Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars36
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 September 2002
If you haven't seen the stage musical this cast recording is a great calling card for the new West End hit. It relives memories of the gorgeous sets and memorable scenes from the production, the great all-star cast, and the wonderful, hummable music from the show. Compared to the musical score from the 1968 movie on which the stage musical is based, this new recording modernizes the movie's score, presents the classic songs in a livelier tempo, includes new songs and rewrites some of the lyrics -- making the score a perfect musical accompaniment for the lively stage production.
The voices are good, Michael Ball in particular (he has a new song, TEAMWORK, which shows off his powerful voice as well as the beautiful and sweet notes of the lullaby HUSHABYE MOUNTAIN}. You will also enjoy the classic Toots Sweet, Posh, You Too, Me Ol Bamboo, The Roses of Success, Truly Scrumptious and a few more songs adapted from the movie. But nothing will set you cheering and thumping more than the Oscar-nominated title song -- CHITTY CHITTY BANG BANG! See the show - if you can't, this wonderful, fantasmagorical recording will set you dreaming about a magical flying car that soars into the night skies!
0Comment12 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2003
Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, the legendry film about the flying car has landed on the London Palladium and flown into our hearts! Michael Ball (Marius in Les Miserables) leads the cast as Caracticus Potts the misunderstood inventor. His singing ability is out of this world and he makes the score of Chitty sound beautiful, singing each song smoothly, enthusiastically and perfect! He was perfectly cast as Caracticus and the chemisty between him and co-star Emma Williams is great!
Emma Williams stormed into the media's attention when she was cast as the leading lady Truely Scrumptious. Apparently she is the youngest person to ever take the lead in a west end musical, although i think Lea Salonga was younger when she premiered as Kim in the London Production of Miss Saigon! Although Emma Williams does do a very good job it is obvious her accent is forced! Her singing ability is good but nothing to be considered extraordinary just yet!! Her interpretation is good and she looks right, but it is obvious this was a tough job for her!
The supporting cast are all brilliant in particular Richard O'Brian as the child catcher! He brings just the right amount of comedy to the character whilst still being completely terrifying!
Top songs of this album are Hushabye Mountain, Chitty Chitty Bang Bang and You Two!
Ofcourse the real star of the show is Chitty herself and unfortunately she doesn't sing! However this is a very entertaining album and one worth owning... but it will never be as good as seeing the show on stage as we dont manage to get the enthusiasm as when we see Chitty fly etc!
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2002
We waited and waited and now she's arrived. What can I say. For anyone who has seen this show or loves the film, this soundtrack is a must. The all-star cast includes the likes of Michael Ball (Les Mis), Brian Blessed (Cats) and Richard O'Brien (Rocky Horror), all of whom give strong performances delivering the songs with warmth and enthusiasm. Even Ball, who I have never really been a fan of, gives subtlety and intelligence to the part of Potts, made famous by Dick Van Dyke.
All the magic from the stage musical comes through in this fantastic recording making it one to play again and again. Director Adrian Noble said that working on Chitty wasn't work because he was directing the happiest cast in the west-end. Two words; It Shows!
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2003
Absoloutely superb! The london show of the great film musical Chitty Chitty Bang Bang is quite simply a huge success! The set, the cherography and the costumes are amazing! However it is the music and actors that truely (scrumptious as they are) steal the show! Micahel Ball plays the leading and demanding Caracticus Potts, this album truely shows Michael at his best, reknowned for more "serious" musicals we now see him tackling the tender lullabyes and up-beat folk songs! Emma Williams does a good Job as Truely Scrumtious with her sweet voice! Nicola Macaulife is amazing as the Baroness! The album has all the old faverates the movie has to offer and a few new great songs! The orchestrations are brilliant and this truely is a fantasmogrical album! Well worth the money and i promise you you wont regreat it simply for Micahel Balls heart warming rendition of Hushabye Mountain!
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2002
I've waited with baited breath for this CD since seeing the show in March. The CD really captures the shows energy, buzz and magic. Just hearing the overture made me want to go again. The show has a strong cast headed by Michael Ball, who has made the part his own. A new song for Caractacus Potts 'Teamwork' is a rousing number, which is perfect for Michael Ball's powerful voice, his fans will love it, and you'll be humming the catchy tune. If the child catcher still scares you, listen out for Richard O'Brian's new song Kiddy-Widdy-Winkies. The 4 new songs on the whole fit perfectly (theres is one I found disappointing) If you loved Chitty Chitty Bang Bang the film you won't be disappointed. If you haven't seen the show you'll want to. Chitty Chitty Bang Bang is a childhood favourite which just got better.
0Comment13 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2002
I have had this CD for the last 3 weeks after purchasing it from the Palladium.
I can honestly say I have hardly stopped playing it. It beings back all the magic of the stage show.
Pure escapism back to my childhood when the original film and soundtrack were first produced.
The cast are exceptional, especially the children who play Jeremy and Jemima.
As for Michael Ball, well he is Michael Ball - truly scumptious. He really relishes the part of Caractacus Potts, as part that be so obviously enjoys portraying.
A definate must for all musical fans, chitty fans and Michael Ball fans.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2002
I saw the play in June for the first time (have seen it again since), and was simply delighted by the way a childhood favorite has been transformed to the stage. I was anxious for the release of the CD, so I would have a constant reminder of all that lovely, magical music. And what a reminder it is. From the overture to the closing, "Chitty Flies Home" the music reaches deep inside and and gets into my blood-- I just can't help tapping my foot in time with the music.
The stage production has some new music, all of which is terrific -- the Sherman Brothers have outdone themselves. "Think Vulgar," "Kiddy-Widdy-Winkies," "Teamwork," -- all marvelous. The best of the new songs, though, is "The Bombie Samba" a stirring opening to the Baron's Birthday party that leaves you breathless when you see it on the stage, and is equally stirring just listening to it.
The original songs are just as wonderful as when I heard them the first time in the movie, and bring back a lot of happy memories, both from childhood and from seeing the play. Of those, the title song and "Me Ole Bamboo" are just fantastic.
There are really excellent performances on the CD -- Emma Williams, as Truly, does full justice to the role, with her lovely soprano. Richard O'Brien, as the Child Catcher, projects his character's deliciously slimy evilness through the speakers very well. Nichola McAuliffe's and Brian Blessed's "Chu-Chi Face" is delightful. As for Michael Ball... oh my. Unknown to me before this play, his rendition of "Hushabye Mountain" sent a shiver up my spine the first time I heard it -- he gave it a poignancy that touched me very much. His duet with Emma Williams, "Doll on a Music Box/Truly Scrumptious" was wonderful.
If you loved the movie and its music, you will definitely enjoy this CD. You won't be able to stop tapping along with the music.
To paraphrase a line from the play, "Listen -- and be amazed!"
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2002
I've been waiting since the show opened for the soundtrack and I wasn't disappointed. The CD features almost all the musical numbers in the show, although Grandpa's reprise of Hushabye Mountain has been excluded.
Brian Blessed and Nichola McAuliffe are hilarious as the Baron and Baroness, Richard O'Brien's Childcatcher is sinister as Robert Helpmann's portrayal in the movie.
Of the new songs, Teamwork, Bombie Samba and Think Vulgar come across excellently. Come To The Funfair unfortunately is missing something without the balloons, clowns and lights of the stage show.
The old favourites have been given new orchestrations to give them a fresh feel - Toot Sweets turns Big Band while The Roses Of Success goes almost vaudeville. And of course there's four versions of the title song to enjoy!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2002
This much-awaited recording of the new London production of "Chitty Chitty Bang Bang" fully captures the atmosphere and up-beat nature of the stage show. All the major numbers, including new songs written especially for this stage version, are included and are well sung by the excellent group of principals and successfully supported by the orchestra. Not only is the vocal diction clear, but the humour is successfully conveyed through the performances on the CD. The bonus CD-ROM footage is just that...a welcome bonus and promotes the forthcoming DVD/video on the making of the musical. If you've been to see the show already, this is a great memory jogger; if you've yet to go, then this will prepare you well!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2013
On Amazon you will also find the original broadway recording, I specifically wanted this version, the London cast recording. I'm sure the other version is very good to be fair.

This is a really good CD, I tend to buy the CDs for every musical I see on stage but for some reason waited quite a while before buying this. I never buy from the theatre as their prices are always more expensive than Amazon's, and the fact that I got this one second hand made it even cheaper.

The songs are all great, sung very well, the only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because I don't like them as much as the movie versions. Maybe I just prefer the movie versions because that's how I first heard them.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.50

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.