Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 May 2010
This dictionary is one of the best bilingual dictionaries I have ever had. There isn't a lack of up-to-date words and the layout itself of the dictionary is very easy on the eyes. The size of the dictionary is very convenient and it can be stored very easily in a schoolbag for example. But the best thing about this dictionary is that it has a grammar section in the back consisting of about 150 pages. In this grammar section many things are explained such as verb conjugations, all essential things. There is also a section dedicated to irregular verbs and in this section each verb is listed and then its auxiliary verb, past participle, present participle and imperative form(s) are shown. Also with each verb there is a table and this verb is conjugated in 6 different tenses, being; Present, Future, Imperfect, Conditional, Past Historic and the Present Subjunctive and the verb is conjugated in all forms (I, You (formal and informal) He/She/It, We and They) which is a very useful Overall I'm very impressed with this product

(Note- I did not purchase this product on Amazon, I am reviewing the product only and now the seller)
11 comment|44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2010
I find this dictionary to be very useful mainly because of the fact that it has a grammar section to it aswell as the normal french to english dictionary. It's a reasonably good size as well making it clear to see the particular word you want to find, and it has a whole index in the beginning to guide you through the symbols that you will come across!
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2010
My daughter wanted this, having looked at a whole range of dictionaries as she begins her GCSE French studies after studying the language gently for a few years. This looks to be the best of its kind for her purposes at her level: reasonably comprehensive without being so detailed as to put younger teenagers off. She makes good use of it.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2013
I bought this thinking, as is common for every other language dictionary I have bought that it would do English to French and French to English. However it didn't do French to English, so I had to buy a separate French dictionary as well. This was disappointing.
11 comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2011
Very comprehensive French to English dictionary, there is not much you will need to translate that you will not find in this book. Very useful, reasonably sized book with the added bonus of a grammar section.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2011
This dictionary is very good and has a good amount of words in it, however it is just too heavy to be carrying all day in a school bag - how do we know, online, how heavy these dictionarys are?
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
Not the easiest to search on Kindle, a real version would be much better. Lots of common use words not included which also detracts from its usefulness. Not really a worthwhile purchase
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2013
This is simply to advise those who want the French/English translation, that Collins appear to be publishing the searchable Kindle version on 1st April 2013.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 27 February 2012
I thoroughly recommend this dictionary for anyone learning or trying to improve his/her French. It has all the vocabulary you need for a decent level of French (say up to GCSE) though you would need a Robert French-to-French for more advanced work such as the names of obscure plants. It has English-to-French and French-to-English (with examples) but any teacher will warn against looking up a French word from the English and using it without being sure that it fits the context. Key words such as "si" and "vouloir" are picked out and examples given of their various uses e.g. "si" being an emphatic form of "yes" in answer to a negative statement. Uses of language like "verlan" (backslang) are explained and verbs are given with the prepositions which commonly follow them. The grammar section, on blue pages at the back, is excellent and, again, has all you would need for GCSE. Grammar rules are set out on the left hand page with examples of each on the right and there is a complete set of conjugations of all verbs including the less used literary forms. There is a short section on knotty points: when to use "pouvoir" or "savoir" etc. It is also strongly constructed which may seem a minor point but I have had other dictionaries which have fallen to bits whilst this is still firm and strong.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
This dictionary is EXACTLY what it says an English-French only dictionary. You cannot search on any French word! The English section is useful and reasonably comprehensive. So if you know what you want to say in English and need to translate to French it's good, but if you come across a French word you don't know, it's of no use at all. I have never purchased a language dictionary in print that only had one-way translation. A serious oversight.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse