Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars398
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:£2.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

At the risk of not so much swimming against the tide as against a tidal wave, I thought the much-despised 2010 remake of Clash of the Titans was a terrific entertainment that managed to improve on many aspects of the now much-loved but itself initially disparaged Ray Harryhausen version. For a start it's barely a remake, sharing only the title and the subject matter, discarding the love story and family-friendly elements for an altogether grittier and bleaker view that's at least more true to the cruelty of Greek mythology even if the details aren't so well served.

If Sam Worthington's Perseus is a throwback to the typical beefcake hero of 50s peplum, the script at least is smarter than the average mythological adventure. Instead of than fulfilling a divine destiny, this version's demi-god Perseus - half man, half-god, all-Ocker - is raging against it, determined to defy the gods as a man. These gods are cruel and parasitic, dependent on the worship of men to fuel their immortality but unwilling to earn it, their arrogance sparking a war with the mortals who don't want them any more. Rather than taking a Richard Dawkins "there is no god" approach, this is more of a "the gods exist and they're a right bunch of bastards" attack, with the dawning realisation that they can ultimately kill them by denying them their prayers. The film does copout on this with the end used in the film, the Blu-ray offering an alternate but poorly executed original version that saw Liam Neeson's Zeus and Perseus still very much at loggerheads, and by losing the love story between Perseus and Andromeda it does lower the stakes somewhat. Perseus' quest is now fuelled by pride, arrogance and defiance, with an impressively bitter Mads Mikkelsen and his high-testosterone expendable Argonauts all manly men meeting manly deaths at the hands and claws and tentacles of mythological beasts.

The beasts themselves are generally a pretty impressive bunch, the CGi faring much better in the original 2D than in the clumsily converted 3D version released in cinemas. If Ralph Fiennes' Hades is better as a special effect than when overdoing the Uriah Heap routine in more human form, the impressively rendered giant scorpions, multi-tentacled Kraken and the serpent-like Medusa grab the limelight over some of the old favorites from the Harryhausen version: Jason Flemyng's Calibos has less to do this time round while Pegasus simply conveniently appears when needed without needing to be tamed in a rather lazy bit of deux ex machina. But then this is the kind of film where the human cast are mostly sidelined as well, actors like Pete Posthlethwaite, Elizabeth McGovern, Danny Huston and Polly Walker turning up for a minute or two as little more than walk-ons and most of the gods having nothing more to do than stand around a disappointingly designed Olympus whose exteriors are spectacular but whose interiors look like Las Vegas car showroom. But it keeps moving without feeling too chopped up and thankfully there's a minimum of shakeycam or MTV overediting to accompany the overdose of testosterone. Big on spectacle and short on charm, it's a very different animal to Harryhausen's film (there's even an injoke about that version's irritating mechanical owl), but as long as you're expecting that it's one of the better action adventures of recent years.

DVD buyers get short shrift yet again, with nearly all of the extras reserved for the BluRay release - 10 deleted scenes and alternate ending, 11 featurettes and additional picture-in-picture featurettes running throughout the film if you choose `Maximum Movie Mode' - which has a generally excellent transfer.
0Comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2011
I've read a few reviews here saying it's the worst thing they've seen all year. I think that's a shame. This is not an Oscar-winner by any definition, granted, but it's not the low point of 2010's cinematic output either.
I accept the point that Sam Worthington isn't a good enough actor to warrant the hype, but he looks the part, and it works for me. The characters, although portrayed by decent actors, are shallow and/or predictable (a conversation on Charon's Barge reminded me of all that was crass about the Airport movies), so rather than rooting for them, you're just left trying to work out in advance which one will die in the next battle. But this isn't attempting to be educational or otherwise "worthy" in the Schindler's List vein... it's meant to be entertaining, and it manages that.
As a visual spectacle, it's worth watching, although movie effects usually translate poorly to the small screen. It's fair to say the Kraken is woefully underused, and the scorpions are average at best, but everything else passes muster, and the Pegasus is gorgeous!
Ultimately, I think this film isn't what the makers hoped it would be, but it isn't a stinker. It's always going to be compared (probably unfavourably) with the original, and rightly so, but it's still an enjoyable way to spend a couple of hours.
11 comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2014
Some people with beards wander around dispatching a modest selection of mythical creatures for no apparent reason. In spite of having Gemma Arterton around to help out and look pretty, they are generally quite ineffective and lots of them die in surprisingly uninteresting ways. Then the film ends. It looks quite whizzy though which covers up the lack of any discernable plot and prevents you from dozing off completely.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2015
"The Clash of the Titans" is set in the Greek city of Argos where a war is about to explode between man and the gods. Perseus raised as a fisherman, but is actually a demi-god.

Perseus is the son of Zeus who is about to take on the gods after the death of his family. Zeus' brother Hades was the one who killed his family, and Perseus wants to kill him.

However, it is Perseus's destiny to rescue the city of Argos from the ruthless rage of Hades and his Kraken monster.

With nothing to lose, Perseus leads a band of soldiers on a quest to defeat the Kraken. In doing this, Perseus will prevent Hades from overthrowing Zeus and in turn destroying mankind...

The original movie, had a camp classic feel to it, we had the gods, at regular intervals deciding the fate of the mortals vs ceramic figures. This time round, we have have Sam 'average movie' Star as the hero, who doesn't do much, but threaten certain people, and that the story.

Fair dues his surrogate family were killed by Hades, but the way that Leterrier handles the film is abysmal. The effects are undeniably good, but to have the 3D element is rather pointless, as none of the film appears 3D when you watch it in the theatres.

The fondly remembered parts of the film are wasted (Medusa is the one thing i was looking forward too) but they are handled hep handedly, you cannot but help yearn for the original.

Worthington is not a good lead, and the supporting cast prove this, and while there are some really good set pieces, they are not executed in the way you would think a multi million dollar remake would handle.

The best thing tin the film is Fiennes, he oozes evil from every pore and steals the film from everyone in it. Neeson is okay, but one feels that he just prepares himself to say 'release the Kraken' from the start.

It's not bad by any accounts, but they could have put so much more into this to make it one of the more worthwhile releases of the year.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 27 April 2015
I’m one of those people who watched (and therefore loved!) the original ‘Clash of the Titans’ movies when I was a child back in the eighties. And, as any cynical adult, I was sceptical about a remake of one of my childhood favourites. The result – in my opinion – it could have been worse.

In case you never sat through the charming Harry Hamlin version, Clash of the Titans is one of those ‘sword and sorcery’ epics that’s a bit like Lord of the Rings, only with Gods added for good measure. Naturally an ‘updated version’ needs more than a few people in sandals and plastercine monsters and the remake does just that. There is a fair amount of computer-generated special effects, but they’re not the problem. One of the main complaints against the new version is that it was filmed in NON-3D and then converted into 3D in post-production, therefore creating a slightly blurred and grainy effect overall.

And there are some other problems with the finished product, but many of those are cosmetic. Take the lead actor’s (Sam Worthington) hair. It’s supposed to be ancient Greece and yet he’s the only man without long flowing hair – choosing instead for a crewcut. Then of course you have a largely British cast (or at least actors putting on ‘British’ accents) while Worthington’s natural Australian accent does tend to slip through occasionally. And maybe the most petty gripe I can think of is naming the Greek town Worthington’s trying to save after a popular British ‘catelogue store’ – it always amused me when they’re desperate to save ‘Argos.’

When it comes to the (all important) monsters, some of them are good and some do look a little too CGI-ish. The Kraken looked a bit much like the ‘Rancor’ from Return of the Jedi for my liking, but it’s Medusa who steals the show. She was a tough act to follow after her portrayal in the original and, even though she is now fully CGI, she’s actually pretty nasty! For some reason though the director felt the need to add too many lens flares (in my opinion) in all the scenes where the Gods were present in Olympus!

But, despite all its flaws, it’s actually not that bad. Yes, those of us who were brought up on the original will always prefer that version, but I imagine that there are plenty of kids (young boys I’m guessing) who will love watching Perseus slay one computer generated monster after the next. My main gripe was that I found Perseus’ ‘love interest’ a little wooden. Yes, I see the reason the film-makers shoe-horned in a woman to go on the adventure, but she just kind of delivered her lines like she was reading them from an autocue. I don’t know whether this is a fault with the director, not getting the best out of her, as I’ve seen Gemma Arterton in plenty of other films and she’s always turned in a better performance.

So, if you’re not too hung up on the original and you’re in a forgiving mood when it comes to remakes, you should enjoy this pretty harmless remake of a classic. The only thing I really couldn’t forgive was the scorn displayed from the on-screen characters when ‘Boo-boo’ the clockwork owl from the original made a cameo appearance!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Clash of the Titans is a reasonable re-make of the 1981 movie but just lacking the heart and soul of that film for me. It seems too much emphasis was put on the three CGI set pieces (scorpion fight, Medussa and the Kraken) and not the epic journey or the characters who had to do a bigger battle with a pretty wooden and humourless script IMO. Whilst the battles were pretty impressive, I felt slightly short changed as there was not too much flesh on the bones in between.

For example, Perseus' taming of Pegasus in the first movie was an integral and quite touching scene. In this version, Pegasus appeared for two minutes before inexplicably flying off leaving them to continue their journey on giant scorpions whose little brothers were trying to kill them earlier. Bit strange that, particularly as said flying horse showed up at the end to whisk him back to Argos (there was a sale on).

Sam Worthington makes quite a "Worthy" (geddit?) and muscled Perseus in a young Russell Crowe (Gladiator) kinda way but he doesn't really have the charisma and acting ability required to carry a major role despite leading in Avatar. It's left up to Feinnes and Neeson to add gravitas to the movie as the warring Hades and Zeus but it still has nowhere near the epic feel of, for example the Rings trilogy but perhaps I'm being a bit unkind there. My fourteen year old daughter really enjoyed this, but for me being a forty <cough> something with fond memories of the original this was a pale if fairly enjoyable imitation of that classic. (6/10)

PS We saw the 2D version as I'd read poor reviews about the 3D version and I'm a cheapskate :o)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2012
Most people probably have an opinion of this move which they can put much more eloquently as I can, but it is safe to say it just an enjoyable action flick with some great action set pieces but little other substance.

The story is about Perseus, son of Zeus and a mortal queen, which makes him a Demigod. The queen is murdered by the King (as Zeus impregnated the queen via a deception to get back at the king) and along with Perseus, put in a casket and dropped in the sea. He then resurfaces and winds up being adopted in a normal fisher family, until a certain Titan resurfaces..

Of all the characters I found Liam Neeson, with his portrayal of Zeus, the most interesting. Sam Worthington feels like any other role he has portrayed (how much more films is he going to act in in which he feels like something else than he really is? Avatar, Terminator Salvation, now this).

The film features quite the mythological characters, such as the Kraken and Medusa, which end up in interesting fights.

I bought it in a special offer (2 for 10 pounds), but I would say that 10 pounds for this film alone is a bit steep. Buy if you are interested in mythology and some great but mindless action.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2014
If you have never watched the original movie, know very little about the storyline, then this is an excellent movie

However, if you have watched the original movie, then this is a big let down as the storyline was changed. I can't believe the original movie was significantly better than something made in the 21st century. I preferred the monsters from the original to this. Did you see kalibos?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2012
When this first came out in the cinema I thought, from the trailer, that it was just another high tech re-make of a classic. I refer to the 1981 film of the same name directed by Desmond Davies with stop motion effects by the legendary Ray Harryhausen which I aready had in my DVD collection. In fact I waited some time before purchasing the 2010 version because I thought it would not hold a candle to the original. I was wrong. It is a film in its own right and has much to commend it if only for sheer entertainment value. It may not have Larry Olivier or Flora Robson or even the wonderful Maggie Smith, but it does have Liam Neeson and Ralph Fiennes and a wonderful cameo from Pete Postlethwaite. Sam Worthington flexies his muscles as Perseus and, despite a heavy Aussie accent is always a pleasure to watch; much like Arnie in the majority of his films. Liam Neeson is always good value for money and delivers a creditable (Irish) Zeus. But what the heck! If viewed as pure entertainment, and dismissing some minor quirks this film does not disappoint. Both picture and sound are excellent. (NB 2D version).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2014
Take a great film, strip out all its charm, fill it with mindless action scenes, and you get Clash of the Titans (2010). Not that I am against action scenes, but these are mindless ones. And not based in Greek mythology at all. What's the point? They even literally insulted the previous film by cameo-ing the mechanical owl... only to ridicule it and throw it aside... such disrespect!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.49
£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)