Buy Used
£6.71
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by Wordery
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: This fine as new copy should be with you within 6-9 working days. To arrive in time for Christmas we recommend ordering before 13th December.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Companions: Fifty Years of Doctor Who Assistants: An Unofficial Guide Paperback – 27 Jun 2013

4.3 out of 5 stars 11 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£6.00 £6.71

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.




Product details

  • Paperback: 344 pages
  • Publisher: Candy Jar Books (27 Jun. 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0957154887
  • ISBN-13: 978-0957154889
  • Product Dimensions: 19.9 x 2.2 x 13.1 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (11 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 514,772 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Andy Frankham-Allen is both and editor and author.

He is the range editor of Candy Jar Books' Lethbridge-Stewart novels; a licensed Doctor Who spin-off set after the events of the 1968 television serial, The Web of Fear. He developed the Space: 1889 & Beyond series for Untreed Read Publishing and was the line editor for that series.

As an author he has written several short stories for Big Finish's Doctor Who range, as well as short stories for Untreed Reads, collected in the book Aphelion. He has also written several stories for the charity series Legacy, and written or co-written several novels in the Space: 1889 & Beyond series. He is also the author of the Rainbow Award Nominated novel, Seeker, the first book of The Garden saga, a genre-bending series that he calls an urban real-world fantasy. He's also one non-fiction reference book, Companions: Fifty Years of Doctor Who Assistants, which involved him watching EVERY single episode of Doctor Who in less than four months.

His latest novel was The Forgotten Son, the first book in the Lethbridge-Stewart series.

Product Description

Think you know Doctor Who? Think again.

Companions: Fifty Years of Doctor Who Assistants is an in-depth account of each Doctor Who companion. This book examines each assistant's significance in the TV series as well as other Doctor Who media.

Written by a true fan, Andy Frankham-Allen, the book also features a foreword by Gary Russell and afterword by David J Howe.

It will appeal to fans of 'Doctor Who: Whology', 'Ahistory: An Unauthorised History of the Doctor Who Universe' and 'The Discontinuity Guide'.

REVIEWS

"Companions: Fifty Years of Doctor Who Assistants seeks to pull together everything that's been revealed about every single companion in their on-screen adventures, through their actions, interactions and dialogue... It's clearly been more than just sitting in front of episodes of Doctor Who with a notebook and pen; he expands and extrapolates beyond a say-what-you-see approach." (Doctor Who magazine)

"...A brilliant book, beautifully produced and printed, and a most welcome addition to the vast library of Doctor Who literature. First class." (Books Monthly)

"Companions is a very thorough volume... We found it fascinating to see all the touches that have been added to our favourite characters over the years and it really motivates us to catch up on some of the non-television adventures we have missed!" (Cult Box)

"There have been books about companions before - but few of them go into this amount of detail, display this amount of in-depth knowledge and above all, this amount of love. As a celebration of everything that makes the Doctor's (and therefore our) best friends unique and special, this book is essential." (Gary Russell, Doctor Who magazine, Big Finish Productions & Doctor Who)


Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
With the fiftieth anniversary it is, perhaps, inevitable that there will be demand for guides such as this. As a compendium that includes all the companions from across all Doctor Who media (ie. the novels, audio books/plays, comic strips and spin-offs) it is a fairly comprehensive collection. It is particularly strong in providing detailed explanations concerning the interaction between spin-off shows `The Sarah Jane Adventures' and `Torchwood' with Doctor Who. It also, in general, makes a valiant effort at doing the same with other media although it is a somewhat impossible task to establish any firm canonicity. The authors have sensibly chosen not to try this with the multiple conflicting stories surrounding Ace, who is given, perhaps as a result of this, one of the most interesting sections of the book.

Obviously it is to be expected that certain companions will get more coverage than others due to the personal preferences of the authors, but where the guide sometimes fails is in the space allotted to each companion. For example, one of the reasons I bought this guide was because I vaguely remembered the companion Sharon (who travels with the Fourth Doctor in what is now known as the Doctor Who Magazine during its earliest days) and wanted to know about her. Unfortunately she is mentioned in only one sentence. In comparison Ace, Rose and Amy are given immense sections when most fans will probably know a lot about hem anyway.

The sections concerning the Doctors since the programme has returned are also given much more coverage, possibly at the expense of the earlier Doctors.
Read more ›
Comment 5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
An enjoyable enough read, if a little consistent throughout. It may perhaps have something to do with the authors own companion preferences. It's a shame the book loses steam as soon as we reach David Tennant's Doctor, with the Expanded Universe for his and Matt Smith's Doctor briefly slotted in towards the back. The author preferring to use their allocated space to tell us every single thing the likes of Donna and Rory do on screen. A complete contrast to the more evenly covered eras of the first eight Doctors.
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
A superbly detailed guide to The Doctor's companions which goes into great depth in covering not only the TV series but also the "expanded universe" of books, audio and comics.

The author does his utmost to reconcile the companions history between TV and other media and there are some great memories in there (whilst I joined the TV series at Tom Baker, I was a big reader of the Target books as a child),

Essential for fans, although may be a little daunting for casual watchers.
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This book covers more than fifty years of Britain's favourite time traveller, his many companions make up what it is to be alongside this alien, and here the author encapsulates every known tv companion and beyond with information that endears you to them.

A fantatsic read through and thorough, if you thought you knew everything about the Doctor's companions think again 10/10
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I had high hopes for his book but sadly it fell well short of my expectations , the author is very knowledgable but made some errors ! The book began to run our of steam in the later chapters
Comment 5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Easily one of the best books dealing with Doctor Who companions written, possibly the best. Unlike similar books it doesn't insist every major character is a companion but includes them for completeness yet treats them as the significant (e.g. Astrid) or recurring (e.g. The Brigadier) character they are. The book also covers the companions from the various series of books and the Big Finish audios. Well written, engaging and interesting. A very useful reference book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Look for similar items by category


Feedback