Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars20
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 November 2010
This is a very comprehensive survey and provides a very good overview for students of Greek or Classical Mythology. My contention is that M&L seem to find it necessary to bring out new editions more and more frequently. I had just replaced my old 7th US ed. with the 2009 8th International edition only to discover that there is another edition about to come out (Nov 2010). Why is this, other than that it is possible to do so? Will I now have to buy yet another edition for teaching purposes as students will most likely have the latest available edition? Looks a little careless to me, or is it just an attempt to sell more copies - each interested reader/student will have two or three copies?

Further more you can purchase the 9th US ed. (Feb 2010)from Amazon.com, which has colour plates - lacking in the International editions. Some figures for consideration:
The 2009 8th International ed has 874 pages
The 2010 9th International ed has 830 pages
The 2010 9th US ed has 864 pages.

All these editions have different covers, I suspect they want us to have a library of the various editions!
33 comments|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2010
Please be aware that this edition refers to colour plates throughout the text, in the contents and index, but the plates themselves are not included!
55 comments|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2013
Clear and concise. Great pictures. Ideal for OU course.contained all the required info and was payed out well. Not too simple pitched at just the right level
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2012
I ordered this book for a course I am studying but I have been reading additional material as it is fascinating. The book is beautifully illustrated throughout and contains everything you're ever likely to need to know about Greek and Roman mythology.It covers the history of myth, major and minor gods and goddesses and mortals who populate the myths and provides detailed coverage of myths. However, it also provides detailed analyses of the myths, comparison of the ancient writers and the use of myth across the ages to the present day.There are zillions of references and links to other works and sources so it is a valuable source book.It is also very readable, no heavy boring reading here. A friend of mine warned me that it isn't a book to read from cover to cover because of the amount of information it contains. However, I have a feeling that I shall actually be doing just that!

It may well be one of your set books for a course, or, you may just want a good source book on the subject, in which case, this book is highly recommended. Well set out, clear print, easy to follow references and cross references and, as I said before, extremely well illustrated, this book is a 'must have' if you are keen on classical myths.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2013
This book is an essential for the Open University course on Greek and Roman myth so it was a must buy.
Its HUGE! Will probably despise it by the end of the course but, at the moment, it is a very impressive looking tome and good value.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2013
Set by the Open University - it has been helpful with looking at different extracts from Mythology as a working tool. There is an element of waffling and slight lack of structure.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2013
this is a heavy tome. it has some lovely pictures in it. I have already perused several of the chapters and surprisingly, for a set book, it is very readable.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
Had to buy this as a text book, but has been very useful, there are colour plates and good clear information
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2010
This is an excellent choice for those who wish to have a fairly in-depth knowledge of mythology. I gave 4 stars, not five, simply because it refers to colour plates which are not included...they appear in a different issue apparently. Regardless of this, it really is a very helpful and informative book. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2015
Unfortunately the binding on this book is hopeless. Pages came away and became loose very soon. In addition the weight of the tome makes it
hard to turn pages easily and study from. I recommend the manufacturer look again at the process they are using.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)