Start reading Chocolate Wishes on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available
 

Chocolate Wishes [Kindle Edition]

Trisha Ashley
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (149 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £6.99
Kindle Price: £2.49 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £4.50 (64%)
This price was set by the publisher
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £2.49  
Hardcover, Large Print --  
Paperback £5.99  
Audio Download, Unabridged £0.00 Free with Audible trial
Audio, CD, Audiobook --  
Kindle Books Summer Sale
Kindle Summer Sale: Books from 99p
Browse over 600 titles from best-selling authors, including Neil Gaiman, John Grisham, Jeffrey Archer, Veronica Roth and Sylvia Day. >Shop now

Book Description

Featuring an EXCLUSIVE FREE SAMPLE of Chocolate Shoes and Wedding Blues by Trisha Ashley

In the picture-perfect Lancashire village of Sticklepond, Confectioner Chloe dispenses inspirational sweet treats containing a prediction for each customer. If only her own life was as easy to forecast - perhaps Chloe could have foreseen being jilted at the altar…

But when a new Vicar arrives in the village, the rumour mill goes into overdrive. Not only is Raffy Sinclair the charismatic ex-front man of rock band 'Mortal Ruin', he's also the Chloe's first love and the man who broke her heart.

Try as she might, Chloe can't ignore this blast from her past. Could now be the time for her to make a wish - and dare to believe it can come true?

A charming novel for chocoholics everywhere, perfect for fans of Katie Fforde, Jill Mansell and Carole Matthews.


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

Page of Start over
This shopping feature will continue to load items. In order to navigate out of this carousel please use your heading shortcut key to navigate to the next or previous heading.

Product Description

Review

Praise for Trisha Ashley:

‘Trisha Ashley writes with remarkable wit and originality – one of the best writers around!’ Katie Fforde

‘Full of down-to-earth humour.’ Sophie Kinsella

‘Fresh and funny.’ Woman’s Own

‘Packed with romance, chocolate and fun, this indulgent read is simply too delicious to put down.’ Closer

From the Back Cover

In the picture-perfect Lancashire village of Sticklepond, Confectioner Chloe dispenses inspirational sweet treats containing a prediction for each customer. If only her own life was as easy to forecast - perhaps Chloe could have foreseen being jilted at the altar…

But when a new Vicar arrives in the village, the rumour mill goes into overdrive. Not only is Raffy Sinclair the charismatic ex-front man of rock band 'Mortal Ruin', he's also the Chloe's first love and the man who broke her heart.

Try as she might, Chloe can't ignore this blast from her past. Could now be the time for her to make a wish - and dare to believe it can come true?

A charming novel for chocoholics everywhere, perfect for fans of Katie Fforde, Jill Mansell and Carole Matthews.


Product details


More About the Author

Trisha Ashley writes romantic comedies, and her latest novel, Creature Comforts, is her seventh consecutive Sunday Times Top Ten bestseller. Her novels have twice been shortlisted for the Melissa Nathan award for Romantic Comedy and Every Woman for Herself was nominated by readers as one of the top three romantic novels of the last fifty years.
She is from St Helens in West Lancashire, and believes that her typically dark Lancashire sense of humour in adversity, crossed with a good dose of Celtic creativity from her Welsh grandmother, have made her what she is today...whatever that is. Five of her novels are set in rural West Lancashire and three in Wales. They frequently explore aspects of the three F's that are a constant in her own life: Food, Flowers and Friendship and include delicious recipes at the back.
Nowadays she lives in North Wales, together with the neurotic Border Collie foisted onto her by her son, and a very chancy Muse.
She is the founder member of NW Novelistas Ink, a group of twelve novelists, several of whom are bestselling, who meet regularly in North Wales; she is also a long term member of the Society of Authors and a member of Literature Wales.
Creature Comforts will be published in paperback in June 2015 and A Christmas Cracker will follow in October 2015.
Trisha has a website at www.trishaashley.com where you can find out more about her, sign up for her newsletter, or see a complete list of her books. You will also find her on twitter as @trishaashley.


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious 5 Mar. 2010
By Lally
Format:Paperback
Trisha Ashley has always been able to write wonderfully charming, funny romantic stories which have a bit of bite, and this new novel is as fabulous as the best plain chocolate that's been spiced up with a hint of chilli.

I loved the heroine Chloe, who is a successful businesswoman with a delightfully crazy family, and the hero strides into the story like a rock god coming on stage to a rumble of thunder - which is appropriate because Raffy is indeed a former rock god turned vicar. I wish we had vicars like Raffy where I live.

This is a great story about love lost and found again, enlivened with a sparkling cast of wonderful supporting characters. I love Grumps and Zillah - I could see them in my mind's eye as I read about them. It was also good to go back to the village of Sticklepond, which is one of those fictional settings that become real for the reader as the author trickles more information about it into each subsequent novel.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real treat! 5 Mar. 2010
Format:Paperback
If you need a really good book to curl up with in front of the fire on a cold Sunday afternoon, this is exactly what you want - a lovely, feel-good, romantic story suffused with humour and with the sort of characters that stay in your mind long after you've put it down. A likeable heroine who has made huge sacrifices in order to take care of her younger brother (a most appealing teenage Goth!), a grandfather who is a warlock complete with coven and a gypsy aunt are only some of them, not to mention a most unusual (and gorgeous!) hero. The village in which they live is peopled with loveable eccentrics and you are swiftly drawn into their affairs. I highly recommend this, but be warned - you will fall in love with the sexiest vicar ever and if you don't have a box of chocolates to hand, you'll be very sorry!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Chocolate Wishes' by Trisha Ashley 9 Mar. 2010
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
As a bloke I was wondering what I was going to encounter when I first started to read this particular book going by its title, but I soon found out that I need not have worried!
Trisha Ashley is a wonderful writer. This particular story revolves around Chloe Lyon who lives with her younger half brother Jake and her grandfather 'Grumps', who heads a covern which practices pagan rites! Her life up until now has not been easy and also appears to have been fairly complicated in places, to say the least.
Chloe makes chocolate wishes in her spare time (hollow chocolate shapes containing 'wishes', which are small pieces of paper with encouraging thoughts,suggestions or predictions printed on them). All is looking well for Chloe following a house move to the picture perfect Lancashire village of Sticklepond, until a new vicar arrives in the village!
This story is not just for the ladies, but is a very readable book for the male species as well! Trisha's writing style is easy to read, flows well and is very humourous in places.
As a bloke I actually really enjoyed reading this particular story about Chloe, her family,friends and the unfolding events that impacted on the regular routine that Chloe once seemed to have!
This is a story well worth reading.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It didn't capture my imagination 24 Aug. 2011
Format:Paperback
Having never read Trisha's books before and being promised that she always delivers a good tale, have to say that this sadly didn't capture me. I struggled to identify with the characters...'Grumps' who seemed to be a cross between Victor Meldrew and Dumbledore...Zillah, a Romany-type aunt...and the heroine Chloe who is also a substitute mother to a Goth. I gave up on the book before Raffy the rock-star/vicar re-entered Chloe's life. Sorry! However, I shall certainly try another of Trisha's books because she has a strong following and I suspect this novel might just be the one that can't be good every time.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't eat them read about them! 14 Feb. 2011
By Jo D'Arcy TOP 1000 REVIEWER VINE VOICE
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This is the story of Chloe who makes wishes. Chocolate Wishes. These delicious treats contain a wish or thought for each customer a prediction of what might happen in the future. Similar to fortune cookies but with more chocolate!

However, Chloe's life is not so easy to predict. She was left to bring up her step brother Jake, when her mother went off on a cruise and never came back, which resulted in Chloe giving up university and the man she had fallen in love with Raffy Sinclair. He never responded to her letter. Years later it turns out she never responded to his message either and they had both been blaming themselves for no real reason.

Now time has passed and lives have changed Raffy is back in Chloe's life under a rather different and surprising guise which unites the little village that Chloe lives in.

Chloe's responsibilities are not for her growing business and growing stepbrother but also her rather eccentric family that she is attached to both through love and location. Her `Grumps' as a character makes for delightful reading as does her aunt Zillah. Both have a unique way of predicting and perhaps determining the future with some rather strange methods.

This book has plenty to get absorbed in; the love life of Chloe mainly of the past which comes back to haunt her in the present. Her friends, Poppy and Felix who it is obvious should be together but have yet to realise that themselves. Chloe needs to help them. There is the eccentricities of Chloe's family and the move to a new house to open a museum for all things `warlock' as well as expand her own chocolate business and carry on as typist to her grandfather who writes novels.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category