Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars14
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£16.54+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 February 2013
I saw this book featured in "The Simple Things" magazine and ordered it on the strength of that article. I am not disappointed by the photographs - the author has an eye for an interesting shot and the colours are excellent. The book is also nicely produced. The text, however, is not at all any kind of journey, but random strings of facts, many drawn from the small number of books listed in the bibliography. And, worse, the photos have cute 'positive thinking' platitudes literally stuck over them. So when you look at a very interesting and unusual photograph of an elderly Indian gentleman in well-worn but beautiful traditional garb, you are exhorted to "Don't cut corners". What?! I don't want to be told what I should be thinking when I look at an image. I fell like getting a reel of tape and covering over the phrases like "Exercise your smile muscles" and "One hug is worth a thousand words" which are literally pasted over the images, ruining them. Disappointed, because it could have been such a lovely book.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 17 December 2012
Learn about colour by exploring this book. It's like a travelogue of life through colour. It deals with many aspects of colours such as mood, meanings, history and more. It's very readable, intuitive and evocatively photographed. Photos and words work in harmony. Throughout you'll find information that can help inform your colour choices. A stunning book. We all need to consider colour and this book assists in doing just that. This review first appeared on yarnsnadfabrics website.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
This book already inspired me to go and explore colours myself. It's full of beautiful colours, photos with beautiful scenes, people, clothes, things,... It's a true celebration of life, just what I think the book about colour should be. Thank you!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
This book is lovely. Its like a travel log of the pictures that you wish you had taken and the colours are fantastic. The quality of the paper is great the size of the book is just right to hold and the photographs are fantastic. This little book is full of fantastic colour combinations and like a box of jewels from the front page to the last to stimulate your mind and senses. Have brought this book for a lot of my friends as gifts and they also think the same. Highly recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2014
The pictures are beautiful but the text is poorly written - lots of spurious 'facts' strung together with no apparent purpose. Thoughts that might have been interesting are left undeveloped, and some of the ideas expressed are simply meaningless. Buy it for the full-page photographs from around the world, but not if you want to learn anything new about the psychology of colour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
Loved this book a celebration of our colourful world it's visually stunning ! A nice sized book to carry around and dip into. If you feel there is little " colour" in you life buy this book urgently and be inspired .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2014
Very inspiring book that I got for a relative. She does interior design and loved the insight into colours and how they can be used
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2012
Gorgeously produced book with a fabric-y cover, band and thick cut pages, all sumptuously photographed. A treat for the senses. Lush to curl up with on a rainy winters day with a blanket and mug of tea.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
This book is wonderful. I am interested in colour and how we have interacted with it through the centuries but this is not a deep, dusty, boring book. It takes you into the authors world of colour, her photos are wonderful and a great accompaniment to the text. Written in colour chapters it gives you brief interesting facts...you could always go off and research a little deeper from these starting points. My favourite though is the double page thoughts, ideas and sayings at the end of each chapter. It is a book I will return to again and again.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
Just one of my absolute favourite books, i look at it over and over!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)