Claudius: Historical Fiction (Roman Trilogy Book 2) and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books.
Only 4 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Claudius: Historical Fict... has been added to your Basket
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by the book house
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This item will be picked, packed and shipped by Amazon and is eligible for free delivery within the UK
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Claudius: Historical Fiction (Roman Trilogy 2) Paperback – 24 Jun 2010

24 customer reviews

See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£7.99
£2.66 £0.01
Audio CD
"Please retry"
£32.86
£7.99 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books. Only 4 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

Claudius: Historical Fiction (Roman Trilogy 2) + Caligula (Roman Trilogy 1) + Hero of Rome (Gaius Valerius Verrens 1)
Price For All Three: £22.97

Buy the selected items together



Product details

  • Paperback: 464 pages
  • Publisher: Corgi (24 Jun. 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0552162493
  • ISBN-13: 978-0552162494
  • Product Dimensions: 12.7 x 2.9 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (24 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 126,307 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Douglas Jackson is the author of the successful historical novels Caligula and Claudius and my next book Hero of Rome, the first of a new trilogy, will be published in July 2010. I was born in Jedburgh in the Scottish Borders in the summer of 1956. Educated at Parkside Primary School and Jedburgh Grammar School, I left three weeks before my 16th birthday with six O levels and no idea what I was going to do with the rest of my life. Luckily, a friend worked in the local employment office and got me a place on a Youth Opportunities Scheme. It turned out to be restoring a Roman marching camp at Pennymuir in the Cheviot Hills and I had a wonderful summer turning turf and dreaming of Romans. Later I joined my local paper and for the next 36 years worked in local and national newspapers in Scotland, including the Daily Record and the Scotsman. I left the Scotsman after nine years as assistant editor in the summer of 2009 to become a full-time writer.

Get in touch or become a fan on my Facebook page www.facebook.com/pages/Doug-Jackson-author/245467143762?ref=nf

Visit my websites at www.douglas-jackson.net and http://authorsplace.co.uk/doug-jackson

Or read my blog about the highs and lows of becoming a published author on http://dougsbookblog.blogspot.com

Product Description

Review

"What stands out are Jackson's superb battle scenes. I lost myself in the riveting depictions of combat, hoping against hope that somehow the British would prevail... I was gripped from start to finish" (Ben Kane, author of The Forgotten Legion)

"Jackson triumphs... If I were Conn Iggulden or Simon Scarrow, I'd be rather worried by the new Scottish kid on the block" (The Scotsman)

"A master of his discipline rightly hailed as one of the best historical novelists writing today" (Daily Express)

Book Description

A gripping and visceral novel of the Roman invasion of Britain, for fans of Conn Iggulden and Simon Scarrow.

Inside This Book

(Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful By Je Salter on 29 July 2010
Format: Paperback
Being a bit of a geek when it comes to all things Roman, I read Douglas Jacksons first book Caligula and thoroughly enjoyed it not just becasue of the subject but becasue it was different. Rufus the Emperors Elephant trainer is the main character and in this book he returns as the llegions invade Britain.

Claudius is another very good and well written story that captivated me from the first page. It reflects some of the history that occured especially with the Emperors two week visit to Britain, where he papraded through Colchester triumphantly on an elephant.

If you are interested in this topic, I have no doubt whatsoever that you would enjoy this book, the predessor and his new book about the trials of a Roman Tribune in Britian. Excellent author and story teller that stays true to historic accuracy.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
36 of 38 people found the following review helpful By A scottish folky on 20 Aug. 2009
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I read Douglas first book Calligula and was gripped from the first chapter. Rufus is a believable and engaging character and I was quickly hooked on his adventures. The second book, Claudius, continues his life in ancient Britain along side the Roman Legions invading Britain, it's gritty and obviously extremely well researched. I settled back, with Rufus and his elephant and enjoyed the adventure immensely. I can only hope that Douglas continues to write his stories and goes from strength to strength. I look forward to his next and hope Rufus will ride again. Good old fashioned escapism.
3 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful By Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 2 Sept. 2009
Format: Hardcover
Whilst a secondary novel to the original (Caligula) this offering does look back on the previous novel as we're told about the events by the slave, Rufus. As with the first offering, its well written, the character pretty likable and with the odd look in from the title character to share points of view it's a tale that pretty much wends its own way through history. Good fun, action packed and with an elephant, who could ask for more?
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By amazon customer on 13 Dec. 2013
Format: Paperback
The perfect gift for all Roman history enthusiasts is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
Douglas Jackson has penned an exciting narrative with historical fact and fiction expertly interwoven, gritty action, three dimensional Characters, and a vivid sense of the times. Highly recommended.
For those who would like further information on this epoch I highly recommend the OSPREY Campaign, Warrior, and men at arms booklets, with great overviews, excellent illustrations, and highly detailed maps.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By max60 on 13 Feb. 2015
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
What a wonderful book!!! Have read all Douglas Jacksons' books and he really can keep you glued to it. You will be reading this and saying to yourself " just one more page" its that kind of book. Great book and writer!!!
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
16 of 20 people found the following review helpful By CLCAULFIELD on 31 July 2009
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Following Douglas Jackson's "Caligula", "Claudius" is a masterpiece of well researched, historically accurate and compelling story telling. Anybody who has an interest in either Roman history or early Britain will appreciate the insight into a time clouded in mystery. Not only a very good read but informative too.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By cat on 10 Jun. 2014
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Great read . If you enjoy the Romans then this is for you . Or a good present for someone who likes the Romans .
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Mr. Stephen Parkin on 17 April 2013
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
#2 in the(only two-part)trilogy.The author gets into his stride in this tale of Claudius' invasion of Britain.Fast-paced,it puts much needed flesh on the bones of a shadowy part of history.
P.445 has the words "Memento mori-remember thou art mortal" whispered in the Emperor's ear during his triumph. I prefer the Quo Vardis version "Respice te, hominem te memento" ("Look behind you, remember you are only a man"). Sadly until Dr Who loans us the Tardis we shall ever know if either is correct.
Highly recommended reading.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Look for similar items by category


Feedback