£8.00 + £1.26 shipping
In stock. Sold by Vocalion/Dutton Epoch Direct (Crazygreen8)
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by zoverstocks
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Buy with confidence from a huge UK seller with over 3 million feedback ratings, all items despatched next day directly from the UK. All items are quality guaranteed.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Complete Recorder Works, The/Alpine Suite
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available

Complete Recorder Works, The/Alpine Suite

Price: £8.00
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Vocalion/Dutton Epoch Direct (Crazygreen8).
2 new from £8.00 4 used from £6.99

Product details

  • Composer: Benjamin Britten, Edmund Rubbra, Guillaume de Machaut, Josquin Desprez, Juan Vasquez
  • Audio CD (1 Nov. 2004)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Epoch British Music
  • ASIN: B0006840LQ
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 290,812 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Coeurs Desoles - Josquin Desprez
2. Meditazioni sopra 'Coeurs Desoles' Op. 67 - Edmund Rubbra
3. Air & Variations for Pipes Op. 70 - Edmund Rubbra
4. Passacaglia sopra 'Plusieurs Regrets' Op. 113 - Edmund Rubbra
5. Notturno Op. 106 - Edmund Rubbra
6. 1st movement: Allegretto comodo
7. 2nd movement: Adagio mesto
8. 3rd movement: Variations on 'En la fuente del rosel'
9. En la fuente del rosel - Juan Vasquez
10. Air (Andante)
11. Musette (Allegretto moderato)
12. Gossamer (Allegro)
13. Valse
14. Bells (Allegretto)
15. Dance (Gay)
16. Fantasia on a Chord Op. 154 - Edmund Rubbra
17. Arrival at Zermatt
18. Swiss Clock (Romance)
19. Nursery Slopes
20. Alpine Scene
See all 31 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Ms E M Sole on 31 Aug. 2010
What a lovely surprise to find a CD with ALL the Recorder music of Britten AND Rubbra! Useful too, are the original works on which some of the Rubbra pieces are based. Also to include some original photography of Carl Dolmetsch, Rubbra and the hilarious picture of Imogen Holst conducting the Recorder Ensemble in Britten's Alpine Suite. Congratulations to The Flautadors. Long may they last in producing CDs of this nature. Thank you and well done!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 2 reviews
Great recording 12 April 2014
By Marina Marais - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
Lovely recording! This is the only recording of the Rubbra sonata for recorder and viola da gamba, and it's great luck that it was made by such fine performers.
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Magnificent 10 Sept. 2010
By Bradley Metzner - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
My God, this is a beautiful disc. Rubra's Fantasia on a Theme of Machaut is even more exquisite than his more famous Meditazioni on Josquin's Coeur Desole.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions