• RRP: £5.27
  • You Save: £0.08 (2%)
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books.
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Comics Squad: Recess! (Co... has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by Wordery
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: This fine as new copy should be with you within 7-8 working days via Royal Mail.
Trade in your item
Get a £0.50
Gift Card.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Comics Squad: Recess! (Comic Squad) Paperback – 8 Jul 2014


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
£5.19
£2.07 £2.07
£5.19 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books. Only 2 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • When you trade in £15 or more you’ll receive an additional £5 Amazon.co.uk Gift Card for the next time you spend £10 or more.


Trade In this Item for up to £0.50
Trade in Comics Squad: Recess! (Comic Squad) for an Amazon Gift Card of up to £0.50, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Product details

  • Paperback: 133 pages
  • Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers (8 July 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0385370032
  • ISBN-13: 978-0385370035
  • Product Dimensions: 14 x 1.1 x 17.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,086,579 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
0
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
Fun anthology of short stories by popular children's graphic novelists. I've read all these authors before and found it a delight to read these stories. Some are one-off shorts while others are further adventures of favourite characters such as Baby Mouse and Lunchroom Lady. The stories are all held together by the common theme of recess; with recess featuring prominently in some and and simply in passing in others. I enjoyed each story, each being a perfect example of the author/illustrator's work. I went into each one looking forward to the treat and was not disappointed, however, if the reader has not read any of these authors these stories are bound to have you searching for their other books. Good Show! And the back of the book assures us that a sequel is in the works. Yeah!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 33 reviews
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
Son gave it four stars. Mom gave it 2.5. 24 July 2014
By Amy Mcfarland - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
My son was so excited to get this. He loves graphic novels and blazed through the Captain Underpants and Wimpy Kid books. If your child liked Captain Underpants, they would probably also like this book. The colors are bright and the artwork is captivating. While I can appreciate that the book was created to look like it was drawn by kids at recess, it just irks me to see words purposefully misspelled to give the impression a small child wrote them. It would be just as neat a comic for kids, and they'd be just as involved and excited, even if the words were spelled correctly. I was also not thrilled with some of the story lines, including kids getting nervous and vomiting on other kids (graphically of course) and kids at recess finding different ways to smash a cat with playground equipment (the cat is a criminal in the story). It was a fun book for my son, but definitely not a favorite of mine...
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
A great little sampler! 21 July 2014
By Wendy A. Emlinger - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
Utterly delightful! A great short sampler of some of the best children's comic book artists exploring the theme of "Recess"! Childhood's favorite part of the school day. A must have for fans of Babymouse, Lunch Lady, Dav Pilkey and all the rest.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Fun compilation 26 July 2014
By Jenna of the Jungle - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
I picked this up because my 7-year-old daughter was a fan of two of the authors. Once she picked it up, she wouldn't put it down until she had finished it. Then she told me to read three of the stories out loud-- which I did. "Cute book, huh?" I asked.

"It's not *cute,*" she said. "It's awesome."

It was fun to pick out the author/illustrators by style (I'm familiar with five of them and successfully picked out four without looking at the title pages). This is a good-natured complilation loosely centered around the recess theme, mostly just silly (don't expect any strong moralizing here)-- a lunch lady fighting a pizza monster, a magic acorn, ninjas, a cupcake with superpowers, mean vegetables, a cat who erases all the words in books and makes people "supa dumb"... Fun stuff for reluctant or enthusiastic readers alike.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
All your favorites in one place! 9 Aug. 2014
By Meredith - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
We are a fan of graphic novels but we are HUGE fans of Babymouse and Lunch Lady. These 10 comic artists and authors, "The Comic Squad!" joined together to create a wonderfully easy to read package of stories that all follow the same theme.

Each of the 8 stories is separate, but with the same color scheme (black, white and orange) and held together by the theme of recess. Every artist's style is well represented but the comic itself flows from one to another very easily. Ninjas, magic acorns, pizza, talking food, and an evil cat just to name a few of the crazy things you'll find in this book.

I have an 11 yr old girl and a 7 yr old boy that could not get their hands on this book fast enough. I opened the package and they were cheek to cheek reading in the backseat of the car. You can't beat that.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Found some new authors 9 Aug. 2014
By Bella Rosa - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
My 9 year old loved this collection. We were familiar with the Holms, Krosoczka and of course Dav Pilkey but hadn't read any of the others. Now he's clamoring for Astronaut Academy and Frankie Pickle. Short, funny stories, several with a high gross-out factor guaranteed to appeal to elementary school boys. I also liked the variety of artistic styles - my sons spent as much time talking about the drawings as he did about the stories.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know


Feedback