Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars12
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 May 2009
This is worthy of Middlebrook himself (the author was a protege and MM writes the forward)

It's a similar style to MM's 'Somme'- unit by unit descriptions of the battle phases interspersed with quotes from the (then-surviving) veterans. It's a very effective mixture; strategic grasp and human interest.

It's fascinating and humbling to read the accounts of bayonetting people in the guts, chucking grenades down into crowded dug-outs etc and then realise they were given by the sweet old gents pictured making a last pilgrimage to the battlefields and their mates' graves.
All soldiers should read this book for this aspect alone - it's a commentary on the fragility of life and the inevitability of aging (if you're lucky).

I particularly like the use of 'Punch' cartoons throughout the book (an over-looked area of study). They help to convey that this was a supreme national effort and probably this country's (and the Empire's) finest hour and that humour (normally gallows') is an essential component of any military endeavour.

I have circa 150 books on WW1 and this is in my top 10, buy it - you won't regret it.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2008
Just finished this, and this is easily the most interesting and easily readable book I've read on the Great War and currently my collection of books on this topic is into 3 figures.

Very informative read, the true life memories from veterans are both heartbreaking and awe inspiring.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2010
The Battle of Arras remains the forgotten battle of the First World War, but it is difficult to see why, given the brilliance of this book.

Having read Martin Middlebrook's and Lynn MacDonald's books on various campaigns, it comes as a shock to come across a book as well written as this, by an author for whom, I believe, this is his only book. The maps are also extremely useful, which is a pleasant change.

But, for a book on such a subject, this really is one which, once started, cannot be put down; to be honest, the first such book since MacDonald's "1915". I had this book for about a year before reading it, and I regretted my having failed to read it earlier.

It makes a great change to find a study of a major battle of the First World War which shows that the British Army (and the Canadian and Australian Divisions and Corps)commanders were not always the bull-headed "butchers" of the Somme and Passchendaele. Here, with the notable exceptions of the disasters of Bullecourt and of Mouchy, there seems here to be some glimpse of the successes of the final campaigns of 1918.

The Canadians at Vimy Ridge have their own days of glory, and they are covered in this book, but the main part of it is taken up with the, initially very successful, efforts to break through the Hindenburg Line. There are very few books on this subject, which is something of a surprise, given the casualty figures.

Read this book and you can see the middle period between the catastrophe on the Somme and the continual successes of the last months of an awful war.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2010
The Battle of Arras has had little coverage in literature, especially compared to the Somme, Passchendaele, Cambrai etc, so not only is it good the Battle has finally been covered in a modern book, but it is excellent that it is done so in such a superb book. The mix of historical fact and anecdotes from those who were actually involved in the battle makes for a memorable and entertaining read, making this one of the best Great War books I have read
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2010
his book brings the history of WW1 to life through the descriptions of the battles and the witnesses of those who played their part.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2010
Great book, written by an acknowledged expert on the subject. Very useful for the visitor or keen amateur historian.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2014
Very interesting book about WW1, involving the Canadian military involving the 78 Winnipeg Grenadiers of which my Grandfather served and was Killed in Action clearing Bourlon Wood to Canal due Norde on the 27 Sept 1918. I always wondered why the French were not very popular to my Grandmother leaving a 4 mile gap in the front line at Easter 1917 very good book indeed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2014
Having met Jon who took me around the Battlefields of Arras and read his book I cant praise him enough. His book is for people who want to understand the ordinary mans view of a traumatic time, personal stories, mixed with details of official records. For anybody that wants to expand their knowledge of the 1 World War buy this book you wont be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2016
This is an excellent book, mixing divisional history, narrative and first-person accounts. I have to say though that the maps are disappointing - I found myself flipping backwards and forwards but many of the locations mentioned aren't shown on any of them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2014
Great read, excellent research.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)