Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
15
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 February 2001
i cant recommend this album highly enough. I have always admired Sinatra from afar, but never listened to his original recordings...i have been awestruck by the beauty of the songs, the superb arrangements, the clarity of the music, and of course franks voice (just listen to 'One More For My Baby', this version must be the best blues song ever)..absolutly wonderful from start to finish.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2003
This certainly is classic Sinatra. Twenty of his best cuts from those Capitol years are here in this terriffically remastered CD, a Nice N' Easy feel being the overall theme. Some great ballads like "In the Wee Small Hours" and "One More for My Baby" are scattered throughout, but mainly this is a confident and swingin' Sinatra at the top of his game. This whole thing just leaves us feeling good, and a little in awe of Sinatra's greatness.
If you have a lot of Sinatra's stuff, as most people do, this is a nice addition, and if you really aren't familiar with what all the fuss was about, this is definitely the one to get. A good twentysomething friend of mine recently bought this after listening to me chide him because he didn't own any Sinatra, or really know much about popular music. You can occasionally make out that tune he's singing as "It Happened in Montery", his favorite cut. Any fan could go on all day talking about these wonderful Sinatra classics, but better just to buy it and see for yourself.
Frank's "Only the Lonely" concept album showed us the darker side of love and romance, but for the most part, this collection of 50's classics are either melancholy or swingin.' It's about the romantic chase (Come Dance With Me), and the sheer adrenaline rush (Come Fly With Me) of falling in love. Fairy tales can come true, it could happen to you, if your "Young at Heart", which is just how you'll feel after listening to these true Sinatra classics.
Buy this one today. It might just seem like "Witchcraft" as this collection gets "Under Your Skin", and you find yourself playing it "Night and Day", not for a few cuts, but "All the Way" through. Thought you weren't a Sinatra fan, huh? "Oh Look at You Now!"
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2000
For somebody who grew up with the miusic of Dylan, Bowie and Sex Pistols,Frank Sinatra represented the older generation which was to be overthrown. However,age and experience have taught me that Sinatra's best work ranks with the best of the Rock'n roll era. This compilation, which slipped quietly into circulation in 2000, contains a selection from the period 1953 to 1960. This unfortunately excludes 1965's magnificent " It Was A Very Good Year" but concentrates on his golden era . It also has the advantage of excluding "My Way" and " New York ,New York". What it does have is some of the greatest songs of the first half of the 20th Century - " Someone to Watch Over Me , " My Funny Valentine" , "I've Got You Under My Skin" etc. It also includes lesser - known songs like " Witchcraft" and " It Happened in Monterey" which are at least the equal of these , as well as Frankie's theme song " One For My Baby and One More For the Road". Do yourself a favour - buy this , file it alongside Elvis's " The Sun Collection" and feel secure in the knowledge that you have pretty much wrapped up the 1950s.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2000
This CD shows how well old recordings can be remastered when some effort is put in. All the tracks sound just like they were recorded this year - and of course the songs are Sinatra at his best. If you've ever bought one of the budget Sinatra CD's and not been too impressed - this should change your mind!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2000
The Classic Sinatra CD is wonderful. All the tracks are outstanding, you can hear every word he sings. ( Not like some of todays singers ) The arrangments are superb, especially the ones by Nelson Riddle. I brought up on this music, being 50ish. My Father was a great fan of Frank Sinatra. Some of the tracks brought back so many memories and also a tear to my eye. If you want to listen to how a song should be sung, buy this CD, you will not be disappointed.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
If you want an introduction to Frank Sinatra at the top of his game, this should fit the bill. The phrasing was there, the voice hit all the notes seemingly without any effort, although I'm sure Frank put a great deal of artistry into managing his delivery so perfectly throughout this collection. This CD is truly a classic and a must-have for Sinatra fans. Out of such a wide repertoire, all of these tracks are certainly worthy of inclusion in a Greatest Hits compilation. It is an album where you can simply sit back, listen and imagine those days when, without doubt, Frank was indeed chairman of the board.

Technically speaking, the remastered sound is great, the orchestration is fabulous, the phrasing masterful and the voice superb. A musical legend at the peak of his form.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2000
I discovered Frank Sinatra and the fantastic work he did at Capital records through this album. It's a terrific introduction to what many consider the peak of his career, but be warned if you buy it you might find yourself going for the complete Capital recordings next...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2013
If you're looking to buy your first Frank Sinatra record and are feeling overwhelmed by the hundreds of titles currently offered on Amazon, then look no further. CLASSIC SINATRA is a perfect place to start.

More than any other single-disc Sinatra collection, CLASSIC SINATRA captures the true essence of Frank Sinatra. Not a "greatest hits" collection, CLASSIC SINATRA is even better; it's a collection of definitive songs from what's generally considered the greatest period of Sinatra's career--his recordings at Capitol records during the 1950s with conductors Nelson Riddle, Billy May, and Gordon Jenkins.

While many of these these songs weren't Sinatra's biggest selling singles, selections like "I've Got You Under My Skin," "Night and Day," "One For My Baby," and "Put Your Dreams Away" were clearly Sinatra's greatest songs--the songs he's best known for, and songs he continued to perform in concert and re-record for the rest of his career. (In fact, "Put Your Dreams Away" was actually played at Sinatra's funeral by longtime sidemen Bill Miller and Al Viola on piano and guitar. How much more definitive gan you get?)

One word of caution: This collection is so good that you will immediately become hooked on Frank Sinatra and want to buy more. When this happens, go out and buy his classic "concept albums" from the Capitol era, starting with (1) SONGS FOR SWINGIN' LOVERS!, (2) IN THE WEE SMALL HOURS, (3) A SWINGIN' AFFAIR!, and (4) FRANK SINATRA SINGS FOR ONLY THE LONELY. After that, you're on your own.

Finally, if you must, feel free to explore Sinatra's Reprise Recordings from the 1960s, but try to steer clear of anything recorded after about 1965 (with the notable exception of FRANCIS ALBERT SINATRA & ANTONIO CARLOS JOBIM, the great 1968 Bossa Nova album). Start with RING A-DING DING!, then check out SINATRA SWINGS!, THE CONCERT SINATRA (One of my personal favorites), and SINATRA & STRINGS.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2014
in the awful Bob Norberg re-masters, which turn the original 50s sound into a harsh, brittle and shallow travesty. Look out, instead, for the late 80s/early 90's Larry Walsh re-masters of this material, which sound much more natural, and closer to the warmth of the original vinyl.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2013
This CD's great. Creates a great atmosphere when we play it. Good for background music when we have guests or as a sing-a-long with the husband and kids.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)