Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars22
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
22
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 September 2009
The Compleat Angler hosted by Palmer and Borras is a joy to watch and I recommend it to anyone who wants to spend a few hours in the company of two chaps who so obviously enjoy their task of bringing Walton to life. Each episode is related to the famous book and makes it relevant to the modern day. I think any member of the fishing fraternity would love to share a day or two on the bank in the company of Messrs Palmer and Borras and this collection gets as close to that as possible. Before watching this series, I'd not even contemplated reading the book (sadly misguided into thinking that it would be irrelevant), but I'm pleased to say that I've now ordered it from our friends at Amazon. I don't think you need a better endorsement than that for a TV series. So thankyou Geoffrey and Rae. You have one more Walton convert.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2011
I bought this for my fishing-mad husband's 60th birthday and we have both enjoyed watching Geoffrey Palmer and Rae Borras in some lovely places. Their gentle banter reminded us of another DVD 'A Passion for Angling' and is a lovely way to pass a few hours on a rainy day!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2012
Very interesting DVD, excellent protrail of Izaak Newtons work. Ordered 2 days ago and has already arrived. Very impressed and certainly order from this seller again.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2013
Wonderful, utterly enjoyable, no hysterical laughter, no requirement to produce a net full of fish or 'big' carp. The fishing is enhanced by the sheer good manors and friendly innocent banter of Geoffrey and Rae......................highly recommended especially if you have a passion for the country side and the real pleasure of course fishing.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2012
I ordered this title on spec and it was delivered the following day.

I am new to fishing and this title was absolutely brilliant! The gentle banter between Geoffrey Palmer and Rae Borras was a delight and made you feel that you were there on the bank with them.

It is based on the book by Isaac Walton and it gave a richly and insightful view of not only the fishing of the day, but a snapshot of life in the 17th Century.

It was never intended to be instructional, but it did give you a feel for the huge array of fish and fishing types that are out there and served as an excellent introduction to all types of angling.
My wife, who has only a cursory interest in fishing, was equally enthralled and often urged me to play" just another episode".

I would not hesitate to recommend this title, not only to those who have an active interest in angling but to those who need a quiet and thoughtful interlude in a hectic life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2013
"The Compleat Angler", as the title implies, is a miniseries inspired by the work by Izaak Walton. In this series, veteran actor Geoffrey Palmer teams up with angler Ray Borras to fish in areas that Walton would have fished in, trying out baits and fishing methods as recommended by Walton in his book.

The series stands out from other fishing shows not just because of the Izaak Walton connection but because of its celebration of the British countryside. There are numerous scenes that focus on the development of angling as a sport, the lives of various fishing personalities contemporary and near-contemporary with Walton, and the changing face of the local ecology. In doing all of this, "The Compleat Angler" makes no attempt to talk down to the viewer, and manages to both educate and entertain very well.

Though I do not watch many fishing shows, "The Compleat Angler" is one I very happily recommend to all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
Thoroughly enjoyable. The characters share a good sense of humour especially Geoffrey Palmer. Beautifully filmed in some very nice locations. Can recommend.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2014
Fishing not the easiest subject to make watch-able this puts me in mind of "A Passion for Angling" and has a similar feel.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2012
Excellent series for the pleasure angler. Very interesting with nice locations. Similar style to John Wilson's Go Fishing.
A bit expensive but if you enjoy the gentler type of fishing it is worth the price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
Very interesting DVD looking back at fishing 350 years ago and now With an enthusiastic amateur and some experts.
This is not just another fishing video of people reeling in big fish like so many are.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)