More Options
Chopin Waltzes & Impromptus: Classic Library Series
See larger image

Chopin Waltzes & Impromptus: Classic Library Series

8 May 2004 | Format: MP3

£4.49 (VAT included if applicable)
Also available in CD Format
Song Title
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (UK).

Product details

  • Original Release Date: 20 April 2004
  • Release Date: 8 May 2004
  • Label: RCA Red Seal
  • Record Company Required Metadata: Music file metadata contains unique purchase identifier. Learn more.
  • Total Length: 1:10:17
  • Genres:
  • ASIN: B001GS6IWE
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 97,198 in Albums (See Top 100 in Albums)

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Mr. James C. Kellam on 8 May 2010
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
To many people, Rubinstein was the expert in Chopin performance. In his hands, the Waltzes sparkle and dance and for me they are a very satisfying collection. The tempo of each waltz is judged to perfection.

It has to be said that the 1963 RCA recording lacks the warmth of later sets such as Ashkenazy on Decca but it wouldn't put me off giving this a top recommendation. The disc concludes with the four Impromptus, again beautifully played.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 5 reviews
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
Definitive Chopin from Rubinstein 17 Jun. 2004
By Hank Drake - Published on
Format: Audio CD
This stereo version of the Waltzes was recorded over the course of a single night in 1963, at RCA's Italiana Studios in Rome. For those accustomed to thinking of Arthur Rubinstein as a "Romantic" pianist, this edition of the Chopin Waltzes will come as a surprise. The pianist plays the Waltzes straight, with very little rubato and at moderate tempos. This is in marked contrast to his 1953 mono set, which was freer in tempo and phrasing. Which way is the "right" way? Comparing both recordings demonstrates that there are many equally valid ways to interpret this music.
Rubinstein recorded the Impromptus several times over the course of his long career--this is his only complete version in stereo. He plays the posthumously published Fantasie-Impromptu (which Chopin, ironically, wanted destroyed after his death) from a previously unknown manuscript, which differs in numerous details from more well known versions.
The sound is immediate without sacrificing warmth, but a bit brighter than in a previous issue, which also included Chopin's Bolero. Highly recommended.
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
Spectacular playing! 18 July 2007
By Mete Ibanoglu - Published on
Format: Audio CD
I'm not a Rubinstein expert yet, since I'm just beginning to get seriously introduced to his music, apart from having listened to his playing from friends or YouTube. This is actually my second Rubinstein CD, the first being a Polonaises CD.

I have first listened to these works from Idil Biret, whose complete Chopin set I own, issued from Naxos. (Another great jewel) Then I listened to some of these from others but Biret's recording always remained the yardstick with which I compared later interpretations. Then I came across this CD and bought it. From the very first piece (op. 18) I was blown away. Very warm sounding compared to some from the Biret's versions, it is very apparent that Rubinstein felt at home when playing Chopin.

There's actually no more to say, the work speaks for itself. Recommended at all costs!
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
Didn't care for Amazon's track listings 22 Feb. 2009
By Wyote - Published on
Format: Audio CD
The music, of course, is great. This is a reissue of The Rubinstein Collection Vol 47 - Chopin: Waltzes, Impromptus, Bolero, recorded in 1963.

The difference between the two? In the opinion of one reviewer (Jed Distler, not me--and you'd better listen to him rather than me anyway) this CD shows the recording up a little more brightly. Well, the other has him playing Chopin's Bolero. (Ravel wrote a more famous piece of music with that title for the orchestra, but this is a piano piece by Chopin.) You will have to decide, because I haven't heard the other one....

I am really here because Amazon did not do a good job with the track listing, so, just in case it matters to anyone else:

1. Op. 18, Grande valse brillante in E-flat
2. Op. 34.1, Valse brillante in A-flat
3. Op. 34.2, Valse brillante in A minor
4. Op. 34.3, Valse brillante in F
5. Op. 42, Two-four, in A-flat
6. Op. 64.1, Minute, in D-flat
7. Op. 64.2 in C-sharp minor
8. Op. 64.3 in A-flat
9. Op. 69.1 L'Adieu in A-flat
10. Op. 69.2 in B minor
11. Op. 70.1 in G-flat
12. Op. 70.2 in F minor
13. Op. 70.3 in D-flat
14. Op.posth. in E minor

15. Op. 29 in A-flat
16. Op. 36 in F-sharp
17. Op. 51 in G-flat
18. Op. 66, Fantasie-Impromptu, in C-sharp minor
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Images of the soul! 6 Oct. 2008
By Hiram Gomez Pardo - Published on
Format: Audio CD
If Chopin's Mazurkas constitute the nearness per excellence of scented land, the Waltzes exude the same range of civilized melancholy and ravishing poetry. How many kaleidoscopic images evoke, how many livings, how wonderful landscapes of our personal affective contour.

That's the reason why this cycle of charming melodies and little enrapture episodes demand the whole attention in which expression and introspection; poetic vehemence and peerless musicality must be indissolubly united.

There are certainly just a few pianists who have been capable to reproduce the lyricism in its countless lawyers, according not only the basic musical motive of each Waltz but even in those intangible changes of modulation and rhythmic vitality, in which subtle pianissimo and heroic mezzo forte shake hands.

What I love most of this version of Arthur Rubinstein is the cosmopolitan approach he makes, exquisite sumptuousness and singular specificity of every Op. I rather prefer these versions of the middle thirties instead of his extremely scented performances of the early fifties.

Singularity into the homogeneity. That's the key of this successful recoding, despite of the fact no other pianist - live or dead - has been capable to approach to the sublime version of the unforgettable Dinu Lipatti.
There is no better a disc of Chopin waltzes than this one 27 Feb. 2013
By John J. Puccio - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Why should one buy this disc? First, obviously, because there are no better performances of the Waltzes. Second, because the album has been remastered and sounds better than ever, clearer and more precise than in its first CD incarnation from 1984. Third, because the album now includes as a bonus Chopin's four Impromptus.

John J. Puccio
Classical Candor
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

Look for similar items by category