Command: Thomas Kydd 7 and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
  • RRP: £8.99
  • You Save: £1.30 (14%)
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10.
Only 9 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by the book house
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This item will be picked, packed and shipped by Amazon and is eligible for free delivery within the UK
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Command (Thomas Kydd) Paperback – 19 Apr 2007


See all 16 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£7.69
£4.28 £0.01
Audio CD
"Please retry"
£21.69

Frequently Bought Together

Command (Thomas Kydd) + The Admiral's Daughter (Kydd 8) + Tenacious (Thomas Kydd)
Price For All Three: £22.42

Buy the selected items together


Earn a Free Kindle Book
Earn a Free Kindle Book
Buy a book between now and 31 March and receive a promotional code good for one free Kindle book. Terms and conditions apply. Learn more

Product details

  • Paperback: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Hodder Paperbacks (19 April 2007)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0340898577
  • ISBN-13: 978-0340898574
  • Product Dimensions: 15.7 x 2.4 x 20.5 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (31 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 215,900 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Julian Stockwin was sent at the age of fourteen to Indefatigable, a tough sea-training school. He joined the Royal Navy at fifteen before transferring to the Royal Australian Navy, where he served for eight years in the Far East, Antarctic waters and the South Seas. In Vietnam he saw active service in a carrier task force.



After leaving the Navy (rated Petty Officer), Julian practised as an educational psychologist. He lived for some time in Hong Kong, where he was commissioned into the Royal Naval Reserve. He was awarded the MBE and retired with the rank of Lieutenant Commander. He now lives in Devon with his wife Kathy. More information can be found on his website at www.julianstockwin.com.

Product Description

Review

Stockwin paints a vivid picture of life aboard the mighty ship-of-the-line... the harsh naval discipline, the rancid food, and the skill of the common sailor are all skilfully evoked. (Daily Express on KYDD)

In Stockwin's hands the sea story will continue to entrance readers across the world. (Guardian on KYDD)

The appeal of the story is in the telling, which is atmospheric, authentic ... The author had a long career in the Royal Navy, which adds to his prose that extra dash of salty realism. (Publishing News on MUTINY)

I was soon turning the pages almost indecently fast ... Roll on, the promised adventures of Kydd and Renzi. (Independent on KYDD)

Book Description

This is Sharpe with ships - and for readers who love Bernard Cornwell and Patrick O'Brian. The seventh novel in Julian Stockwin's hugely popular seafaring series, published to tie in with the 200th anniversary of Trafalgar

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

25 of 28 people found the following review helpful By D. J. Pearson on 21 July 2006
Format: Hardcover
The seventh book in this series based on life in Nelson's Navy finds Lieutenant Kydd emerging from another doldrums period in his naval career to be given command of his own ship, the brig Teazer. We share both the joy at his first command and also the challenges it brings both professional and personal. The storyline as ever is strong with Malta as the initial central location and plenty of sea action but this time from the perspective of Kydd having to lead and gain the trust and confidence of his men - not the plain sailing he expected. He eventually succeeds in the course of a successful sea battle against La Fouine, revenge for an earlier exchange where the French ship almost had the better of him.

His joy turns to unhappiness and almost despair when peace is declared and Teazer is laid up and he left without a command. This brings Kydd to the realisation that he is now a sailor, only really at home at sea and prepared to command a prison transportation ship bound for New South Wales if that is the only way in which he can achieve this.

By chance Kydd's former naval companion Renzi is a passenger on Kydd's ship but they are estranged with Renzi having rejected his inheritance but having no real role in life and determined to build a future in New South Wales. His and Kydd's adventures and experiences there develop the storyline further and the book ends with Kydd back in his country's service and Renzi and he reconciled.

This is the best book in the series to date with its blend of strong storyline, credible and developed characterisation and historical fact.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Parm TOP 500 REVIEWER on 28 July 2011
Format: Paperback
The seventh book in a long running series that just seems to get better and better the characters keep growning and flowing with their ever expanding plot lines and movement into the ever larger arena of their times, as they and their careers / fortunes grow so do the scale and power of the troubles they encounter gone is the innocence to the plot a new origionality pervades the whole story and leaves the reader with a shanty lilt to their speech and a roll to their gait.

This for me is the most difficult book in the series for most readers, peace is declared part way into the book, and with peace..no battles no roar of the cannon, no bloodlust no adrenaline, but what many miss is the master and commander style plot and pace and descriptions that the ordinary sailor would have seen and experienced, the fact that life was not all war and glory, it was still battle but with the elements and monotony and the people you sailed with, we learn more about our main characters in this book and experience more with them, its a different book, and still a very good book.

All of this coupled with Julians obvious passion for the sea and all things nautical, this is a series that does rank up there with Forrester and O'Brian, every year i look forward to my new instalment of Kydd...but to get there you have to start at the beginning dont spoil it and come in part way.

Well recommended

(Parm)
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Dr J on 3 Jan 2008
Format: Hardcover
I have come to expect a lot from Julian Stockwin and his Kydd novels. Mr. Stockwin is very knowledgeable and can put the reader right in the middle of the story. This book, however, left me unsatisfied. It has two distinct parts. The first is the usual fare--some good action in the Mediterrenean. This is all good stuff. Then, peace is declared and the only work our hero can find is as caption of a transport ship to New South Wales. Great--we're going to have some great adventure here, right? Well, not really. Who shows up on deck unexpectedly? His old buddy Renzi. How both Renzi and Kydd end up on the same ship on their way to OZ is a miracle, but acceptable for the story. However, all Renzi does is brood the whole way. He's no longer a friend to Kydd and has become an unsympathetic character for the reader. You just start thinking, "Why doesn't Kydd just throw him overboard?" That would have made the whole book better. Well, he doesn't, and they end up in NSW. Here, there are some good adventures, although I thought they could have been more in depth.
Maybe in a later book, I'll understand the whole Renzi-thing, but right now, he's dragging down the series.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By vickiew1 on 27 Nov 2012
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I found Command much more contrived to allow the story to flow, but overall a good read and I still think the series is very good.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful By R. Wheatley on 14 Sep 2006
Format: Hardcover
I consider this,the seventh book of the series as "Different", insomuch that, as usual we get our fair share of sea action and the resultant excitement ,we are being shown Kydd not only as a fighter,leader,and aspirant to greater things,but as Kydd the man and even moreso "the man within the man" Having in this book attained the Godlike heights of command,though it be only a small and somewhat insignificant vessel,we are now seeing Kydd portrayed as hesitant,and self questioning as to his actions and decisions.
Up to this point in his career he has always had the cushion of a senior who must answer to Their Lordships at the Admiralty--------now HE is that senior.With the glory must come the responsibility,and he appears to find this not a small burden to bear. Kydd the man is coming of age!

This new land is now a country which is well known to our author,and I for one much enjoyed the historical description of life in the raw.This writer is a stickler for authenticity.and research is a religeon!!
This is just one of the reasons that makes Kydd so readable,rewarding and enjoyable
Stockwin IS Kidd ----Long may they sail together!!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Feedback