Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
20
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 November 2007
If you are spending hours going through web based puppy information sites are are a bit worn down by it I would recommend this book. Great to see in one place al lthe main breeds and useful information about exercise, grooming etc. Each breed includes a section on the main issues with each breed. certainly helped us make a decision.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2009
We had never owned a dog before and there were several dogs we might have chosen on impulse. This book really helped us decide on the correct dog for our lifestyle and level of experience. Having said that, it almost put us off altogether! There probably isn't a perfect dog for the inexperienced owner with cats, but it certainly saved us from making a really bad choice.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2005
Dont know which dog you want ? Cant decide over all the breeds ?
Well this book will help you! It explains in great detail about 200 different breeds of dog, their history, feeding, excerise, requirements and more importantly of all, temperment.
The book matches you with the right dog, and i finaly decided to pick the doberman as my faithful companion!
THE ULTIMATE GUIDE!
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2008
We wanted to get it right!
This books doesn't have all breeds but helps you to choose the right breed for your family and then helps you to find and train them.
It is written clearly and easily and ahs lots of photos for you to look at.
Fantastic!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2009
This book profiles many different breeds of dogs and definately helped me narrow down the breeds I wanted to consider and look at more. I would have liked a little bit more information about a few of the breeds, alot of the information is the same depending on the size or group of dog but still found it quite informative.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2015
Was considering buying this book to learn about other breeds but having looked at the summary breed table on 'look inside', I can see glaring errors. It lists the Basenji (which I own) as a large dog when they only weigh 8-11 kg and are not much larger than terriers! Also the German Pinscher is listed as large when it is a medium breed. Given this, I would not take advice on breeds I'm not familiar with. Beware....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 March 2011
Straightforward, well illustrated and informative, this is the perfect companion to the search for a perfect companion. As well as giving impartial advice on size, temperament and grooming needs, this guide does not shy away from mentioning the potential health problems that afflict certain breeds.

Don't go near a breeder nor a pet shop until you've read this book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
The book gave us a deep insite into the potential problems and conversly the positives of choosing the right dog/ puppy that we would otherwise would not have consodered, so yes the book was very helpful in making a more considered choice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2013
Bought as we are thinking of getting a dog and there is a distinct lack of knowledge in the family about how to look after one. So get a book - we have decided on the breed - this book was good in giving information about what kind of person/family the dog would work well with and also how it got on with other pets. As we have two cats we avoided the ones which said they ate pets! Ruthless but valuable advice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2010
If you are looking for your first dog or even if you are an experienced dog owner who fancies something different this is a great book. It gives lots of useful information on about 250 breeds of dog including size, weight, health problems, characteristics etc. Each breed is beautifully photographed. Fantastic - we chose a Clumber Spaniel and he is just as described in the book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse