Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars19
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 December 2009
I bought this book in preparation for a furniture making course and by the time I got to page twelve I had learnt at least three new things about wood, tools and about working wood. You will also find really useful advice to do with jig making - brilliant circular saw jig for cutting large sheets - and ways of jointing and thicknessing wood to overcome cupping and twisting of timber. One of the BEST things Andy says in this book is "There is really no right or wrong way of making furniture...." - in the sense that you can take all the advice available but you really need to build some and learn from it. A really well written, practical and accessible text for everyone interested in furniture making and best of all: written by a down to earth guy! I will use it for years to come *****
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2002
An excellent all round book with superb illustrations, tips and ideas for simple time saving jigs. Covering all aspects from design and wood selection to construction and finishing, this book is an essential addition to any shop.
0Comment|69 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2011
This book has some really good reference material and is clearly set out. It works well in conjunction with other books of similar subject. It has got really good projects that gets you itching to go to the workshop. The techniques and tips are timelessly useful and offer support for the talented woodworker. This book was a gift for my husband who may now be doing me a few jobs! Warning may cause coveting of much of the specialist equipment in it, as it does not come with the tools and the timber, workshop envy may occur.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2007
Even after five years, this still remains one of the best foundation books for anyone interested in cabinetmaking.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2010
The book reuses images over and over and doesn't add all that much new on the plate. It goes over a series of tools and ways of joining wood. Having read "The Complete Illustrated Guide to Joinery" (ISBN-13: 978-1561584017) it doesn't tell that much new.

I was disappointed over the contents.

I would recommend Collins Complete Woodworker's Manual any-time over this book.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2010
It is a good book for beginners but some basic knowledge of woodwork helps. It tells you what tools you'd need and how to use them in making furniture and cabinets. It is fairly easy to understand straight away with good pictures and diagrams.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
I'd strongly recommend this book. Very informative indeed. To begin with it seemed like it was trying to cover too much, but in fact it has a lot of worth while tips and tricks, rules of thumb, alternate methods and approaches, pros and cons of machine methods vs hand tool methods, and much more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
Great book, useful tool to have around the house. I would have given it 5 stars. However, having to convert the imperial into metric for some of the size guides can be a little annoying.

But don't let that put you off. I will be purchasing the joinery book too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2012
I am highly impressed with this book. It's content is aimed at a slightly higher level than beginner but there after would be a good reference for any level of woodworker. I intend to keep it in my shop and know that, along with other books I will refer to it regularly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
Really nice book, huge and full of information. Thank you for your help when i needed it, amazon worked very hard to insure i got what i paid for, very impressed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)