Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars14
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
4
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 18 April 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a book and audio CD. The CD has just the one story track and lasts 8 mins. The book is 44 pages long but each page has full page pictures straight from the disney film and is a retelling of the movie. The CD is easily removed and put back into it's slot in the front of the book. The story is read to you in a pleasing tone and is easy to listen to, there is background music and sound effects throughout the story and a helpful chime to let children know when to turn the page so that they can follow along.

I really liked this book, my own slight concern would be that the background music/sound effects could be a little much for young children or children who have problems hearing and detract slightly from actually listening to the words of the story but it is nicely atmospheric so that would be a personal choice.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 March 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
My daughter said this book and CD was great. I asked why and she said it was because at the end Cinderella doesn't live with her ugly sisters.

The story of Cinderella is so widely known that you'll know what to expect here. I let my 6-year-old daughter listen to the CD whilst reading the book. The CD runs for just 8-minutes though. This is one track that contains all the story and has chimes ringing for when the page in the book needs to be turned, as well as various sound effects in the background.

And the voices of the characters are actors that sound like the ones in the film. The only bit that didn't work well was the transition between voices, and the narrator being clearly aimed at the American market.

The book is very well laid out with nice full page pictures running throughout, and is the sort of high quality look that you'd expect from Disney.

The CD itself fits into the front cover of the book with a plastic covering holding it in, and the book is hardcover too. This means it isn't as flimsy as some other books that come with CDs where the CD holder gets ripped out by little hands. The CD has a picture of a clock on it too, which is of course relevant to the story, and is just another little detail that tells you this is a Disney product.

Most of all I think this book is ideal for girls who love Disney Princesses and are learning to read, so that they can give their parents some quiet time as they go off somewhere to listen to the CD and read the book.

We have the Snow White Book & CD and Little Mermaid Book & CD ones of these already and this one probably looks the best but doesn't quite sound as good on the CD and is shorter, plus if you are going to choose a Disney story you'd probably go for one of the others (my daughter's favourite is Snow White which comes with a song too) given that Cinderella is such a well known story even outside of the Disney telling of the story.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 December 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
My daughter loves this book and CD collection, so much so that we have went and got more of the same.

The CD works well with what can only be described as a beautifully illustrated book.

Definiately a through back to yester-year for both me and my wife!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 6 March 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The hardback book contains illustrations taken from the Disney movie Cinderella, but sadly the audio story on the disc lasts only 8 minutes and there are (sadly) no songs included.

I will admit that I thought the "fairy Godmother" voice was trying out for the role of "wicked witch", but other than that and the shortness of the audio book it is a nice item for a child to receive.

I have a similar one on audio tape and that one lasts over an hour from the old "read-along" series. It is a real shame that they didn't re-do those old format tapes onto disc along with the 20+ page booklet that came with it. In comparison this seems a cost cutting exercise from the Disney Corporation.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 December 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
My 5 year old is a huge Disney Princess fan and already has The Little Mermaid Book & CD, which she loves. The Cinderella Book & CD is now just as loved, she mostly uses it in the car with the CD in the CD player whilst she reads the book in the back seat! The narrator speaks very clearly and there is a chime every time you need to turn the page, it's very easy to follow. My daughter is currently learning to read and I feel like the Book & CD concept is a great way to encourage reading and learning new words. The illustrations are excellent and just as they appear in the film. I think the Cinderella Book & CD is very good value for money and would recommend to all little princesses!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 March 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The voices used here in telling the well loved story are warm and entertaining, apart from the way they say the "Dook" but I`m sure a child will not be bothered by that. The book is beautifully illustrated and all the characters exactly as they should be, I have quite a few of them in ceramic so I`m quite the expert on Disney figures! My copy had the pages all stuck firmly together but once I opened them up a couple of times the pages moved freely so that little ones can follow the story as they listen tothe cd. A good size for sharing with more than one reader and in my opinion well worth having for the car or for home.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 November 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
For those of us who remember being taken to the cinema to see the original film this book is a must have for your children or grandchildren. The book is beautifully illustrated and the accompanying cd transports the listen right back to their early childhood experiences. This item will assist any child develop their reading and comprehensive skills by enabling them to follow the story and encouraging him/her to read out loud along with the recording. It will make a wonderful gift for any occasion for both the young and young at heart; it captures the imagination and is something the whole family will enjoy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This beautiful full-colour hardback book looks really pretty and any little girl who likes princesses will love it. The words are too difficult for my 5-year-old to read by herself, but my 7-year-old son has no problems reading it.

The pictures are all stills taken from the film, so the images are not as sharp as a normal book. Also, because the story is abridged my daughter was asking why Cinderella's dress changed part-way through the book (the bit about the mice making the dress was omitted from this book).

A really colourful keepsake, my daughter also liked the songs on the CD.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 October 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The makers of this book have got it just right. Like the others in the series, it is full colour pages telling very simply the story. Just right to be read before bedtime. The CD that comes with it I first thought was a bit of a waste of time. At only 15mins it seemed a bit of a cheap gimmick, but it is actually the perfect time for a little one to listen to whilst turning the pages.
A good idea well made.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
My daughter loves this book but the only thing I would say it's quite short. As soon as the book starts it seems to end but other than that really good.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse