Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.

More Options
Brahms: Klavierkonzert Nr. 2
See larger image

Brahms: Klavierkonzert Nr. 2

31 Mar. 2014 | Format: MP3

£8.99 (VAT included if applicable)
Buy the CD album for £11.41 and get the MP3 version for FREE. Does not apply to gift orders.
Provided by Amazon EU Sąrl. See Terms and Conditions for important information about costs that may apply for the MP3 version in case of returns and cancellations. Complete your purchase of the CD album to save the MP3 version to your Amazon music library.
Song Title Artist
Brahms: Klavierkonzert Nr. 2
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to Amazon.co.uk (UK).

Product details

  • Release Date: 31 Mar. 2014
  • Label: Deutsche Grammophon (DG)
  • Copyright: (C) 2014 Deutsche Grammophon GmbH, Berlin
  • Record Company Required Metadata: Music file metadata contains unique purchase identifier. Learn more.
  • Total Length: 46:56
  • Genres:
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 69,843 in Albums (See Top 100 in Albums)

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
Followers of Pollini's career will be aware that he has recorded the epic Brahms Cto. 2 twice before, in Vienna and Berlin, both times with Claudio Abbado. What would justify a third go-round? The first attraction is the recorded sound, done in concert last winter in Dresden. The warmth of the Dresden Staatskapelle has been captured beautifully, the balance with the piano is exemplary, and the piano itself sounds natural, without a hint of digital "ping" in the treble. The orchestral playing is fully the equal of what is heard on Pollini's two earlier performances.

I also like Christian Thielemann better than Abbado - his tempo choices keep the line moving, and he's very flexible at following his soloist. They pair in a natural way that's unusually devoid of rhetoric and grandiosity, two things the Brahms B-flat Cto. is prone to. There's also an intangible quality - Thielemann seems interested an involved. I enjoyed his conducting far more than Andris Nelson's in DG's most recent Brahms Second, with the galvanizing Helen Grimaud both leading and dominating the performance.

And Pollini himself? His mastery of the concerto's difficulties is undeniable, and now his phrasing has become exceptional. Not a bar sounds routine, and many passages are unmatchable by younger virtuosos. The same was true in the first installment of this series, an outstanding Brahms First Cto. with Thielemann. It's a pleasure to hear a reading where nothing is canned. The only reservation someone might have concerns the pianist's physical powers - he doesn't attack the big forte and fortissimo passages with heroic strength. He turned seventy-one the month this recording was made, and we can't expect him to have the force of his younger self.
Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Look for similar items by category