraps that now make an heirloom. The techniques are beautifully explained and photographed.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2002
Filled with inspiring examples of crazy patchwork based on three different themes i.e. country, romantic & antique this book is great for browsing through and using as a source of ideas. The instructions are clearly laid out in writing, drawings and photographs. I felt much better about my obsession with fabric scraps and bundles I have collected for a long time! Written in uncluttered language, I have kept this book close by when deciding which stitches to use so that I can use familiar embroidery stitches and experiment with new ones. Good advice too on the selection of textures, fabrics and colours. Well worth the price.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2013
Bought this book for a friend and she loved it. There are loads of ideas to use and we will be doing some of the lovely things in this book
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2011
Thank you for a book in excellent condition and for a prompt service. Would definitely buy from this seller again. M.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2014
Have been borrowing book from library for years tis lovely to have a copy of my own to inspire me. A great book colourful pictures and clear instructions. Have also bought copy for my friend who also loves the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2014
Well described. Loads of projects.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2016
Great book, lovely photos, cant wait to get started!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2014
lovely book a troublefree buying experience
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)