• RRP: £17.82
  • You Save: £0.12 (1%)
FREE Delivery in the UK.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Mr. Churchill's Secretary has been added to your Basket
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: This book is eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK. Your order will be picked, packed and dispatched by Amazon. Buy with confidence!
Trade in your item
Get a £0.55
Gift Card.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Mr. Churchill's Secretary Paperback – Large Print, 5 Jun 2013


See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback, Large Print
"Please retry"
£17.70
£14.85 £7.17
£17.70 FREE Delivery in the UK. Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.


Trade In this Item for up to £0.55
Trade in Mr. Churchill's Secretary for an Amazon Gift Card of up to £0.55, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Product details

  • Paperback: 517 pages
  • Publisher: Large Print Press; Lrg edition (5 Jun. 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1410457516
  • ISBN-13: 978-1410457516
  • Product Dimensions: 14 x 2.5 x 21.6 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 689,803 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, "Mr. Churchill's Secretary" captures the drama of an era of unprecedented challenge--and the greatness that rose to meet it. London, 1940. Winston Churchill has just been sworn in,

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
0
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
The author says she did lots of research, but not enough. It took me a while to get into this as I struggled to get past the little niggling things that were wrong - in May 1940 one character says she spent all her 'clothing rations' on a new hat. No one would have phrased it like that, they said 'clothing coupons', but clothes weren't rationed until 1 July 1941. The very British head of MI5 would never have described the seasons as 'summer and fall', he would have said 'summer and autumn' - I know the book is by an American author, written for a US audience, which is why I'm not complaining about words like 'sidewalk' instead of 'pavement' - the book is mostly from the point of view of an American girl, so that seems appropriate.

However, once I got into the story, it became more and more exciting and I stayed up until 1am to finish it - a great adventure, just a shame there wasn't a British editor involved to correct the historical inaccuracies.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Mrs A Grover on 13 Aug. 2013
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Not as good as I expected it to be as this book was unavailable to buy in the bookshop. Has taken US by storm and everyone is reading it there.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 14 reviews
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
paperback 31 Dec. 2013
By Adria Hardy - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I got this for my MIL, who is 95 and sharp as a tack. I got it because it was paperback and in large print. She read it in one day and loved it. The only thing is that it was 25 dollars; a bit much for a paperback book.
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
Stamp of Approval 1 Dec. 2014
By Suzanne S. Nielson - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I bought this book for my mother's 90th birthday. She did work in Churchill's war office during the war and went to the Yalta Conference in Russia. I didn't know how the whole espionage aspect of the book would go over with her, but was hoping that the description of the book as an accurate picture of wartime England would prove to be enough to interest her. She says it is very accurate. It evoked some memories for her of working as a secretary, being looked down on by some of the older secretaries due to her limited wardrobe (She was just out of school and fulfilling her wartime service), hearing her father's correct conclusion when she was given a clothing list that included a warm coat for an undisclosed trip ("You're going to Russia."), etc. etc. Thus, my five star rating--approval by someone who lived it and priceless memories.
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
timely received. 15 Dec. 2013
By C. sullivan - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I bought this book for my mother. she enjoyed it so much that she requested the rest of the available series.
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Great mystery story 15 Feb. 2014
By B. J. Rutledge - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I enjoyed the clear references to what was going on in the UK during the war....and the depiction of Churchill as both tough and tender~~~just as I imagined him! The plot is interesting; takes several unexpected turns and ends surprisingly (if you are not already a mystery buff....)
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
No interesting view of WWll 7 Aug. 2014
By Starr - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I enjoyed the plot and the well-defined characters! It's an especially interesting book for anyone who had an opportunity to visit Londond shortly after the end of WWll and wondered what it must have been Ike to live there during the Blitz. It brings Winston Churchill to life too, which is a bonus! If you enjoy the book as much as I did you will most certainly find
His Majesty's Hope a good read, too. Susan Elia MacNeal certainly does her homework before tackling a plot!
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know


Feedback