Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars56
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.93
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 October 2003
i can say without a shaddow of a doubt this is one of the best boxing biographies i have read and i have read them all.honest,funny,brutal real great sports book.just proves how wrong you can be about someone,genuine nice person and character leaves nigel benns biographie for dead.must read for any boxing fan.love him or lothe him this book is simply the best!!!
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2004
A truly inspiring biography of an amazing human being and sportsman. I don't read that much and i will usually start to read a book then forget about it for ages then have to start all over again, but i just could not put this book down, i read it in 2 day's.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2014
The book is a good read. And at the difference from the Ben’s or Tyson book, it doesn’t dig in vain sexual scenes...

Why 3 stars? Only because this is an unfinished book. It needs being updated for the last 10 years!!!
So many things were left untold, self- defence???

This book changed our look on Eubank. We have a much positive and warm feeling about the man. The book helped us to understand the man and, watching back his fights, we can only acknowledge that he was one of the greatest. We learned to understand his life (with a truck, a monocle....!!??), his philosophy of boxing art and his moves.
Everything makes sense even his position to racism is only common sense. But from theory to practice, sometimes hurdles are difficult to jump!
He did not try to justify everything on a difficult childhood ...

Hope Eubank Jr will keep the flag (not only the yellow short) high!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2009
Having not been a Eubank fan when he was in his prime, but nonetheless appreciated his skill and artistry within the ring i was recommended this book by several friends.
I began reading with a little trepidation, reading the life story of someone i didnt particularly have any fondness for, and in all honesty my fears grew, as the book is a little slow in attracting your full concentration.
However, after the first three or four chapters i became mesmerised, and fully engrossed in what is a hell of a story.
I must admit i didnt realise Eubank had enjoyed such a "colourful" upbringing, then onto the hard road into boxing, new york style, during his formative years, continuing to hone his talent via thousands and thousands of training, sparring and gym sessions.

The main attraction of the book is twofold, One is the simplistic way the book is written, and its excellent descriptive manner, and secondly, although i have been an avid boxing fan for several decades, i was awoken to the sheer brutality of the fight game.

There are many recollections, any fight fan, will enjoy, be it, the Benn fights, or Watson, amongst many others, but there is also a simple but complex character that is Mr Eubank,who you cannot fail to warm to.

An excellent read....Enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2015
A very thoughtful and interesting book. I've read a few boxing autobiographies (Hatton, De La Hoya, Tapia) and this one is clearly unique. I'd say its one of the better boxing autobiographies.
Love him or hate him this book will show you the real Chris Eubank. I'd always thought that his persona was merely an act or a form of attention seeking, and that he was just trying to be something he was not. Now I realise that is not the case (or not entirely).
After reading this book I have increased respect for Eubank, he may not be the true genius or have achieved the level of greatness he'd clearly like but, actually he has a fair degree of wisdom and is definitely a man with principles, conviction and integrity.
This book offers far more than just a run down of his life story. And it refreshing that for a man with such an egotistical image he is actually very humble about his achievements especially being honest about how close many of his fights were and how hard the victories were.
I'm sure to some degree he may have some form of OCD of even a mild psychological condition, but this may have been what enabled him to succeed by applying his obsessively high standards to his fight preparations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2012
I couldn't put this book down. it even inspired me to man up in my own life! A very interesting and controversial individual.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2011
Chris Eubank was a fine boxer and a personal favourite of mine during the Nineties.

However, the first hundred pages of his autobiography threw me because the self-styled Country Gent was a homeless thief for a large chunk of his childhood, and, in spite of the moral code he insisted he stuck to as he criss-crossed his way across the South-East with other members of his gang, comes across as a highly unlikeable and cynical individual.

The book picks up when he's forced to flee to New York and takes up boxing.

For a man who's lived such an eventful life however, and he's inadvertently disabled one man in the ring, killed another in a road traffic accident and burnt two ladies' faces off, it's not quite the captivating read it should be. It just lacks a certain magic.

Eubank's eccentricities and largesse also leave you wondering whether there are actually some underlying mental health issues at play. Still, he is a character and, for a time, he was, unquestionably, Simply The Best.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2006
Let's leave the boxing aside for a second. This book is a must read for everyone, any walk of life, male or female. Such a candidly open and fascinating read of the trials and tribulations we all go thorugh on a daily basis to achieve our goals and aspiarions. To know that a former World Super Middleweight Boxing champion has the same insecurites as you me and (Bob next door) is truly calming. Not to exaggerate this book in its own way works as a self help book, there is at least a couple of stories within that everyone can relate too. And the way Chris deals with each of these with honour, pride, a positive outlook and the upmost diligence is a lesson to us all. Mr Eubank I salute you.

Sandeep, Nottingham
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
An extremely inspirational man, As soon as you start reading this book, you don't want to put it down, every chapter of Eubank's life is very captivating to say the least, every period of his life is exciting, the stories he talks about are very interesting and enjoyable to read, he talks about his fights in the ring, and the experiences he has had outside, Eubank is a very positive thinking person, and that appeals to me very much, he will always find the good in any situation and try to do the right thing, a very good role model for people of all ages, this book is definitely in my all time top three best books ever, you will learn a lot from this book, An amazing book written by an amazing man, Simply the Best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2015
I love autobiographies and have read many legendary examples This compares admirably with the best. Chris Eubank had the most challenging of childhoods poor, delinquent, lonely but he was born with an exceptional intellect and lion-hearted courage to overcome his early disadvantages succeed in the most destructive and demanding of career choices. He was the bravest, most devisive, most skilled and entertaining boxer since Ali. The were evidently two "greatests", though i feel Eubank shades it. His book is genuinely self-penned and hugely endearing, gripping and a must-read for anyone who enjoyed the golden era of middle weight boxing from the mid eighties to ninety-five.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)